Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Business Resources - APA Style 6th Edition

Newspaper Articles

 

Reference List

 

TEMPLATE

Author, A. (date of publication). Title of article. Name of newspaper, page number(s). Retrieved from Name of database.

EXAMPLE

Moyer, L. (2015, November 13). Citigroup imports a branch style from operations abroad. The New York Times, p. B7. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic.

Robinson, A. (2006, September 5). Consumer behaviour key to investor health. The Globe and Mail, p. B12. Retrieved from Canadian Major Dailies.

In-text Citation: Paraphrase

 

TEMPLATE

(Author's last name, year of publication)

EXAMPLE

(Moyer, 2015)

(Robinson, 2006)

In-text Citation: Quote

 

TEMPLATE

(Author's last name, year of publication, page number)

EXAMPLE

(Moyer, 2015, p. B7)

(Robinson, 2006, p. B12)

Find the Info

 

LexisNexis Academic

Full text of newspaper article in LexisNexis database highlighting publication info

  • from results list in LexisNexis, open full text of newspaper article
  • find DATABASE in page header
  • find NEWSPAPER and PUBLICATION DATE below menu bar and above article text
  • find TITLE below date of publication and above author's byline
  • find AUTHOR in Byline field below title of article
  • to find PAGE NUMBER, combine section and page number in Section field below byline

 

ProQuest/Canadian Major Dailies

Detailed record in library database highlighting publication info

 

  • from results list in ProQuest database, open full text of newspaper article
  • instead of Full text, select tab marked Abstract/Details from options above article
  • look for Details heading at top of table
  • TITLE, AUTHOR, NEWSPAPER, PAGE NUMBER, and PUBLICATION DATE appear at start of Details
  • DATABASE appears near the end of Details