Research Guides: JEWL 1047 Jewellery as an Industry: Databases

Key Library databases

Artstor
More than 2.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from hundreds of global collections including museums like the V&A, MOMA
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Complete encyclopedia with comprehensive articles, plus biographies, timelines, images, videos, world atlas, country snapshots, statistics and an online dictionary.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This education images database provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Subjects include: culinary arts, fashion, medicine, education, sociology, performing arts, architecture and design.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and image database covering visual arts and design from prehistory to the present (worldwide in scope but strongest in Western art).
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Information and resources on worldwide fashion industry news, trade shows and events. Also includes trend analyses and fashion reports.

WWD (Women's Wear Daily)
Full text access to WWD, the leading fashion industry trade journal. Includes: daily updates, weekly issues and an archive of articles and images from the past twelve months.

**For OFF-CAMPUS access, please create a user account using your George Brown College email address here: https://uls.wwd.com/organization/signup/73

Costume Institute: Metropolitan Museum of Art
30,000 + images. Narrow by Object type and Date/Era. Date ranges are broad so pay close attention to the date the item was made.
Google Arts and Culture
provides access to high-resolution images of artworks housed in museums from around the world
McCord Museum
"Considered the leading collection of Canadian dress and the second most important collection of costume in Canada, this collection has grown since 1957 to contain some 18,900 items of dress and accessories"
Victoria and Albert Museum