Setting the Table by
The bestselling business book from award-winning restauranteur Danny Meyer, of Union Square Cafe, Gramercy Tavern, and Shake Shack Seventy-five percent of all new restaurant ventures fail, and of those that do stick around, only a few become icons. Danny Meyer started Union Square Cafe when he was 27, with a good idea and hopeful investors. He is now the co-owner of a restaurant empire. How did he do it? How did he beat the odds in one of the toughest trades around?
Four Seasons: the story of a business philosophy by
How did a child of immigrants, starting with no background in the hotel business, create the world's most admired and successful hotel chain? And how has Four Seasons grown dramatically, over nearly a half century, without losing its focus on exceptional quality and unparalleled service? Isadore Sharp answers these questions in his engaging memoir, which doubles as a powerful guide for leaders in any field. He recalls the surprising history of his company, starting with its roots in his father's small construction business, which Sharp joined after getting a degree in architecture. Shifting into hotels wasn't easy, and he learned by trial and error. His breakthrough was a vision for a new kind of hotel, featuring superior design, top-quality amenities, and, above all, a deep commitment to service. Sharp realized that customers would gladly pay extra for a 'home away from home' experience. But that would be possible only if everyone - from managers and supervisors to bellmen, servers,
The New Gold Standard: 5 Leadership Principles for Creating a Legendary Customer Experience Courtesy of the Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company by
Discover the secrets of world-class leadership! When it comes to refined service and exquisite hospitality, one name stands high above the rest: The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. With ceaseless attention to every luxurious detail, the company has set the bar for creating memorable customer experiences in world-class settings. Now, for the first time, the leadership secrets behind the company's extraordinary success are revealed. The New Gold Standard takes you on an exclusive tour behind the scenes of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. Granted unprecedented access to the company's executives, staff, and its award-winning Leadership Center training facilities, bestselling author Joseph Michelli explored every level of leadership within the organization. He emerged with the key principles leaders at any company can use to provide a customer experience unlike any other, such as: Understanding the ever-evolving needs of customers Empowering employees by treating them with the utmost respect Anticipating customers' unexpressed needs and concerns Developing and conducting an unsurpassed training regimen Sharing engaging stories from the company's employees--from the corporate office and hotels around the globe--Michelli describes the innovative methods the company uses to create peerless guest experiences and explains how it constantly hones and improves them. The New Gold Standard weaves practical how-to advice, proven leadership tools, and the wisdom of experts to help you create and embed superior customer-service principles, processes, and practices in your own organization.
Millennials Who Manage: How to Overcome Workplace Perceptions and Become a Great Leader by
Millennials will be our next great generation of leaders. Today, however, as they move into management, they face difficult practical challenges. Millennials Who Manage is a complete, research-based guide to overcoming those challenges, delivering outstanding performance, and getting recognized for it. Reflecting their extensive enterprise consulting and research experience, the authors show how to transition more smoothly into management. You will gain insight into earning the respect of peers and "elders" that you are now leading, as well as your manager. You will discover you can achieve success your way, without compromising who you are or becoming someone you are not. You'll learn management skills that arguably come naturally to Millennials. Prepare to explore what really motivates Boomers and Xers whose formative experiences were different from yours and how to guide them beyond today's unhelpful stereotypes about Millennials. You'll also master the specific management and leadership competencies you need most right now--whether you're moving into frontline management or the CEO's office! Generational workplace differences: facts and fictions Separating myth from reality in multi-generational workplaces Overcoming reverse ageism and "stereotype threat" Getting past the unfair generalizations that hold you back Developing your personal leadership perspective... ...and successfully putting it into practice Mastering the 7 toughest challenges that come with transitioning to management Understand new relational dynamics, unlock motivation, take responsibility for the work of others, establish accountability, get heard, and be taken seriously
A Meeting Planner's Guide to Catered Events by
Food and beverage is the largest portion of a meeting budget, but most meeting and event planners have no formal background in purchasing and managing this expense. This guide helps event, meeting, and convention planners save money, negotiate contracts, deal with catering managers, and successfully manage the food and beverage aspect of their event. Covering everything from styles of service to on-premise and off-premise considerations to food and beverage contract negotiation, this book is a comprehensive and accessible reference for event planners and students.
Introduction to catering: ingredients for success by
This practical, hands-on book is written by three food service professionals who share their secrets to successful catering. The authors emphasize the importance of becoming an efficient and effective caterer. They share the tips and tricks that distinguish the novice from the professional caterer. This book includes informative anecdotes and vignettes that enable readers to learn from the mistakes of others. This valuable resource is an important tool that caterers will want to keep handy for easy reference.
Accounting for the hospitality industry by
This book provides readers with a balanced mix of accounting theory and practice, tailored to the special needs of the hospitality service industries. It gives attention to the unique accounting and operating characteristics that are of major concern to managers in the hospitality industry in the new millennium. In simple, straightforward language, this book helps managers in the hospitality
Canadian hospitality law : liabilities and risk by 
Customer Service: a Practical Approach by
The market-leader, Customer Service: A Practical Approach, Sixth Edition,goes beyond providing reasons why customer service is important to defining proven methods for creating customer service excellence. Using a hands-on approach, it covers a wide range of knowledge and skills and offers an extensive collection of activities to enliven and invigorate any lecture. This edition features a revised chapter on technology, new Ethics in Action exercises and coverage of the latest trends in the customer service field. Focusing on problem solving, communication strategies and technology, this classic text pinpoints the skills needed to improve and sustain customer satisfaction and business relationships.
Service Quality Management in Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure by 
Selling Destinations: Geography for the Travel Professional by
This special 5th Canadian edition of the bestselling Selling Destinations: Geography for the Travel Professional offers a fresh approach to destination geography. It argues that geography provides the foundation for the entire travel, tourism and hospitality industries and that travel professionals need to know not just the facts about places, but also how to sell them to the traveling public.Selling Destinations features:? In-depth exploration of the nations, regions and cities that Canadian travelers favor most.? Sales and marketing factors, such as visitor profiles, their preferences, motivations and misgivings, as well as other sales and marketing considerations.? Hundreds of photos, maps, charts and graphics that help organize the content for the reader and make geography come alive.? Detailed information on climate, attractions, transportation, sample itineraries and cultural patterns.? Mini case studies, map exercises and creative activities that pull together each chapter's content to create an interactive and entertaining learning experience.? A style that is relaxed, informal and enjoyable, not unlike a leisure vacation itself.
Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism (Print Book) by
For courses in Hospitality Marketing, Tourism Marketing, Restaurant Marketing, or Hotel Marketing. Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, 7/e is the definitive source for hospitality marketing. Taking an integrative approach, this highly visual, four-color book discusses hospitality marketing from a team perspective, examining each hospitality department and its role in the marketing mechanism. These best-selling authors are known as leading marketing educators and their book, a global phenomenon, is the leading resource on hospitality and tourism marketing. The Seventh Edition of this popular book includes new and updated coverage of social media, destination tourism and other current industry trends, authentic industry cases, and hands-on application activities.
Marketing for tourism and hospitality : a Canadian perspective by
Tourism is a powerful economic force providing employment, foreign exchange, income, and tax revenue for countries all over the world. Tourism is also an increasingly important sector of the Canadian economy. In 2006, Canada attracted over 18 million international overnight visitors who spent nearly $13 billion, making tourism one of Canada's top foreign-exchange earners. Over 10 percent of Canada's labour force works in tourism, accounting for approximately 1.7 million jobs!Marketing for Tourism and Hospitality: A Canadian Perspective, Second Edition continues to be the only text that deals specifically with marketing for tourism and hospitality in Canada. This unique focus makes this very readable text suitable for both academics and marketing practitioners from all sectors of the tourism industry: ranging from travel and destination organizations, to transportation and various other product suppliers
Special Events: a new generation and the next frontier by
"This book chronicles and champions the development, changes, and challenges faced by the global celebrations industry for event planners. New interviews are included with experienced event leaders to give a better understanding of the field. New chapters are included on green events, corporate social responsibility, and theoretical case studies. Event measurement, evaluation, and assessment topics are integrated throughout a number of the chapters. Over 200 new Web resources and appendices show how to save money, time, and improve the overall quality of an event. Event planners will also learn how technology may be harnessed to help them improve their events' financial, quality, environmental and other strategic outcomes."--Provided by publisher.
Risk Management for Events by
Risk Management for Events is a comprehensive and practical guide that supports academic and professional development programs to prepare individuals for entering or advancement in the international events industry. Events of all types are produced every day for all manner of purposes, attracting all sorts of people. Creating and managing the environment in which these people will gather carries with it awesome responsibilities -- legal, ethical, and financial. To provide a safe and secure setting and to operate in a manner that ensures that the hosting organizations or individuals achieve their objectives in a proper and profitable way, event risk management must be fully integrated into all event plans and throughout the event management process. This new edition has been revised and updated to include: New case studies and examples from a wide range of international destinations and different types of events. Updated statistics and data throughout. New content on emergent risk, on-site decision-making, terrorism, and public health, including the COVID-19 pandemic, and corruption within events. Updated online material, including a case study archive and weblinks to useful resources. This will be an invaluable resource for all those studying events management.
Start and Run an Event-Planning Business by
Make money planning events with style and impress your clients -- from weddings to meetings! Start & Run an Event Planning Business shows you how to start and run a successful enterprise by planning events of all kinds -- from weddings and private parties to corporate events, meetings, conferences, and sporting events. This book will show you not only how to organize events, but also how to run the business. Keeping track of all the many details involved in putting on a successful event is easy when you have the checklists, schedules, tips, and advice of experts. Written in the step-by-step style that has made the Start & Run series the best of its kind, this indispensable guide will help you make any event -- and event-planning business -- a resounding success.
Start and Run a Meeting and Event Planning Business by
Make money planning events with style and impress your clients. 'Start & Run a Meeting and Event Planning Business' shows would-be business owners how to start and run a successful enterprise planning events of all kinds from weddings and private parties to corporate events, meetings, conferences, and sporting events. This book will show you not only how to organize events, but also how to run the business itself. Keeping track of all the many details involved in putting on a successful event is easy when you have the checklists, schedules, tips, and experts advice you need. Written in the step-by-step style that has made the Start & Run series the best of its kind, this indispensable guide will help readers to make any event and event planning business a resounding success."
Professional Event Coordination by
A must-have resource for every event planner, manager, caterer, and student, this in-depth guide covers all aspects of the event planning process. Written by expert event manager Julia Rutherford Silvers, the book outlines the tools and strategies to effectively procure, organize, implement, and monitor all the products, vendors, and services needed to bring an event to life. Enhanced throughout with useful checklists, tables, and sample forms, the book includes chapters on everything from Developing the Event Site and Providing the Event Infrastructure to Ancillary Programs, Food and Beverage Operations, and Vendors and Volunteers. The practical information is supplemented throughout the book by "On-Site Insights" featuring real-world examples from successful event planners, as well as chapter objectives, discussion questions, and exercises in professional event coordination to help readers build key skills and test their knowledge. From weddings to corporate conferences and from intimate events to huge festivals, Professional Event Coordination is a versatile guide to planning events of all kinds.
Special Event Production: the Process by
This must-have guide to special event production looks deep behind the scenes of an event and dissects what it is that creates success. It analyses the process - the planning and business aspects - to provide a unique guide to producing a variety of events from weddings to festivals. It explains thoroughly budgeting and resource concerns, planning and cost projections and the role of the well-crafted proposal. This new edition has been significantly updated to include: Three new chapters: Event Design, Information Technology and Sustainability and Event Production. Updated and new case studies from USA, Canada , India, Russia and Malaysia. New Industry Voice feature, including an interview with industry experts from around the world commenting on their experiences of event planning and production. New content on: technology, volunteers, venues and PR and marketing. Enhanced online resources including: PowerPoint lecture slides, checklists, glossaries, additional questions and challenges, web links, sample contract templates, production schedule templates, and evaluation forms. Incorporating pedagogical features, this easy-to-read book is packed with photographs, diagrams, flow charts, checklists, sample forms, and real-life examples. It steps through the whole process from the creativity and proposal at the outset, to budgeting, the contract and risk management with event follow up to conclude. A must have resource for event planners, managers, caterers and students. This text is part two of a two book set - also available is Special Events Production: The Resources (978-1-138-78567-0). This book offers an in - depth guide to the technical aspects of a big event such as lighting and audio systems, visual presentation technology, special effects and temporary outdoor venues.
The Volunteer Management Handbook by
Completely revised and expanded, the ultimate guide to starting--and keeping--an active and effective volunteer program Drawing on the experience and expertise of recognized authorities on nonprofit organizations, The Volunteer Management Handbook, Second Edition is the only guide you need for establishing and maintaining an active and effective volunteer program. Written by nonprofit leader Tracy Connors, this handy reference offers practical guidance on such essential issues as motivating people to volunteer their time and services, recruitment, and more. Up-to-date and practical, this is the essential guide to managing your nonprofit's most important resource: its volunteers. Now covers volunteer demographics, volunteer program leaders and managers, policy making and implementation, planning and staff analysis, recruiting, interviewing and screening volunteers, orienting and training volunteers, and much more Up-to-date, practical guidance for the major areas of volunteer leadership and management Explores volunteers and the law: liabilities, immunities, and responsibilities Designed to help nonprofit organizations survive and thrive, The Volunteer Management Handbook, Second Edition is an indispensable reference that is unsurpassed in both the breadth and depth of its coverage.
Professional Event Coordination by
A must-have resource for every event planner, manager, caterer, and student, this in-depth guide covers all aspects of the event planning process. Written by expert event manager Julia Rutherford Silvers, the book outlines the tools and strategies to effectively procure, organize, implement, and monitor all the products, vendors, and services needed to bring an event to life. Enhanced throughout with useful checklists, tables, and sample forms, the book includes chapters on everything from Developing the Event Site and Providing the Event Infrastructure to Ancillary Programs, Food and Beverage Operations, and Vendors and Volunteers. The practical information is supplemented throughout the book by "On-Site Insights" featuring real-world examples from successful event planners, as well as chapter objectives, discussion questions, and exercises in professional event coordination to help readers build key skills and test their knowledge. From weddings to corporate conferences and from intimate events to huge festivals, Professional Event Coordination is a versatile guide to planning events of all kinds.