ESL Teacher Resources

In this new edition, Jeremy Harmer brings you *the evolving identities of global English *the impact of technology on teaching *the issue of context-sensitive methodology *DVD with clips from real classrooms, observation tasks and interviews

Ready to Write 1 , Third Edition, is a revision of Get Ready to Write, the first book in the highly-successful three-book Ready to Write series. The book teaches beginning students the composition skills they need to be successful writers in and out of the classroom.    A fresh new design, updated content throughout, and a host of new activities reinforce the approach that has made the Ready to Write series a classroom favorite for more than two decades.   Features: Updated examples and model paragraphs illustrate organizing elements such as topic sentences, supporting details, and signal words. Step-by-step activities guide students in comparing and contrasting, describing, analyzing data, writing test answers, and summarizing. Varied, contextualized writing tasks help students with real-life tasks. Editing and proofreading exercises encourage students to refine their writing skills. New Grammar Guide section presents important grammar points and practice items to boost accuracy. Ready to Write also includes:   Ready to Write 2 Ready to Write 3    

The third edition of this groundbreaking book includes videotaped lectures in DVD or VHS format. Now teachers can use the audio program (available on both tapes and CD) with the support of video simulation of an academic lecture experience. Many new and updated lectures with high-interest topics are included. INTERMEDIATE LISTENING COMPREHENSION is designed to familiarize students with the major rhetorical patterns of formal, spoken English.

The third edition of this highly regarded series focuses on building confidence in using language needed in everyday settings.

Tips for Teaching Pronunciation shows English language teachers how to teach the North American sound system.  This practical reference book provides practical tips, clear explanations, diagrams, and sample classroom activities.   Each chapter covers one of the five main areas of pronunciation -- vowels, consonants, stress, rhythm, and intonation. The companion audio CD in the text provides listening material for select activities.   Features: What the teacher should know sections set the scene with pedagogical research. Concrete tips provide practical classroom suggestions for teaching vowels, consonants, stress, rhythm, and intonation Sections on Specific Features in each chapter cover common pronunciation problems that teachers find challenging Sample activities for Specific Feature exemplify how to implement the tips Practical suggestions show how to integrate pronunciation with other skill areas Clear diagrams demonstrate how to articulate vowels and consonants Extensive descriptions help teachers prepare forpronunciation problems common to specific languages groups Photocopiable diagnostic test and handouts can be used in class with minimal preparation Audio CD provides listening material for select activities The Tips for Teaching series covers topics of practical classroom-centered interest for English language teachers. Written in clearly comprehensible terms, each book offers soundly conceived practical approaches to classroom instruction that are firmly grounded in current pedagogical research. See also: Tips for Teaching with CALL: Practical Approaches to Computer-Assisted Language Learning

Reviews the material covered in each section of the TOEFL, and provides eight full-length model tests.

This brief handbook offers the most focus on the writing process. The entire book is also available on the Internet, where it is fully searchable and customizable. This writing handbook focuses on the writing process, the research process, document design, clarity, punctuation, grammar, and documentation. This is a perfect reference for anyone wanting to produce effective written communications.

The classroom practices discussed in Effective Second Language Writing reflect various trends and methodologies; however, the underlying theme in this volume of the Classroom Practice Series is the need for clear and meaningful communication between ESL writers and their readers. While approaches differ, two core beliefs are constant: ESL students have something important to say, and ESL writing teachers can help them say it. Effective instruction starts with meaningful writing tasks, integrates a variety of skills and technologies, builds competencies, requires critical thinking, and employs appropriate resources. This volume of ideas and insights willenable ESL teachers to help their writing students find purposeful voices that resonate across countries, customs, disciplines, and cultures.