The Microbrewery Handbook : craft, brew, & build your own microbrewery success by
An unprecedented guide to successfully start or grow a microbrewery or craft brewery in a much more competitive world. Opening a microbrewery starts with, of course, making great beer. But that is just the beginning. Today's sophisticated patrons are offered an ever-increasing array of options. It's so much more than beer nowadays. Yes, great beer is essential, but to attract and hold on to a loyal customer base, you must create a sense of place. Do your research. Understand financing and cash flow. Know how to measure your success. A successful, well-run microbrewery knows how to hire the right employees--employees that will spread word of your business to friends, family, even total strangers, both on and off the clock. Marketing, branding, customer experience; they all matter. There are so many factors that directly and indirectly contribute to success, it may at times be overwhelming. The Microbrewery Handbook offers an extraordinary look at all of the facets of success in the industry. No matter if you are thinking about starting a new venture or are already operating your own microbrewery, this valuable book offers real-world advice and proven strategies to help you thrive in the competitive micro and craft brewing industry. Focused on practical guidance, author D.C. Reeves distills his experience founding Perfect Plain Brewing Company in Pensacola, Florida into an engaging, up-to-date resource for microbrewers everywhere. Clearly showing readers what works in the industry and, just as importantly, what doesn't work, The Microbrewery Handbook: Helps you create unique, memorable experiences for your customers, your employees, and your city Includes coverage of the financial aspects of building and growing your business, such as banking, investment, and debt Shows you how to transform your business into a community anchor Offers suggestions on building an entire culture around your brand that promotes positivity and attracts the right kind of attention Shares personal stories and advice from a successful microbrew entrepreneur Includes interviews and insight with industry experts as well as owners of some of the nation's elite craft breweries including Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head, Jeffrey Stuffings of Jester King, and Doug Resier of Burial Brewing The Microbrewery Handbook: Craft, Brew, and Build Your Own Microbrewery Success is an indispensable, first-of-its-kind book for anyone in the micro and craft brewing industry.
Sake and the Wines of Japan by
Welcometo the 'new sake'. Until recently it had seemed that the industry was indecline but now the market for premium sake has seen sales flourish both withinJapan and worldwide. Many misconceptions surround Japan's nationaldrink, from how it is brewed to the relative merits of ginjo, junmaiand namatypes and from the ideal servingtemperature to its ageing potential. Anthony Rose's new book aims to bringclarity to the confusion surrounding this fascinating wine. Beginning with sake's long history, Rose takesus on a journey across the centuries to explain how the industry evolved. Sakehas been brewed in Japan for more than 2000 years, though the process onlyreally took off during the Edo period (in Western terms, between the seventeenthand nineteenth centuries). The wine's long history also makes it culturallyimportant and no study of sake would be complete without an exploration of itsrole in ceremony and religion, and the myths, legends and stories that surroundit. Rose begins his technical notes on sake withan explanation of the different grades of sake. Labelling rules and regulationsare given due consideration in order to enable readers to understand the labelson their bottles before the discussion moves on to an analysis of sake'sflavours. The production process and the structure of anindustry that includes 1200 breweries across 47 prefectures, from the small andartisan to major commercial concerns, are covered in detail. The part played byclimate and geography in sake's flavours is explored along with aninvestigation into the differences imparted by the water, rice, yeast and koji(fermentation mould) used. Rosedevotes an entire section to profiling the most important breweries across themain sake-producing regions and also includes details on the more recentlyemerged non-Japanese producers. With thorough appendices for those who want todelve further into the statistics this is an essential addition to the libraryof the serious wine enthusiast or student.
Food and Beverage Management by
This fifth edition of the best-selling textbook Food and Beverage Management for the hospitality, tourism & event industries has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within education and the hospitality, tourism and leisure industries. In particular the consideration of the foods service cycle and includes greater account being taken of the management of foodservice operations within a broader business framework. It recognises that operations are not an end in themselves and food and beverage management is as much about the management of the business as it is about specific aspects of the food and beverage product. With a clear, user friendly, structure based on the Food Service Cycle, this fifth edition of Food and Beverage Management has been designed to meet the needs of those undertaking a range of educational programmes, from diploma to undergraduate levels, as well as supporting in-company training programmes.
Use the links below to search for relevant library resources on these topics.
Includes 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines, articles, recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
Industry journals in the field of hospitality and tourism, including information on: cultural aspects of travel, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Full text access to Canadian magazines and journals on business, management and related topics.