Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Fashion and Jewellery Resources

Exhibition (creator credited)

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Artist, A. (start and end dates of exhibition). Title of exhibition. Name of museum, Location of
museum.

EXAMPLE

Balenciaga, C. (June 15, 2018-October 14, 2018). Balenciaga: Master of couture. McCord
Museum, Montreal, Quebec.

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Name of exhibition, year[s] of exhibition)

EXAMPLES

(Balenciaga: Master of couture, 2018)

 


Exhibition (creator uncredited)

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Title of exhibition. (start and end dates of exhibition). Name of museum, Location of museum.

EXAMPLE

Opulent fashion in the church. (September 24, 2016-October 1, 2017). The Cleveland Museum of Art, Ohio.

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Name of exhibition, year[s] of exhibition)

EXAMPLE

(Opulent fashion in the church, 2016-2017)

 


Online collection

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Creator, C. (item’s creation date). Name of item.  Name of museum: item URL

EXAMPLES

Stuart, S. & Holah, D. (1985). Harriet (dress). Victoria and Albert Museum: http://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O83810/harriet-dress-stuart-stevie/

George G. Gales & Co. (c. 1900). Boots.  McCord Museum: http://collections.musee-mccord.qc.ca/en/collection/artifacts/M973.1.63.1-2 

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Creator’s last name/Manufacturer’s name, year of item’s creation OR n.d. if date unknown)

EXAMPLES

(Stuart & Holah, 1985)

(George G. Gales & Co., c. 1900)

 


Photograph taken by you

 

*do not include UNPUBLISHED IMAGES in your reference list

*put information in caption underneath image

Caption

TEMPLATE

Figure #. Title or description of item. Name of Museum, Location of museum. Copyright year by photographer.

EXAMPLE
 

 

moccasins made of moose hide, felt with a crepe sole

 

Figure 11. Moccasins made of moose hide, felt with a crepe sole. Bata Shoe Museum, Toronto. Copyright 2019 by Bill McAskill.

 


Physical collection (creator credited)

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Creator, C. (item’s creation date). Title or description of item. Name of museum, Location of museum.

EXAMPLE

Westwood, V. (1993). Shoes from “Anglomania” collection. Bata Shoe Museum, Toronto, Ontario.

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Creator’s last name/Manufacturer’s name, year of item’s creation OR n.d. if date unknown)

EXAMPLES

(Westwood, 1993)

 


Physical collection (creator uncredited)

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Title or description of item. (item’s creation date OR n.d. if date unknown). Name of museum, Location of museum.

EXAMPLE

Man's civil uniform coat, wool tabby with silk embroidery, Italy. (1805). Patricia Harris Gallery of Textiles & Costume, Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto.

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Title or description of item, year of item’s creation OR n.d. if date unknown)
*title may be abbreviated

EXAMPLE

(Man’s civil uniform coat, 1805)

 


Wall text or labels

 

Reference list

TEMPLATE

Wall text for Title of item. (Start and end dates of exhibition). Name of exhibition. Name of museum, Location of museum.

EXAMPLE

Wall text for Christian Dior (1905–57), écarlate silk faille afternoon dress, autumn-winter 1955 Haute Couture collection, Y line. (February 2, 2019-July 14, 2019). Christian Dior: Designer of dreams. Victoria and Albert Museum, London, England.

 

In-text citation

TEMPLATE

(Wall text, Name of exhibition, year[s] of exhibition)

EXAMPLE

(Wall text, Christian Dior: Designer of dreams, 2019)