Research Guides: Civil Engineering Technology: Start your research

Search the GBC Library Collection

Find Magazine & Journal Articles within subject-specific databases

Search within a subject-specific database.

AccessEngineering (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
Over 300 reference books in 14 major areas of engineering including: Construction, Architectural, Electrical, Mechanical, Civil, Communications and Environmental Engineering.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text, peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of life sciences, physical sciences, social and behavioural sciences.

Wilson Applied Science & Technology(EBSCO)
Full text articles and images in all aspects of science and technology.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
This database is an upgrade from our previous subscription to Art & Archtecture Complete and provides all of the same content, plus additional content.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
Features media and information resources including: full-text access to Environmental Building News, BuildingGreen.com, the GreenSpec directory of products, the LEEDuser web tool and case studies in the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB).
CBCA Complete (PROQUEST) This link opens in a new window
Search the combined Canadian Business and Current Affairs databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Current Events, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) - Academic Support Program This link opens in a new window
Provides environmental and occupational health and safety standards, legislation, articles and reports including: MSDS, CHEMINFO, OHS and the Canadian Electrical Code (Part 1).
Access Note: Users can access CCOHS standards by clicking on the standards listed on the homepage. Users will be taken to a second page, where they will see this note a the top of the screen.
You must have an annual subscription to view the resources that are available through this service. Login Not yet a subscriber? Contact CCOHS Client Services.
Users must click on the login link in this paragraph to access the standards.
Ontario Building Code 2012 This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the Ontario Building Code.

The Government of Ontario will provide a free digital [PDF format] copy of the Ontario Building Code Compendium for non-commercial use. Follow the instructions at Request a digital copy of the 2012 Building Code Compendium to request a copy.

Note: Came into effect January 2014. Most of Ontario's revised Building Code takes effect Jan. 1, 2014. For more detail on the transition period, see section "Section 4.1. Transition Rule" at the end of the Code.
*If you are experiencing problems logging in, clear the cache on your browser*
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This education images database provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Subjects include: culinary arts, fashion, medicine, education, sociology, performing arts, architecture and design.
Nexis Uni (+ QuickLaw) This link opens in a new window
Access to 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference sources. Now includes QuickLaw with access to Canadian Court cases, tribunals and arbitration decisions.

On-line Videos

Click on the title for on and off-campus access

Construction Estimating: Industry Standards (19:00)
1. Estimating:An Essential Building Skill (07:09); 2. Formulas for Estimating Floor Costs (04:04); 3. Wall, Roofing, and Exterior Costs(04:28); 4. Estimating Costs and Software (02:15)
Landscape: The Invention of Nature (27:00)
".. the program shows how awareness and mastery of perspective evolved.."
Includes: Science of Perspective (03:20)
Last Call for Planet Earth: Sustainable Development and Architecture (75:00)
"This program studies the work of leading architects around the globe, all of whom employ green concepts and eco-friendly materials.." Includes: Architectural Designs for Energy Efficiency (03:54) Green Roof Technology (02:19) Passive Solar Energy (05:56) New Concept of Cities (04:37)
Infrastructure Health and Safety Association

How to create article notifications

Most of our databases allow you to save your searches and to set up notifications when new articles on your topic are published. These tutorials walk you through the process in a selection of our databases. If you need help setting up a search notification email me at andrea.hall@georgebrown.ca or drop by my office at C330.

Requesting a book or article from a journal that is not in our collection

If you are looking for a book that we do not have in our collection you can fill out a request form to borrow it from another library. It can take up to two weeks for us to receive the book. You might also want to check the Toronto Public Library website. All George Brown College students are eligible for a Toronto Public Library card.

Civil Engineering Technology