Research Guides: JEWL 1083: History of Jewellery and Gemstones: Home

Guide Overview

This guide will lead you to find some of the best resources available for students in JEWL 1083 especially your group assignments

It is important to determine if there are any copyright restrictions on the images you want to use for your assignments. The research guide on Finding and Using Digital Images can help you with this. If you need further help with this or you do not find what you are looking for please contact Bill, the librarian for Jewellery and Gemmology, staff at the library Reference Desk or talk to us online and we will gladly help you further.

Copies of the course textbooks are available for loan. Please click on the links to check availability.

Jewelry by Clare Phillips
Call Number: NK7304 .P48 1996
ISBN: 9780500202876
Publication Date: 1996-05-17
Goldsmiths' Art by Hermann Schadt
Call Number: NK7106 .S313 1996
ISBN: 9783925369544
Publication Date: 2007-01-25

Search the library

Key Databases and Websites

Artstor
Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline.
In order to get the most out of Artstor (e.g. save images), users will need to log in through GBC, then register for a personal account (upper right-hand side of the landing page).
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
WWD Women's Wear Daily Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Women's Wear Daily Archive allows users to explore influences on the fashion and beauty industry. It contains the full run of past print issues and supplements and will be updated biannually with more recent issues. Users can explore every page of every issue since 1910, scanned cover to cover, including all advertisements and images, in high resolution and full color, presented in page-image format with searchable text.

American Gem Society
Costume Institute Metropolitan Museum of Art
GIA Collections
Google Arts and Culture
access to high-resolution images of artworks housed in museums from around the world
Louvre- Selected Jewelry
McCord Museum
"Considered the leading collection of Canadian dress and the second most important collection of costume in Canada, this collection has grown since 1957 to contain some 18,900 items of dress and accessories"
Museum of Anthropology- UBC
Victoria and Albert Museum Jewellery collections

Other Libraries

Toronto Public Library
University of Toronto Libraries
IF you are not a U of T student or alumni books are not available to be borrowed. Most U of T libraries including those at the ROM are open to researchers for in-library use. * Robarts library is not open to the public.