Library Reading List Builder: Overview

Using the Library Reading List Builder, you can create a list of readings directly in a content area or in a folder. This allows you to create collections of readings for each week of the course, or lists of useful resources for an assignment.

1. Open a content area from your course menu, or a folder within a content area (e.g. Week 1).
2. Click Build Content from the content area menu.
3. Click Library Reading List Builder.

4. Type a name for your list (e.g. “Week 1 Readings”) You can also enter a description for your list in the text box below..
5. Scroll down to Options, and ensure that Permit Users to View this Content is set to Yes.
6. Click Submit. Yor reading list will now appear in your content area or folder. 

1. Click on the reading list you just created (e.g. "Week 1 Readings") in Blackboard.
2. The Library Reading List Builder will open in a new tab or window. If this does not open automatically, select Click for Readings to open the Reading List Builder.
3. Enter your search terms into the Search Library Resources box, and click Search. You may perform a general keyword search, or search for specific items by title or by author.
4. Use the limiters on the left side of the page to filter your results by source type, date, etc.
5. When you have found a resource that you would like to add, click Add to Reading List.

6. View your list by clicking See Current Reading List at the top of the page.

1. Beginning on your Blackboard course page, open the content area or folder in which your list is located.
2. Click on the title of your reading list.
3. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
4. Click See Current Reading List near the top left of the page to view your list.
5. From here you can modify your list by adding folders, instructions, or links to websites. You can also share your list's content with other instructors. (See below for detailed instructions on these features.)
6. Once you are finished, click Return to Course to exit your list.

Note: The Library Reading List Builder will open in a new browser tab. If your browser has a popup blocker enabled, clicking on your reading list in Blackboard will take you to a page with a button labelled Click for Readings. Click this button to open the Reading List Builder.

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. Click See Current Reading List to view your list.
4. Click Add Web Resource.
5. Enter the URL of a web page that you would like to include in the resource list.
6. Enter a title for the resource.
7. Click Add to Reading List. The web resource will appear in your list along with any library resources you have added.

Tip: You can also use the Add Web Resources function to add Library databases, APA/MLA Guides or Subject Guides to your list.

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. Click See Current Reading List to view your list.
4. Click Add Text or Instructions.
5. Type your instructions into the text box.
6. Click Add to Reading List. Your instructions will now appear in your list. 

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. Click See Current Reading List to view your list.
4. Locate the list item to which you want to add a note and click Add Notes. This will reveal the notes text box.
5. Type your note into the text box.
6. Click Save Notes. Your note will appear with the resource entry in your list. 

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. By default, all items in the list will in alphabetical order.
4. Locate the item that should appear first in the list. Click and hold the grey bar at the top of this item, then drag it to the top of the list.
5. Repeat this process with the remaining list items until each item is in the order that you prefer.

Tip: You may also change the Sort Order number of each item, located in the grey bar at the top of each item, and then click Save Changes.

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. Click See Current Reading List to view your list.
4. Click Add Folder.
5. Type a name for your folder.
6. Click Create Folder.
7. To move items to a folder, select the folder from the drop-down menu to the right of the resource entry.

1. Beginning on your Blackboard course page, open the content area or folder in which your list is located.
2. Click theStudent Preview icon (alt-text: Enter Student Preview). An orange bar will appear at the top of the page, indicating that you have entered the student preview.
3. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
4. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder. A preview of your list will launch in a new tab or window.
5. To exit the student preview, return to Blackboard. Click Exit Preview on the top right of the page, then click Continue. 

1. Instruct students to open the relevant content area (e.g. “Weekly Readings”) in Blackboard and to click on the link to your reading list (e.g. “Week 2 Readings”).
2. Inform students that the Library Reading List Builder will launch in a new window, and that, if they have a pop-up blocker installed, they will need to select Click for Readings in order to view the list.
3. This will take students directly to the reading list, and not to the search page that is the default in the faculty view. Students are not able to search for library resources in the Library Reading List Builder.
4. Instruct students to access library resources in the Library Reading List Builder by clicking the link in the grey bar under the resource title (e.g. Full Text, Get It, Connect to this eBook, Retrieve catalogue item, etc.), and web resources by clicking on the title of the link.

1. Open your reading list on Blackboard.
2. If necessary, select Click for Readings to open the Library Reading List Builder.
3. Click See Current Reading List to view your list.
4. On the menu near the top of the page, look for a line of text that says either This list is public or This list is private.
5. If the list is private, click on the word private. This will make the list public; other instructors s will now be able to view and import your list.

Note: This will make your list available to ALL George Brown College instructors. There is no option to share a list with a particular instructor. However, once the instructor you wish to share your list with has imported it, you may change your list settings back to private. Doing so will not affect the list that your colleague has imported. Any changes you make to your list after your colleague has imported it will not be reflected in their list.

Importing other faculty members' lists

If an instructor has made their list public, you can import some or all of its contents into your own list.

1. Open the reading list into which you want to import the new list and click See Current Reading List.
2. Click Import from Existing List. This will display two drop-down menus: one listing all of your resource lists, private or public, and another listing all resource lists that have been made public.
3. Click on the second drop-down menu, labelled All Public Lists. If the list that you want to import is not displayed here, contact the owner of the list and verify that it has been made public.
4. Select the list that you want to import and click View this list.
5. Select the resources that you want to import. You can select each resource individually, or select the entire list by checking the Check/Uncheck All box.
6. Click Copy Selected Readings. This will import all selected resources into your list.

Importing your own list from another course

1. Open the reading list into which you want to import the new list and click See Current Reading List.
2. Click Import from Existing List. This will display two drop-down menus: one listing all of your resource lists, private or public (i.e. lists you have created for the course you are in OR any list you have created for another course), and another listing all resource lists that have been made public.
3. Click on the first drop-down menu, labelled Your Lists.
4. Select the list that you want to import and click View this list.

Importing resources from an EBSCO folder

If you have created a folder of resources in the library’s main search feature (Search for Articles, Books, Videos or More) or another EBSCO collection, you can import these resources all at once into a list in the Library Reading List Builder.

Note: This function requires an EBSCO account. EBSCO accounts are not maintained by George Brown College. You may create an account by choosing the Sign In option at the top of the Search Results page on the library website, or any EBSCO database.

1. From the Search Results page on the library website (accessible after performing a basic or advanced search on the library homepage), or from another EBSCO database, sign into your EBSCO account.
2. Click Folder on the top right menu.
3. Select the folder that you would like to import. This folder will display resources by resource type. Each type of resource will need to be imported separately.
4. Select a type of resource in this folder (e.g. eBooks). This will display all of the resources in this category in the folder.
5. Select all the resources that you would like to import into your reading list, and click Export on the right-hand side of the page.
6. Under Save citations to a file formatted for, select Generic bibliographic management software.
7. Click Save.
8. Copy the bibliographic information displayed on the resulting page.
9. Open your reading list in Blackboard, and click See Current Reading List.
10. Click Import from EBSCO Folder.
11. Paste the bibliographic information that you have copied into the text box.
12. Click Generate list. The resources from your EBSCO folder will be added to your reading list.

Digital library resources

• Check the terms of use for the particular resource. If you have any questions, contact Copyright.Help@georgebrown.ca>.
• Embed the materials to Blackboard via the Reading List Builder.

Web resources (non-library)

• The material must be legitimately posted (do not link to pirated materials).
• The material cannot be behind a paywall or digital lock.
• The material must have NO clearly visible notice prohibiting its use.
• You must give credit to the author and website (cite your source).

Online videos (i.e. YouTube, Vimeo, etc.)

• All videos MUST be captioned in accordance with the college’s Captioned Media and E-Text Policy. 
• The material must be  legitimately posted (do not link to pirated materials).
• The material cannot be behind a paywall or digital lock.
• The material must have NO clearly visible notice prohibiting its use.
• You must give credit to the author and website (cite your source).

Material scanned from a print (hard copy) resource

• The material must be from a legitimate copy (i.e. personal copies, library copies).
• The material must comply with the college’s Copyright Policy:
  • No more than 10% or 1 chapter of a book.
  • 1 article per journal/magazine.
  • 1 short story, poem, article from a collection.
  • An entire newspaper article or page.
• You must give credit to the author (cite your source).

For more information go to http://copyright.georgebrown.ca/ or contact Copyright Help Copyright.Help@georgebrown.ca

About accessibility

• George Brown College is committed to making its programs, facilities and services accessible to all members of the college community.
• This commitment extends to digital, electronic, multimedia and other technology resources at the College, including the Internet, software, mobile devices, e-readers, etc.
• Digital accessibility is the degree to which a product, device, service or environment is barrier-free to all individuals, including individuals with disabilities.

Articles from the GBC Library databases

• When articles in the library databases are available in both PDF and HTML formats, use the HTML version as the accessibility of PDFs vary.
• Any accessibility issues encountered will be addressed on a case by case basis; your liaison librarian can support you in finding accessible solutions for library materials.
• Ontario College Libraries are working towards developing best practices going forward to meet and exceed the Integrated Accessibility Standards under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) that requires libraries of educational institutions to make their e-resources accessible by January 1, 2020 (IASR, 2011, s. 18(3)).

Web resources (non-library)

• In addition to meeting copyright standards (above), we must also ensure that any documents posted meet the accessibility standards outlined here: /www.georgebrown.ca/accessibility/information_communication/.