Note: Titles highlighted in red have an e-version.
The Microbrewery Handbook: craft, brew, & build your own microbrewery success by
An unprecedented guide to successfully start or grow a microbrewery or craft brewery in a much more competitive world. Opening a microbrewery starts with, of course, making great beer. But that is just the beginning. Today's sophisticated patrons are offered an ever-increasing array of options. It's so much more than beer nowadays. Yes, great beer is essential, but to attract and hold on to a loyal customer base, you must create a sense of place. Do your research. Understand financing and cash flow. Know how to measure your success. A successful, well-run microbrewery knows how to hire the right employees--employees that will spread word of your business to friends, family, even total strangers, both on and off the clock. Marketing, branding, customer experience; they all matter. There are so many factors that directly and indirectly contribute to success, it may at times be overwhelming. The Microbrewery Handbook offers an extraordinary look at all of the facets of success in the industry. No matter if you are thinking about starting a new venture or are already operating your own microbrewery, this valuable book offers real-world advice and proven strategies to help you thrive in the competitive micro and craft brewing industry. Focused on practical guidance, author D.C. Reeves distills his experience founding Perfect Plain Brewing Company in Pensacola, Florida into an engaging, up-to-date resource for microbrewers everywhere. Clearly showing readers what works in the industry and, just as importantly, what doesn't work, The Microbrewery Handbook: Helps you create unique, memorable experiences for your customers, your employees, and your city Includes coverage of the financial aspects of building and growing your business, such as banking, investment, and debt Shows you how to transform your business into a community anchor Offers suggestions on building an entire culture around your brand that promotes positivity and attracts the right kind of attention Shares personal stories and advice from a successful microbrew entrepreneur Includes interviews and insight with industry experts as well as owners of some of the nation's elite craft breweries including Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head, Jeffrey Stuffings of Jester King, and Doug Resier of Burial Brewing The Microbrewery Handbook: Craft, Brew, and Build Your Own Microbrewery Success is an indispensable, first-of-its-kind book for anyone in the micro and craft brewing industry.
Embracing Opportunities at the Nexus of Wine and Hospitality by 
Food and Beverage Management : for the hospitality, tourism and event industries by
This fifth edition of the best-selling textbook Food and Beverage Management for the hospitality, tourism & event industries has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within education and the hospitality, tourism and leisure industries. In particular the consideration of the foods service cycle and includes greater account being taken of the management of foodservice operations within a broader business framework. It recognises that operations are not an end in themselves and food and beverage management is as much about the management of the business as it is about specific aspects of the food and beverage product. With a clear, user friendly, structure based on the Food Service Cycle, this fifth edition of Food and Beverage Management has been designed to meet the needs of those undertaking a range of educational programmes, from diploma to undergraduate levels, as well as supporting in-company training programmes.
Wine Production and Quality by
Gourmand Award for the No. 1 Best Wine Book in the World for Professionals Since the publication of Wine Production: Vine to Bottle (2005) and Wine Quality: Tasting and Selection (2009), there has been a great deal of change in the wine industry, and the perceptions of critics and expectations of consumers have shifted. Wine Production and Quality, Second Edition brings together its two predecessors in one updated and considerably expanded volume. This comprehensive guide explores the techniques of wine production in the vineyard and winery, and considers their impact upon the taste, style and quality of wine in the bottle. Part 1 of the book provides a structured yet easily readable understanding of wine production, from vine to bottle. The impact of natural factors, including climate and soil, is considered, together with the decisions made and work undertaken in the vineyard and winery. Part 2 looks at quality in wines: the concepts and techniques of tasting are detailed, along with the challenges in recognising and assessing quality. Also discussed are the steps producers may take, and the limitations they may face, in creating quality wines. The book will prove valuable to beverage industry professionals, wine trade students, wine merchants, sommeliers, restaurateurs , and wine lovers as well as those entering (or thinking of entering) the highly competitive world of wine production.
The Globalization of Wine by
The Globalization of Wine is a one-stop guide to understanding wine across the world today. Examining a broad range of developments in the wine world, it considers the social, cultural, economic, political and geographical dimensions of wine globalization. It investigates how large-scale changes in production, distribution and consumption are transforming the wine that we drink. Comprehensive background discussion is complemented by vivid case study chapters from a variety of international contributors. Many different countries and regions are covered, including China, the USA and Hong Kong, as are key themes, debates and controversies in contemporary wine worlds. Innovative, up-to-date and interdisciplinary, The Globalization of Wine illustrates the diversity and complexity of wine globalization processes across the planet, both in the past and at the present time. It is essential reading for academics and students in food and drink studies, sociology, anthropology, globalization studies, geography and cultural studies. It also provides a jargon-free resource for wine professionals and connoisseurs.
Healthy Vines, Pure Wines : Methods in Organic, Biodynamic®, Natural, and Sustainable Viticulture by
Healthy Vines, Pure Wines serves as a guide, which derives its information from real-world sources to share green practices in sustainable viticulture in a practical way. Including a how-to on treating vineyard issues organically, a look at how climate change is affecting viticulture, and a special focus on women in the field, this handbook maintains a forward focus. Also included are 16 case studies on successful organic, biodynamic, and sustainable wineries from the San Francisco North Bay Region, focusing on how what each has done can be replicated.
Wines and spirits : looking behind the label by
A book entailing the study of wine taking you from the tasting process to the winemaking process to the details of the major varietals and where they are grown.
Biodynamic Wine by
Biodynamic wine is a comprehensive and entertaining guide to the most argued-about green wine-making phenomenon of recent years. It is both an ideal how-to manual for growers and a captivating guide for wine professionals and wine lovers alike.
The Oxford Companion to Wine by
Published in 1994 to worldwide acclaim, the first edition of Jancis Robinson's seminal volume immediately attained legendary status, winning every major wine book award including the Glenfiddich and Julia Child/IACP awards, as well as writer and woman of the year accolades for its editor on both sides of the Atlantic. Combining meticulously-researched fact with refreshing opinion and wit, The Oxford Companion to Wine presents almost 4,000 entries on every wine-related topic imaginable, from regions and grape varieties to the owners, connoisseurs, growers, and tasters in wine through the ages; from viticulture and oenology to the history of wine, from itsorigins to the present day. The 187 esteemed contributors (including over 50 new to this edition) range from internationally renowned academics to some of the most famous wine writers and wine specialists in the world. Now exhaustively updated, this fourth edition incorporates the very latest international research to present over 350 new entries on topics ranging from additives and wine apps to WSET and Zelen. Over 60 per cent of all entries have been revised; and useful lists and statistics are appended, including a unique list of the world's controlled appellations and their permitted grape varieties, as well as vineyard area, wine production and consumption bycountry. Illustrated with almost 30 updated maps of every important wine region in the world, many useful charts and diagrams, and 16 stunning colour photographs, this Companion is unlike any other wine book, offering an understanding of wine in all of its wider contexts--notably historical, cultural, and scientific--and serving as a truly companionable point of reference into which any wine-lover can dip and browse. New to this editionComprehensively revised and updated throughout Over 350 brand-new entries Significant new updates on hundreds of topics such as China, screwcaps, and the origins of viniculture Impressive global coverage of wine regions, including new entries on Alaska, Lesotho, Norway, and Tahiti Includes brand-new colour photographs and black and white line drawings Maps of wine regions have been updated
Principles and Practices of Bar and Beverage Management by
Principles and Practices of Bar and Beverage Management: raising the bar is a comprehensive text and resource book designed to explain the latest developments in and new complexities of managing modern bars- be they stand alone or part of larger institutions such as hotels and resorts. Consumer expectations have changed and a bar today must deliver an integrated social experience in a safe modern environment, which also offers the latest products and services in a professional and engaging fashion. Against a background of increasing competition and an increasingly sophisticated customer base this text has been designed to support the bar and beverage skills of students and professionals. It will be the primary reference source in meeting the professional skills and development needs of those who aspire to a career in the bar, restaurant and hospitality industry. It gives the reader-* A complete guide to every aspect of bar management from customer care, marketing, beverages and beverage management, the economic context and bar technology- to key issues of health and safety;* A well defined pedagogic structure giving objectives and learning outcomes, discussion points, further reading and end of chapter summaries;* Links to relevant web, visual and audio- resources;* A clear logical progression through all the key topics plus the technical skills, practices and latest developments in the bar and beverage sector;* Over 200 explanatory illustrations and tables covering all types of bars and beverages from around the world;* Numerous examples and case studies from within the bar and beverage industry It will fully meet the needs of students currently on full and part-time programmes worldwide in the fields of bar, restaurant, hotel, hospitality and food and beverage management in universities, hotel schools and a wide range of vocational courses. It will also be a superb reference for professionals developing their careers in the industry.
The New American Bartender's Guide by
With this indispensable guide, readers will learn how to mix classic as well as exotic drinks like the pros. Here are all the tricks of the trade-including how to taste, flavor, and garnish as well as when and how to shake, stir, and whirl a drink. The New American Bartender's Guide features- e Tips on measuring, serving, stocking a bar, and learning the language of mixology e Easy-to-find recipes that are organized alphabetically by type of liquor e Classic as well as new recipes for gin, rum, and vodka drinks; punches, aperitifs, non-alcoholic drinks, and much more
Food and Wine Pairing by
Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience provides a series of discussion and exercises ranging from identifying basic wine characteristics, including visual, aroma, taste (acid, sweetness, oak, tannin, body, etc.), palate mapping (acid, sweet, sour, bitter, and tannin), basic food characteristics and anchors of each (sweet, sour, bitter, saltiness, fattiness, body, etc). It presents how these characteristics contrast and complement each other. By helping culinary professionals develop the skills necessary to identifying the key elements in food or wine that will directly impact its matching based on contrast or similarities, they will then be able to predict excellent food and wine pairings.
Exploring Wine by
Written by the experts who train today's leading chefs and sommeliers, this invaluable guide thoroughly demystifies wine, from the basics of wine production to the nuances of wine lists, wine marketing, and wine service. Revised to reflect the many recent changes in the worldwide wine industry, the Second Edition of this critically acclaimed guide features an expanded American wines section, coverage of the latest developments in Italian wine and the new face of German and South American wine trades, and more.
The Restaurant: from Concept to Operation by 5th edition (2008) also available as an eBook.
Principles of Food, Beverage, and Labor Cost Controls by
Principles of Food, Beverage, and Labor Cost Controls, Ninth Edition has defined the cost control course for generations of students. This new edition continues the tradition of presenting comprehensive yet concise information on cost control that is updated to reflect today's technology driven environment Key terms, key concepts, review questions, and spreadsheet exercises reinforce and support readers' understanding. It also features increased discussion and examples of technology used in food and beverage operations, a running case study, and a separate chapter on menu analysis and engineering.
The wine, beer, & spirits handbook: a guide to styles and service by 
The Beverage Manager's Guide to Wines, Beers and Spirits by 
What to drink with what you eat : the definitive guide to pairing food with wine, beer, spirits, coffee, tea-- even water-- based on expert advice from America's best sommeliers by 
The Sommelier Prep Course by
While the subject of wine, beer, and spirits continues to grow inpopularity, there are very few books that approach the subject inan accessible manner and that also contain the pedagogical featuresneeded by instructors. In addition, most books cover the subject ofwine only, while hospitality students need a broader base onknowledge that also includes beer and spirits. After finishing thebook, readers will be prepared to take the introductorycertification exams of the Court of Master Sommeliers,International Sommelier Guild, and Society of Wine Educators andreceive a first-level certification. Divided into five parts, Gibson covers wine, beer, and spirits.Along with a history of each type of beverage, he also covers howthese beverages are produced and manufactured, varieties and stylesof these beverages, and food pairings. Most importantly, Gibsoncovers costing, pricing, merchandising, marketing, and storingwine, along with creating a balanced wine list and tableservice.
Wines of the Rhône by
Wines from Côte-Rôtie, Hermitage and Châteauneuf-du-Pape have made the Rhône Valley world famous. This may be a classic wine region, but as Matt Walls reveals in Wines of the Rhône that doesn't mean it is set in its ways. Change here is not only driven by innovations in winemaking and fashions in wine, it is also an essential response to a rapidly shifting climate, which has seen temperatures rise significantly over the last 40 years and extreme weather events become more commonplace.Walls provides a rounded picture of this large and complex region, which varies greatly along the 200-kilometre stretch of river, from Vienne in the north to Provence in the south. Beginning with a vivid journey through the terrain, he explores one of the region's constants, its varied geology, before moving on to the pressing issue of climate. A short tour through the Rhône's winemaking history, from early Greek settlers to the modern industry, is followed by vignettes of all the AOC-permitted grapes and an explanation of the five levels of the region's appellation system.While the region contains some of the world's most recognizable appellations, there are also many that are less well-known. Walls encourages readers to venture beyond the famous crus, making it easy for those eager to explore by detailing the terroir of every appellation and describing and assessing typical wines. Profiles of 200 key producers complete the picture. Boxes throughout the text provide interesting asides on current issues as well as key appellation facts, while an appendix on ageing wines offers a guide to the last 40 vintages.This comprehensive examination of a renowned region is an ideal introduction for those new to the Rhône, while providing fresh insights for long-time admirers of the wines.
Use the links below to search for the newest library resources on these topics.