Research Guides in Blackboard: Home

1. Open a content area from your course menu.
2. Click Build Content from the content area menu.
3. Click Research Guides.

4. Type a name for your guide (e.g. “Course Research Guide” or “Early Childhood Education Research Guide”). You can also enter a description in the text box below.
5. Scroll down to Options, and ensure that Permit Users to View this Content is set to Yes.
6. Click Submit. The link will appear in your content area. You can now connect a research guide, or a portion of a research guide, to this link.

Note: To edit the name or description of the guide, click on the drop-down arrow beside the guide link in Blackboard and choose Edit.

1. Click on the research guide link you just created (e.g. “Early Childhood Education Research Guide”).
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Full LibGuide.
4. Open the Guide drop-down menu and select the guide you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Guides are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Open the Guide Page drop-down menu and select the page that you would like to have displayed when students click on your guide. We recommend selecting Home, as this will link to the main page of the guide.
6. Click Embed Content.

In addition to linking to a full research guide, you can use the Research Guides feature to link to individual pages of a guide, or to content items (boxes) within a page. This allows you to embed more specific pieces of information into a section of your blackboard course.

Adding a page from a research guide

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Single Page.
4. Open the Guide drop-down menu and select the guide you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Guides are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Open the Guide Page drop-down menu and select the page to which you would like to link (e.g. “Magazines and Journals”).
6. Click Embed Content.

Adding a content box from a research guide

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Content Box.
4. Open the Guide drop-down menu and select the guide you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Guides are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Open the Guide Page drop-down menu and select the page to which you would like to link (e.g. “Magazines and Journals”).
6. Open the Box drop-down menu and select the box that you would like to embed (e.g. “Academic Journals”).
7. Click Embed Content.

The Research Guides tool allows you to link library databases, or lists of databases, to your course on Blackboard.

1. Click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Specific A-Z Database.
4. Open the Database drop-down menu and select the database you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Databases are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

Adding a list of subject-specific databases, with librarian information

This feature allows you to add a list of databases relevant to a specific program or field of study to your Blackboard course. This list will also include profile information for the liaison librarian responsible for this subject area, and a list of relevant research guides.

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu, scroll down, and select Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialist.
4. Open the Subject drop-down menu and select the database list you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Subjects are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

Adding a list of subject-specific databases, without librarian information

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Databases for Specific Subject (list only).
4. Open the Subject drop-down menu and select the database list you wish to link to your Blackboard course. Subjects are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

Adding a list of all library databases

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select All A-Z Databases.
4. Click Embed Content.

1. Open the relevant content area in Blackboard and click on your research guide link.
2.  
3. Click Edit Selection. This will remove the content attached to your research guide link.
4. Return to your Blackboard course by clicking the Back button or the breadcrumb trail at the top left corner of the page.
5. To add new content, click on your research guide and follow the steps described in the Adding a full research guide to your Blackboard course or Adding a portion of a research guide to your Blackboard course sections above.

Viewing your research guide

1. Beginning on your Blackboard course page, open the content area in which your guide is embedded.
2. Click on the title of your guide.
3. Click View Content.
4. To return to Blackboard, click the Back button on your browser, or click the breadcrumb link at the top left corner of the page.

Previewing your guide as it will appear to students

1. Beginning on your Blackboard course page, open the content area in which your guide is embedded.
2. Click the Student Preview icon (alt-text: Enter Student Preview). An orange bar will appear at the top of the page, indicating that you have entered the student preview.
3. Click on the title of your guide.
4. To exit the student preview, return to Blackboard. Click Exit Preview on the top right of the page, then click Continue.