Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Game Development & Design

Gaming Collection

Please check out the policies and procedures for using the GBC Library's Gaming Collection here:

Mission

Access / Circulation

Collection Location

Loan Periods

Questions?

Mission

The GBC Library's Gaming Collection was created to support the technical, creative and research needs of students and faculty in the Game Development (G109), Game Arts (G119), Game Design (G405), Interactive Media Management (G412), Concept Art for Entertainment program (G407), Interaction Design (G103), and Game Programming (T163programs.

Students and faculty registered in these programs have access to the gaming collection for individual research purposes, group work, in class demos, and assignments, to:

- learn the mechanics of how a game is conducted
- develop a critical awareness of elements of gameplay
- evaluate the process, technology and design of different gaming genres
- research and critique platforms and genres of gaming
- provide ideas and creativity for the development of student projects

Access/Circulation

Items in this collection are for the exclusive use of students and faculty in the Game Development (G109), Game Arts (G119), Game Design (G405), Interactive Media Management (G412), Concept Art for Entertainment program (G407), Interaction Design (G103), and Game Programming (T163programs.


Students and faculty in these programs will be given special borrowing privileges to access these items. Items are to be checked out for home use.

If you are currently a registered student in one of these programs but do not have access to the video game collection, please contact your program coordinator.


As of Fall 2019, the collection is currently being relocated to the Daniels Library. 

 

Loan Periods

Loans Period

Please refer to the chart below to determine loan period

Library borrowers will be issued a due date receipt after checking out equipment. 

Loan period:

Item

Loan Period

Renewals

Holds

Maximum # of items

Games

 14 days

No

No

1

Game Consoles Kit

3 days (Items MUST be returned to the Circulation desk at 341 King

No

No

1

Nintendo Switch controller

3 days

No

No

1

Xbox One Wireless Controller

3 days

No

No

1

PS4 Controller

3 days

No

No

1

 

Any currently registered student or faculty in the  Game Development (G109), Game Arts (G119), Game Design (G405), Interactive Media Management (G412), Concept Art for Entertainment program (G407), Interaction Design (G103), and Game Programming (T163programs may borrow 1 game at a time for up to 14 days.

Board games may be borrowed by interaction design students in additon to the students in programs above.

There are no renewals of these items.

To ensure fair access, please observe the following guidelines:

• Only students and faculty in the  Game Development (G109), Game Arts (G119), Game Design (G405), Interactive Media Management (G412), Concept Art for Entertainment program (G407), Interaction Design (G103), and Game Programming (T163programs may borrow these items.

• Limitation of items per student: 1 item (no holds, no renewals).

• Loan period: 2 weeks (14 days).

• Photo ID required to check out materials.

Overdue Fines

Consoles $25.00 per day to a maximum of $250. 

Controllers $1.00 per day to a maximum of $50.

Overdue fines for games, $0.25 per day. ** Failure to return in a timely manner will result in suspension of library privileges.

**Failure to return in a timely manner will result in suspension of library privileges.

Library borrowing privileges are suspended when outstanding fines exceed $10.00. Transcripts may be withheld until the student record is cleared.

Overdue notices will be sent to your George Brown College email account.

Lost Items

Library items are considered lost if:

The item has been reported lost by the borrower

The item is overdue and has reached the maximum overdue fine amount

The item is overdue at the end of the semester (even if the item has reached the maximum overdue fine amount).

Replacement Cost

  1. The library charges a replacement cost plus processing fee for each item lost.  The maximum replacement cost will be the market value of the damaged or lost item.  The cost will be determined by the Library.


• Students and faculty not registered in the Game Development (G109), Game Arts (G119), Game Design (G405), Interactive Media Management (G412), Concept Art for Entertainment program (G407), Interaction Design (G103), and Game Programming (T163programs may not borrow items in this collection.