Research Guides: Community Worker: Databases

Key Databases

Search Articles, Books and More (above) is usually the best place to start your research. However it doesn't actually have everything. Try these databases for more resources on your topic:

Sage Premier
Includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, psychology, science & technology and medicine.
Canadian Major Dailies (formerly Canadian Newsstand) (PROQUEST) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to major Canadian newspapers, including the Globe and Mail, the National Post, and the Toronto Star.
CBCA Complete (PROQUEST) This link opens in a new window
Search the combined Canadian Business and Current Affairs databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Current Events, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference.

CYC-net
CYC-Net's main objectives are (primarily through the internet and electronic media) to promote and facilitate reading, learning, information sharing, discussion, networking, support and accountable practice amongst all who work with children, youth and families in difficulty.
CYC-Net is free to all its users. However, it is only through subscriptions received by universities, colleges, training facilities, service organisations and agencies, associations and individuals that CYC-Net is able to provide a valuable resource serving the learning needs of the wider Child and Youth Care community. Those who provide a voluntary contribution/subscription are able to participate more fully in CYC-Net's affairs (e.g. nominate Board members, vote at meetings, receive reports, etc.)
GALE
Search all or selections of Gale databases with access to various resources.

Grant Connect
Access to funding and grant information from over 2,200 foundations and 140 Canadian corporations. Also includes application information.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada produces statistics on Canada's people, economy, and industries. It track trends and offers authoritative data on labour, demographics, cost of living, census data, industry, and much more!

Community Worker

Find books, articles, and more...