Skip to Main Content

Company, Industry & Career Resources - Construction and Architectural Technologies (COMM 1113, BLDG 1193, BLDG 1172 & BIM 1024)

There are several databases where you might find articles on your construction company or architecture firm.

  •  Start with Canadian Sources + to simultaneously search CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies.

  • PressReader provides access to  Canadian and international newspapers and magazines.
  • Search the Page1+ database below for additional articles on your company and for books on architecture firms.
Search

For help with your research, try our videos on Canadian Sources+ and finding trade publications in the library collection.

 

 

Company Reports can be helpful when preparing your company presentation.  They provide an overview of how the company is performing financially, recent company activity, company history, executive profiles and often a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).

We have two databases that provide company reports on Canadian construction and architecture firms.

 

 

Company Reports on public and private Canadian construction companies.​

  • Type in the name of your company and type of report (eg SWOT), select Companies from All Content Types and then Company Profiles from the Company and Financial drop-down menu and click the search icon.

Nexis Uni company Search

Company Reports on publicly-traded Canadian construction companies.

  • Search on the company name or browse alphabetically using the Company Report tab on the right.

 

 

Onsite Magazine's annual Top Contractors report features a list of 40 leading Canadian contractors ranked by annual revenue and a directory of leading construction contractors across Canada.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have three databases that allow you to create a list of companies in your field.

Company Snapshot includes information on revenue, executives, mergers & acquisitions, legal cases, news articles.

  • Create a Company List -  ​(PDF - Step-by-step instructions on creating a company list in Nexis Uni)
  • Compile a list by SIC
    • Construction:  15 (152 - Residential Building or 154 - Non-residential Building Construction or 154 Operative Builders) 
    • Heavy Construction Other Than Building Construction Contractors:  16 (161 - Highway and Street Construction or 162 - Heavy Construction, Except Highway)
    • Architectural Service:  8712
    • Engineering Services:  8711
    • HVAC: 1711
    • Residential Remodeling: 1521

 

 

Basic Company contact information

  • Compile a list by NAICS code:
    • Construction of Buildings: 236
      • 23611 Residential Building Construction
      • ​23621 Industrial Building Construction
      • 23622 Commercial and Institutional Building Construction
    • Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction:  237310 
    • Architectural Services: 541310
    • HVAC:  238220

 

SimplyAnalytics 

(PDF -  Step-by-step instructions for mapping construction companies in SimplyAnalytics)

Sample Company Report Citation:

Producer of Report. (year, month day).  Company Name: Type of Report.   Retrieved from database name.

MarketLine. (2014, May 9). Starbucks Corporation: Company profile.  Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

We have adapted the McGill style to suit your assignment.  Here are the suggested styles for Reference Page and in-text citations as per our copyright librarian, Heather Buffett.

Reference Page - Style

Case Name (Known as Style of Cause in legal jargon), [year], neutral citation

Example:

Smith v. Dawson, [1923], O.J. No. 173

In-text citation - Style

Use the paragraph pinpoint for an in-text citation.

Enough of the case name to identify it and the paragraph you are citing in your paper.

Example:

(Smith v. Dawson at paragraph 3)

E-mail Andrea Hall if you need additional help with researching your company.