Use the standard APA guidelines for formatting author, date, title and source information. If the author and the source (a publisher, agency, or database) are the same do not list them twice. List them only as an author.
Only include the name of the database as a source if the database publishes original, proprietary content that is not available elsewhere. If a report can be accessed from multiple sources, the database does not need to be listed. Learn more about including database information in APA citations.
A DOI, if available, is preferable to a URL. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific, provide the URL of the database home page or login page instead of the URL for the work. Learn more about using DOIs and URLs in your APA citations.
If you are missing information for any parts of the citation, follow the APA guidelines for Missing Reference Information.
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. URL
Example - Company profile:
MarketLine. (2020, June 24). United Airlines Holdings Inc [Company profile]. https://marketline.com/
Example - Industry profile:
MarketLine. (2022, November). Airlines in Canada [Industry profile]. https://marketline.com/
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Marketline, 2020)
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month). Title (report number). Database. URL
Example:
Simon, B. (2023, November). Renewable power in Canada (Canada 22111BCA). IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com/
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Simon, 2023)
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database. URL
Example - Country Report:
Euromonitor. (2023, May). Pet care in New Zealand [Country report]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/our-expertise/passport
Example - PEST Analysis:
Euromonitor. (2023, October 6). PEST Analysis: Georgia [Country report]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/our-expertise/passport
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Euromonitor, 2023)
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database. URL
Example - Full Statista Report:
Statista. (2023, May). Artificial intelligence (AI) [Report]. https://www.statista.com
Example - Single Chart or Graph:
Thormundsson, B. (2023, October 26). Artificial Intelligence (AI) market size/revenue comparisons 2018-2030 [Graph]. Statista. https://www.statista.com
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Statista, 2023)
(Thormundsson, 2023)
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database. URL
Example:
Hansen, K. (2023, November 28). Men's & Women's Footwear – US – 2023 [Report]. Mintel. https://www.mintel.com/
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Hansen, 2023)
Note: A DOI for each data set is provided at the bottom of the page.
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title (version number) [Description]. Database. URL
Example:
Statistics Canada. (2023, December 6). Bank of Canada, money market and other interest rates (Table 10-10-0139-01) [Data Set]. https://doi.org/10.25318/1010013901-eng
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Statistics Canada, 2023)
Note: If no title exists, create a brief description of the data including any relevant or distinguishing characteristics, such as time period covered in the data
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database/source. URL
Example:
Trade Data Online. (2022, July 28). [Canadian total exports, Total for all industries, Canada, Distribution by state (U.S.), Latest 5 years] [Data Set]. Statistics Canada. https://ised-isde.canada.ca/site/trade-data-online/en
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Trade Data Online, 2023)
Note: The publication number can be found at the bottom of the last page of the report.
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month). Title (Publication number). Database. URL
Example:
Leman, D., Marcil, L., & Thibault, T. (2023, December 7). HR metrics benchmarking 2023: The strategic importance of succession
planning (Publication 12363). The Conference Board of Canada. https://www.conferenceboard.ca/
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Leman et al., 2023)
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month). Title of Directory Entry. Database. URL
Example:
Scott's Directories. (n.d.). Bait Tackle & More. https://www.scottsdirectories.com/
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Scott's Directories, n.d.)
Note: Since the crosstables generated in Vividata do not have titles, create a description in square brackets to describe the data.
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database/source. URL
Example:
Vividata. (2023, June 23). [Time spent listening to podcasts In a typical day, by age group] [Data set]. https://vividata.ca
In-Text Paraphrase:
(Vividata, 2023)
Note: Since the data sets and maps generated in SimplyAnalytics do not have titles, create a description in square brackets to describe the data. To find the source of the data, click on a variable in the comparison table view to "View Metadata"
Template:
Last Name, Initial. (Year, Month Date). Title [Description]. Database/source. URL
Data Set Example:
SimplyAnalytics. (2022). [Total population, median household income, household population 30 to 34 in Toronto Census Metro Area] [Data set]. Environics. https://app.simplyanalytics.com
Business List Example:
SimplyAnalytics. (2023). [NAICS = 721191, Bed-and-Breakfast Inns in Toronto Census Metro Area] [Data set]. https://app.simplyanalytics.com
In-Text Paraphrase:
(SimplyAnalytics, 2023)