Gemmology (F105)

Provides a gemmologist, gemmological (or mineralogical) student, or interested party with an overview of the synthesis of diamonds. This book begins with the history of diamond synthesis, and the theories on which much of the early work was based, before discussing the principles on which the modern processes rely.

Gem and Ornamental Materials of Organic Origin is a unique source of information on this neglected topic of gemology. Presented in full color, with over 200 stunning photographs for ease of reference and identification, the book allows material to be recognized by sight, avoiding the usual gemological tests, which can ruin them. A comprehensive list of materials is included and each is presented with details or its origin, availability and conservation status. Examples of the uses of each material are given, along with a brief history of their use.

Since it was first published in 1962 'Gems' has become universally recognised as the most comprehensive and authoritative treatise on gem materials in the English language. This sixth edition, has been revised for relevance to today's practice and includes an expanded encyclopedic section. 'Gems' caters for the professional jeweller and student gemmologist, collector of gems and those with an insatiable interest in precious stones. * Descriptive account of all gem materials used as ornament, along with their synthetic counterparts * Contributing authors, at the top of the field, bring the latest developments to the reader * The only encyclopedic reference for gemstones

This handbook is the most comprehensive compilation of data on the optical properties of diamond ever written. It presents a multitude of data previously for the first time in English. The author provides quick access to the most comprehensive information on all aspects of the field.

The material found in Diamond Deposits provides a foundation for discussing some of the most fundamental problems of theoretical geology, such as the timing of geological events and the development of cratonic areas. Written for geologists and diamond prospectors, this book provides a general overview of diamond exploration and exploitation. The text covers how to find, recognize, and evaluate the potential of diamond deposits. The book offers examples of these processes by reviewing the history of important diamond discoveries in the western United States and Russia. Diamond Deposits primarily focuses on the geology of common diamond host rocks, including kimberlite and lamproite. It also reviews the occurrence of some unconventional host rocks that have produced notable diamond discoveries.

This bestseller helps readers master basic skills with its clear and easy-to-follow presentation of key concepts. It focuses on the important ideas of organic chemistry and backs them up with illustrations and challenging problems. The authors' acclaimed writing style makes this thorny subject easy to grasp and comprehend. The new edition brings the book to the forefront of the latest research developments. The book includes the ORGANIC VIEW CD, a browser-based study tool with animated 3D graphics, Drill/Review sections, and Practice Tests "The Chemistry of..." boxes throughout highlight biological and other real-world chemistry This edition is completely up-to-date with the latest developments in the field