Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Company, Industry & Career Resources - Construction and Architectural Technologies (COMM 1113 & BLDG 1193)

Company Information - Library Databases

There are several databases where you might find articles on your construction company or architectural firm.   Start with our databases that have a Canadian focus.

  • CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)
    • Contains Canadian construction trades journals, Canadian business magazines, and newspapers which contain articles on construction companies across Canada.
  • Canadian Major Dailies
    • Newspapers from across Canada which contain stories on construction projects and companies.
    Open Captioned
  • TIP:  You can search these databases simultaneously by choosing the Database tab at the top of the screen and selecting both databases.


Next, search the main search box below. This will allow you to simultaneously search a number of databases including  Business Sources Complete and Art and Architecture Complete.  These two databases cover construction and architecture industry trade journals and business magazines.

Company Reports can be helpful when preparing your company presentation.  They provide an overview of how the company is performing financially, recent company activity, company history, executive profiles and often a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).

We have two databases that provide company reports on Canadian construction and architecture firms.

 

Company/Analyst Reports on public and private Canadian construction companies.​

  • Under Guided Search, select Company Info, type in the name of your company and type of report (eg SWOT), select all company information from the dropdown and click the Search button.

Nexis uni company info search

 

Company Reports on publicly traded Canadian construction companies.

  • Search on the company name or browse alphabetically using the Company Report tab on the right.

 

  

ConstructConnect's annual publication The Leaders: Canada's Best in Construction features brief company profiles from their list of top companies in the industry.

ConstructConnect's annual publication The Leaders: Canada's Best in Construction features brief company profiles from their list of top companies in the industry.

Onsite Magazine's annual Top Contractors report features a list of 40 leading Canadian contractors ranked by annual revenue and a directory of leading construction contractors across Canada.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have two databases that allow you to create a list of companies in your field.

Company Snapshot includes information on revenue, executives, mergers & acquisitions, legal cases, news articles.

  • Create a Company List -  ​(PDF - Step-by-step instructions on creating a company list in Nexis Uni)
  • Compile a list by SIC
    • Construction:  15 (152 - Residential Building or 154 - Non-residential Building Construction or 154 Operative Builders) 
    • Heavy Construction Other Than Building Construction Contractors:  16 (161 - Highway and Street Construction or 162 - Heavy Construction, Except Highway)
    • Architectural Service:  8712
    • Engineering Services:  8711
    • HVAC: 1711

Basic Company contact information

(PDF - Step-by-step instructions on creating a list of construction companies in Scott's Ontario Directories)

  • Compile a list by NAICS code:
    • Construction of Buildings: 236
      • 23611 Residential Building Construction
      • ​23621 Industrial Building Construction
      • 23622 Commercial and Institutional Building Construction
    • Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction:  237310 
    • Architectural Services: 541310
    • HVAC:  238220

Sample Company Report Citation:

Producer of Report. (year, month day).  Company Name: Type of Report.   Retrieved from database name.

MarketLine. (2014, May 9). Starbucks Corporation: Company profile.  Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

We have adapted the McGill style to suit your assignment.  Here are the suggested styles for Reference Page and in-text citations as per our copyright librarian, Heather Buffett.

Reference Page - Style

Case Name (Known as Style of Cause in legal jargon), [year], neutral citation

Example:

Smith v. Dawson, [1923], O.J. No. 173

In-text citation - Style

Use the paragraph pinpoint for an in-text citation.

Enough of the case name to identify it and the paragraph you are citing in your paper.

Example:

(Smith v. Dawson at paragraph 3)

E-mail Andrea Hall if you need additional help with researching your company.

Search for Library Resources