Case Studies - Food and Beverage Management – Restaurant Management

Featured Video

New Chefs on the Block: Two Chefs Struggle to Open Their First Restaurants

2016; 1hr 36min

An intimate, multi-year portrait of two chefs and their staffs in Washington, DC who struggle to open and maintain their first restaurants. The film begins with each restaurant under construction and follows them through their first year of business.

Case Studies Online

Carlson Companies Inc.
Carlson’s business family includes T.G.I. Friday’s and Pick Up Stix restaurants
How should Niagara region respond to the challenges it faces and find solutions to preserve and develop its tourism industry?

Search for More Case Studies

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles on all aspects of business and management. Also includes company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses and market, country and product reports.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Emerald Tourism and Hospitality Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of online journals on the topic of tourism and hospitality, with particlular focus on contemporary management disciplines.

Teamwork Skills - Business Case Studies
All of the sites provided here will help you find free business cases online.
Tourism and Hospitality Case Studies - Acadia Institute

Streaming Video Case Studies

Streaming videos available through GBC Library that you can view from home by logging in with your student number and Stu-View password. Search the Kanopy database for more case studies.

Ramen Heads
RAMEN HEADS (2017) follows Osamu Tomita, Japan’s reigning king of ramen, as he reveals every single step of his obsessive approach to creating the perfect bowl of noodles. He is relentless in his search for the highest-quality ingredients, as are his competitors.
The Restaurateur: Danny Meyer's Empire of New York's Top Restaurants
This intimate 2010 documentary follows Danny Meyer, one of America's preeminent restaurant owners, over a 12 year span as he struggles to open not one but two ambitious restaurants next to New York's Madison Square Park.
Free Way: Camí Lliure
Free Way: Camí Lliure (2020) goes deep into the mind, heart and creativity of 2-starred chef Raül Balam who, for several years, was immersed in the world of drug addiction and finally succeeded in standing up and being the person that he is today. The film, shows part of his journey since the closure of his mother’s, Carme Ruscalleda, 3 Michelin-starred restaurant.

Food and Beverage Management – Restaurant Management

Case Studies Guide

Print Case Studies

Featured Video

New Chefs on the Block: Two Chefs Struggle to Open Their First Restaurants

Case Studies Online

Streaming Video Case Studies