This page provides a toolkit for educators to create an accessible learning environment. It includes a Q & A section and a reference library.
This PDF presentation was funded by Colleges Ontario and prepared with input from the following Colleges; Algonquin College, George Brown College, Seneca and St. Lawrence College with contributions from the Council of Ontario Universities.
Created by CAST, the University of Michigan and the Education Development Center. This is an open-source toolkit that provides "... a web-based platform that allows for the development and publication of web-based curricula and other content built according to the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL)." (Cast, 2011)
This organization, out of the California State University system, provides a number of resources to assist faculty in the redesign of courses around UDL principles. These resources can be found under the UDL Course Changes tab and include syllabus rubric, video case studies and a guide to holding both a 2 hour and 2 day UDL workshop.
ACCESS-ed started as project from the R2D2 Center at the University of Wisconsin to promote accessibility in higher education. The existing website provides a model of a Virtual Accessible Campus as well as a toolkit for integrating Universal Design into all aspects of campus life. Resources include a kit for those wanting to initiate a faculty training program in Universal Design.
Create an account and access lessons plans and resources that can be viewed, saved, reused or remixed. The site has a feature to rate resources and to share resources with colleagues. You can also add your own lessons plans and resources to the space.
Designed by the University of Connecticut to assist faculty in implementing principles of Universal Instructional Design in all phases of course design and implementation.
Provides a UID Quick-Start Checklist, a UID Implementation Guide, manuals for course design and a comprehensive list of Tip Sheets on applying UID to various areas of the curriculum. The site also provides a sample UID poster.
The Centre for Academic Faculty Enrichment provides a UDL website with samples of course outlines, lessons plans, organizers and assessment tools to help faculty incorporate UDL principles into course design.
his site has a technical module on creating accessible documents in Word, PowerPoint, PDF, HTML, E-book design and multimedia.
