Company Information - Library Databases - Mechanical Engineering - Workplace Preparedness

Company Information - Library Databases

We have three databases that allow you to create a list of companies in your field.

Nexis Uni (+ QuickLaw) This link opens in a new window
Access to 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference sources. Now includes QuickLaw with access to Canadian Court cases, tribunals and arbitration decisions.

Company Snapshot includes information on revenue, executives, mergers & acquisitions, legal cases, news articles.

Create a Company List - (PDF - Step-by-step instructions on creating a company list in Nexis Uni)
Compile a list by SIC
- Major Group 37: Transportation Equipment
  - 371: Motor Vehicles and Equipment
  - 372: Aircraft and Parts
  - 376: Guided Missiles, Space Vehicles, Parts

Scott’s Ontario Directories This link opens in a new window
Basic Company contact information
Compile a list by NAICS code:
31-33 Manufacturing
333 Machinery Manufacturing
3321 Forging and Stamping
3335 Metalworking Machinery Manufacturing
336 Transportation Equipment Manufacturing
3361 Motor Vehicle Manufacturing
3362 Motor Vehicle Body and Trailer Manufacturing
3363 Motor Vehicle Parts Manufacturing

SimplyAnalytics
- Sign in as Guest
- Create a new project
- Search by location (e.g., City, Census Metropolitan Area, Postal Code)
- Click "Create Project Without Seed Variables"
- Click CREATE under the Map section
- Go to the "Business" tab on top left-hand side of the page
- Browse by Business Category using NAICS or SIC code
- Click on the Map button on the right-hand side to see a map of businesses
- Click on the Businesses button on the right-hand side to see a list of businesses
- Go to the EXPORT button at the top right-hand side of the page to download the list to Excel

There are several databases where you might find articles on your company.

Start with Canadian Sources + to simultaneously search CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies.

CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)
- Contains Canadian construction trades journals, Canadian business magazines, and newspapers which contain articles on construction companies across Canada.
Canadian Major Dailies
- Newspapers from across Canada which contain stories on construction projects and companies.

Next, search the main search box below. This will allow you to simultaneously search a number of databases including Business Sources Complete.

The following videos can help you search our CanadianSources+ databases and find trade publications in our collection.

Company Reports can be helpful when preparing your company presentation. They provide an overview of how the company is performing financially, recent company activity, company history, executive profiles and often a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).

Nexis Uni (+ QuickLaw) This link opens in a new window
Access to 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference sources. Now includes QuickLaw with access to Canadian Court cases, tribunals and arbitration decisions.

Company/Analyst Reports on public and private Canadian companies.

Under Guided Search, select Company Info, type in the name of your company and type of report (eg SWOT), select all company information from the dropdown and click the Search button.

Nexis uni company info search

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles on all aspects of business and management. Also includes company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses and market, country and product reports.

Company Reports on publicly traded Canadian companies.

Search on the company name or browse alphabetically using the Company Report tab on the right.

Sample Company Report Citation:

Producer of Report. (year, month day). Company Name: Type of Report. Retrieved from database name.

MarketLine. (2014, May 9). Starbucks Corporation: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

E-mail Andrea Hall if you need additional help with researching your company.