Skip to main content

MENG 2060 and EMNG 2032- Technical Report Writing & Workplace Preparedness

Company Information - Library Databases

We have two databases that allow you to create a list of companies in your field.

Company Snapshot includes contact information and can be downloaded into an excel file.

  • Dossier - Create a Company List - compile a list by SIC ​
    • Manufacturing:  
  • Major Group 37: Transportation Equipment ​
    • 371: Motor Vehicles and Equipment​​
    • 372: Aircraft and Parts 
    • 376: Guided Missiles, Space Vehicles, Parts
 
  • Major Group 35: Industrial And Commercial Machinery And Computer Equipment

    • 354: Metalworking Machinery

  • Major Group 34: Fabricated Metal Products, Except Machinery And Transportation Equipment

Basic Company contact information

  • Compile a list by NAICS code:
    • 31-33 Manufacturing
      • 333 Machinery Manufacturing
        • 3321 Forging and Stamping
        • 3335 Metalworking Machinery Manufacturing
      • 336 Transportation Equipment Manufacturing 
        • 3361 Motor Vehicle Manufacturing
        • 3362 Motor Vehicle Body and Trailer Manufacturing​
        • 3363 Motor Vehicle Parts Manufacturing

There are several databases where you might find articles on your company. Start with our databases that have a Canadian focus.

  • CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)
    • Contain Canadian manufacturing and engineering trades journals, Canadian business magazines, and newspapers which contain articles on engineering and manufacturing across Canada.
  • Canadian Major Dailies
    • Newspapers from across Canada which contain stories on engineering and manufacturing.
  • TIP:  You can search these databases simultaneously by choosing the Database tab at the top of the screen and selecting both databases.


Next, search the main search box below. This will allow you to simultaneously search a number of databases including  Business Sources Complete and Wilson Applied Science and Technology.  These databases cover engineering and manufacturing industry trade journals and business magazines.

Company Reports can be helpful when preparing your company presentation.  They provide an overview of how the company is performing financially, recent company activity, company history, executive profiles and often a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).

We have two databases that provide company reports on Canadian companies.

Company/Analyst Reports on public and private Canadian companies.​

  • Search by Subject or Topic Dropdown menu - Company Profiles Tab

Lexis Nexis: Finding Company Reports (Video Tutorial)
Open Captioned

Company Reports on publicly traded Canadian companies.

  • Search on the company name or browse alphabetically using the Company Report tab on the right.

 

  

Sample Company Report Citation:

Producer of Report. (year, month day).  Company Name: Type of Report.   Retrieved from database name.

MarketLine. (2014, May 9). Starbucks Corporation: Company profile.  Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

E-mail Andrea Hall if you need additional help with researching your company.

Loading ...