Research Guides: Nursing: Databases

Core databases

CINAHL Cumulative Nursing & Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive research tools for nurses and health care professionals, with full text academic articles on: nursing, allied health, deaf studies, dentistry and hearing instruments. Allows you to search specifically for: research articles and peer-reviewed articles.
EBM Reviews (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews provides access to current research and answers to clinical questions from professional sources.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Journals@OVID Full Text (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals, a collection of 14 essential health information journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions

SAGE Health Sciences Full-Text Collection
This is a full text collection of 26 scholarly full-text nursing journals with particular emphasis on nursing research. Other areas such as public health, autism and gerontology are also covered. 1879 – current.
Science Direct College Edition.
The ScienceDirect College Edition offers local and remote access to full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles online; 890 in the Life Sciences field, 600 in the Physical Sciences Journal Collection, and additional journals from social and behavioural sciences. This database allows for quick searching by keyword, subject or journal title and full searching using basic or advanced modes.

Database Tutorials

Medical Databases

Biomed Central
Publisher of 221 peer-reviewed open access journals

CPS [OFF CAMPUS ACCESS] This link opens in a new window
Source for Canadian drug information, fully searchable by: brand, generic name, therapeutic class and manufacturer. For Off Campus Access Only.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and abstract coverage of medical and health care literature.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and abstract coverage of medical and health care literature.

PubMed Central
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Secondary databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ALT HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to Full text articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Contains peer-reviewed journals, health reports and e-books.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines and journals in all areas of education from childhood to adulthood; also includes research reports in education.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes consumer health books, the Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, medical dictionaries and encyclopedias and articles on medicine, nutrition, childcare and general health.
ProQuest College Complete eBook Collection This link opens in a new window

Anatomy Databases

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Human anatomy comes to life as you zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s contains over 300 real-life 3D human anatomy videos ideal for preparation in human/gross anatomy courses and labs.

**Please create a user account using your George Brown College email address to access Acland's exams feature.

1. Go to "EXAMS".
2. Click on the "Login to My Personal Account" button.
3. Click on the "Sign up Now!" Button.
4. Complete the "Account Information" form.
5. Save.
Anatomy.tv (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window Anatomy.tv is an online resource that provides over 6,500 detailed 3D models of human anatomy. Models focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems. The 3D images can be peeled away in layers and anatomical models can be rotated 360 degrees to demonstrate the interaction of nerves, muscles, ligaments, and bones. The LLC subscribes to the following Anatomy.tv modules: 3D Real-Time Human Anatomy, Dental Education Solution and Virtual Reality (Anatomy.tv). The 3D Real-Time Human Anatomy includes: - 3D interactive models - In-depth anatomical text and audio pronunciation guide - Dissection tools allowing you to add or dissect structures - Edit tools allowing you to label, draw, and pin on the 3D models Dental Education Solution includes: - Anatomical familiarization and overview - Anatomy revision and practice - Surgical techniques - Clinical Virtual Reality from Primal Pictures includes: - 3D interactive anatomy model in a fully immersive virtual environment - Comprehensive coverage of the entire body - Anatomical text and audio pronunciation guide - Dissection tools allowing you to add, remove, or hide structures
Products include: Dental Education Solution, 3D Real-Time Human Anatomy, Virtual Reality

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in the field of psychology from over 75 academic and peer-reviewed journals.

Psychology e-Collection (Gale Thompson)
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Your library's users will have access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Online journals with some free content

NursingCenter
Online journal articles and nursing continuing education. Most of the articles are also accessible through Ovid Journals.

Subject Guide

Junhui Zhang

Email Me

Contact:

Library Learning Commons, 6th floor, Waterfront Campus, GBC

Subjects: Dental, Health & Medicine, Nursing, Research Help, Teaching Resources