Research Guides: Finding & Using Digital Images: Image Databases for Educational Use

Library Databases

The GBC Library provides students, staff and faculty access to collections of images for educational use. This means that the copyright has already been cleared for these works, as long as they are used for non-commercial purposes for academic projects and assignments. Explore the image databases below or see a list of all current image databases to find images for educational use.

Acceptable Use Guidelines for Electronic Resources
Access to George Brown Libraries' is limited to current students, faculty, and staff and must be used for educational purposes.

General Search

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This education images database provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Subjects include: culinary arts, fashion, medicine, education, sociology, performing arts, architecture and design.

Anatomy

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Human anatomy comes to life as you zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models.

Art & Design

Artstor on JSTOR
Artstor content is now available on JSTOR! Faculty and students can now search or browse Artstor collections on the JSTOR platform as well as access openly accessible image collections.
In order to get the most out of Artstor(e.g. save images), users will need to log in through GBC, then register for a personal account (upper right-hand side of the landing page).
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and image database covering visual arts and design from prehistory to the present (worldwide in scope but strongest in Western art).
Textures.com (Formerly CG Textures) This link opens in a new window
This database offers high-quality photographs of materials ("Textures") and 3D assets used for specific courses in game development, visual effects, graphic design, product rendering and animation.

*Note: Limited number of seats available. Course instructors will create sub-accounts for students; please inquire with your instructor if you need access to this database.

Fashion

Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Information and resources on worldwide fashion industry news, trade shows and events. Also includes trend analyses and fashion reports.
WindowsWear Pro This link opens in a new window
This unique fashion database analyzes 43528 windows from 605 brands in 14 cities around the world. It tracks design inspirations, and colour, style and mannequin trends globally.

**For OFF-CAMPUS access, please create a user account using your George Brown College email address here
WWD (Women's Wear Daily) (ON & OFF CAMPUS: a user account needs to be created for off-campus use) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to WWD, the leading fashion industry trade journal. Includes: daily updates, weekly issues and an archive of articles and images from the past twelve months.

**For OFF-CAMPUS access, please create a user account using your George Brown College email address here.
WWD Women's Wear Daily Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Women's Wear Daily Archive allows users to explore influences on the fashion and beauty industry. It contains the full run of past print issues and supplements and will be updated biannually with more recent issues. Users can explore every page of every issue since 1910, scanned cover to cover, including all advertisements and images, in high resolution and full color, presented in page-image format with searchable text.