Company Information - Library Databases - T403 - Company, Industry & Career Resources - Construction

Company Information - Library Databases

There are several databases where you might find articles on your construction company or architecture firm.

Start with Canadian Sources + to simultaneously search CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies.

CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)
- Contains Canadian construction trades journals, Canadian business magazines, and newspapers which contain articles on construction companies across Canada.
Canadian Major Dailies
- Newspapers from across Canada which contain stories on construction projects and companies.

PressReader provides access to Canadian and international newspapers and magazines.

EBSCO SEARCH will allow you to simultaneously search a number of databases including Business Sources Complete and Art and Architecture Complete. These two databases cover construction and architecture industry trade journals and business magazines.

Search the Page1+ database below for additional articles on your company and for books on architecture firms.

For help with your research, try our videos on Canadian Sources+ and finding trade publications in the library collection.

Company Reports can be helpful when preparing your company presentation. They provide an overview of how the company is performing financially, recent company activity, company history, executive profiles and often a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).

We have two databases that provide company reports on Canadian construction and architecture firms.

Nexis Uni (+ QuickLaw) This link opens in a new window

Company Reports on public and private Canadian construction companies.

Type in the name of your company and type of report (eg SWOT), select Companies from All Content Types and then Company Profiles from the Company and Financial drop-down menu and click the search icon.

Nexis Uni company Search

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Company Reports on publicly-traded Canadian construction companies.

Search on the company name or browse alphabetically using the Company Report tab on the right.

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute

Onsite Magazine's annual Top Contractors report features a list of 40 leading Canadian contractors ranked by annual revenue and a directory of leading construction contractors across Canada.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have three databases that allow you to create a list of companies in your field.

Nexis Uni (+ QuickLaw) This link opens in a new window

Company Snapshot includes information on revenue, executives, mergers & acquisitions, legal cases, news articles.

Create a Company List - (PDF - Step-by-step instructions on creating a company list in Nexis Uni)
Compile a list by SIC
- Construction: 15 (152 - Residential Building or 154 - Non-residential Building Construction or 154 Operative Builders)
- Heavy Construction Other Than Building Construction Contractors: 16 (161 - Highway and Street Construction or 162 - Heavy Construction, Except Highway)
- Architectural Service: 8712
- Engineering Services: 8711
- HVAC: 1711
- Residential Remodeling: 1521

Scott’s Ontario Directories This link opens in a new window

Basic Company contact information

Compile a list by NAICS code:
- Construction of Buildings: 236
  - 23611 Residential Building Construction
  - 23621 Industrial Building Construction
  - 23622 Commercial and Institutional Building Construction
- Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction: 237310
- Architectural Services: 541310
- HVAC: 238220

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing demographic information including census data (population, age, language, income, housing, education, race & ethnicity and more), current estimates and 5 year projections, household spending data on hundreds of goods and services, and over 1.3 million Canadian business profiles from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

# of Concurrent Users: 10
Faculty, staff and students are not required to log-in with a user name and password, however, their work will not be saved using this method which is located at the bottom of the Sign In section - "Sign in as a guest"

SimplyAnalytics

(PDF - Step-by-step instructions for mapping construction companies in SimplyAnalytics)

Sample Company Report Citation:

Producer of Report. (year, month day). Company Name: Type of Report. Retrieved from database name.

MarketLine. (2014, May 9). Starbucks Corporation: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld produces and publishes over 400 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code. IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates. Major market segments are identified and also those key external forces affecting supply and demand within the industry. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data and analysis of business, industry, product brands, market share, media, and social scientific topics, obtained from both private and public sector sources, and covering all regions of the world.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles on all aspects of business and management. Also includes company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses and market, country and product reports.

We have adapted the McGill style to suit your assignment. Here are the suggested styles for Reference Page and in-text citations as per our copyright librarian, Heather Buffett.

Reference Page - Style

Case Name (Known as Style of Cause in legal jargon), [year], neutral citation

Example:

Smith v. Dawson, [1923], O.J. No. 173

In-text citation - Style

Use the paragraph pinpoint for an in-text citation.

Enough of the case name to identify it and the paragraph you are citing in your paper.

Example:

(Smith v. Dawson at paragraph 3)

E-mail Andrea Hall if you need additional help with researching your company.