Note: Titles highlighted in red have an e-version.
The Restaurant: from Concept to Operation by 5th edition (2008) also available as an eBook.
Business communication : building critical skills by 
Professional Cooking for Canadian Chefs by 6th edition (2007) also available as an eBook.
On Food and Cooking by
A kitchen classic for nearly 35 years. Hailed by Time magazine as "a minor masterpiece" when it first appeared in 1984, On Food and Cooking is the bible to which food lovers and professional chefs worldwide turn for an understanding of where our foods come from, what exactly they're made of, and how cooking transforms them into something new and delicious. For its twentieth anniversary, Harold McGee prepared a new, fully revised and updated edition of On Food and Cooking. He has rewritten the text almost completely, expanded it by two-thirds, and commissioned more than 100 new illustrations. As compulsively readable and engaging as ever, the new On Food and Cooking provides countless eye-opening insights into food, its preparation, and its enjoyment. On Food and Cooking pioneered the translation of technical food science into cook-friendly kitchen science and helped birth the inventive culinary movement known as "molecular gastronomy." Though other books have been written about kitchen science, On Food and Cooking remains unmatched in the accuracy, clarity, and thoroughness of its explanations, and the intriguing way in which it blends science with the historical evolution of foods and cooking techniques. Among the major themes addressed throughout the new edition are: · Traditional and modern methods of food production and their influences on food quality · The great diversity of methods by which people in different places and times have prepared the same ingredients · Tips for selecting the best ingredients and preparing them successfully · The particular substances that give foods their flavors, and that give us pleasure · Our evolving knowledge of the health benefits and risks of foods On Food and Cooking is an invaluable and monumental compendium of basic information about ingredients, cooking methods, and the pleasures of eating. It will delight and fascinate anyone who has ever cooked, savored, or wondered about food.
A History of Food by
The story of cuisine and the social history of eating is afascinating one, and Maguelonne Toussaint-Samat covers all itsaspects in this classic history. New expanded edition of a classic book, originally published togreat critical acclaim from Raymond Blanc, The New YorkTimes, The Sunday Telegraph, The Independent andmore Tells the story of man?s relationship with food fromearliest times to the present day Includes a new foreword by acclaimed food writer Betty Fussell,a preface by the author, updated bibliography, and a new chapterbringing the story up to date New edition in jacketed hardback, with c.70 illustrations and anew glossy color plate section "Indispensable, and an endlessly fascinating book. The view isstaggering. Not a book to digest at one or several sittings. Savorit instead, one small slice at a time, accompanied by a very finewine." ?New York Times "This book is not only impressive for the knowledge it provides,it is unique in its integration of historical anecdotes and factualdata. It is a marvellous reference to a great many topics." ?Raymond Blanc "Quirky, encyclopaedic, and hugely entertaining. Adelight." ?Sunday Telegraph "It's the best book when you are looking for very clear butinteresting stories. Everything is cross-referenced to anextraordinary degree, which is great because the information givenis so complex and interweaving." ?The Independent "A History of Food is a monumental work, a prodigiousfeat of careful scholarship, patient research and attention todetail. Full of astonishing but insufficiently known facts." ?Times Higher Education Supplement
Available in print (TX353 .T6413 2009) and e-version
How Baking Works by
An up-to-date, comprehensive guide to understanding and applying food science to the bakeshop. The essence of baking is chemistry, and anyone who wants to be a master pastry chef must understand the principles and science that make baking work. This book explains the whys and hows of every chemical reaction, essential ingredient, and technique, revealing the complex mysteries of bread loaves, pastries, and everything in between. Among other additions, How Baking Works, Third Edition includes an all-new chapter on baking for health and wellness, with detailed information on using whole grains, allergy-free baking, and reducing salt, sugar, and fat in a variety of baked goods. This detailed and informative guide features: An introduction to the major ingredient groups, including sweeteners, fats, milk, and leavening agents, and how each affects finished baked goods Practical exercises and experiments that vividly illustrate how different ingredients function Photographs and illustrations that show the science of baking at work End-of-chapter discussion and review questions that reinforce key concepts and test learning For both practicing and future bakers and pastry chefs, How Baking Works, Third Edition offers an unrivaled hands-on learning experience.
Available in print (TX763 .F54 2011) and e-version
In Meat We Trust by
The untold story of how meat made America: a tale of the self-made magnates, pragmatic farmers, and impassioned activists who shaped us into the greatest eaters and providers of meat in history "Ogle is a terrific writer, and she takes us on a brisk romp through two centuries of history, full of deft portraits of entrepreneurs, inventors, promoters and charlatans.... Ms. Ogle believes, all exceptions admitted, that [the food industry] has delivered Americans good value, and her book makes that case in fascinating detail." --Wall Street Journal The moment European settlers arrived in North America, they began transforming the land into a meat-eater's paradise. Long before revolution turned colonies into nation, Americans were eating meat on a scale the Old World could neither imagine nor provide: an average European was lucky to see meat once a week, while even a poor American man put away about two hundred pounds a year. Maureen Ogle guides us from that colonial paradise to the urban meat-making factories of the nineteenth century to the hyperefficient packing plants of the late twentieth century. From Swift and Armour to Tyson, Cargill, and ConAgra. From the 1880s cattle bonanza to 1980s feedlots. From agribusiness to today's "local" meat suppliers and organic countercuisine. Along the way, Ogle explains how Americans' carnivorous demands shaped urban landscapes, midwestern prairies, and western ranges, and how the American system of meat making became a source of both pride and controversy.
Principles of Food, Beverage, and Labor Cost Controls by
Principles of Food, Beverage, and Labor Cost Controls, Ninth Edition has defined the cost control course for generations of students. This new edition continues the tradition of presenting comprehensive yet concise information on cost control that is updated to reflect today's technology driven environment Key terms, key concepts, review questions, and spreadsheet exercises reinforce and support readers' understanding. It also features increased discussion and examples of technology used in food and beverage operations, a running case study, and a separate chapter on menu analysis and engineering.
Available in print (TX911.3.C65 D57 2009) and e-version
Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism by
KEY BENEFIT: Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, 7/eis the definitive source for hospitality marketing. Taking an integrative approach, this highly visual, four-color book discusses hospitality marketing from a team perspective, examining each hospitality department and its role in the marketing mechanism. These best-selling authors are known as leading marketing educators and their book, a global phenomenon, is the leading resource on hospitality and tourism marketing. The Seventh Edition of this popular book includes new and updated coverage of social media, destination tourism and other current industry trends, authentic industry cases, and hands-on application activities. KEY TOPICS: Introduction: Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism; Service Characteristics of Hospitality and Tourism Marketing; The Role of Marketing in Strategic Planning; The Marketing Environment; Managing Customer Information to Gain Customers Insights; Consumer Markets and Consumer Buying Behavior; Organizational Buyer Behavior of Group Market; Customer Driven Marketing Strategy: Creating Value for Target Customers; Designing and Managing Products and Brands: Building Customer Value; Internal Marketing; Pricing: Understanding and Capturing Customer Value; Marketing Channels: Delivering Customer Value; Engaging Customers and Communicating Customer Value; Public Relations and Sales Promotion; Professional Sales; Direct, Online, Social Media and Mobile; Destination Marketing; Next Year's Marketing Plan MARKET: For today's hospitality, restaurant, or tourism professional, or those preparing for a job in these fields. For courses in Hospitality Marketing, Tourism Marketing, Restaurant Marketing, or Hotel Marketing.
Restaurant Marketing for Owners and Managers by
This book is a concise, easy-to-use resource for applying marketing strategies to a foodservice facility, addressing issues like: How do I market my restaurant to prospective customers? Do loyalty programs really work in restaurants? How does the design of my restaurant and menu affect the perception of my operation? This text provides the restaurant/foodservice manager with specific tools tying marketing theory to practice. It also includes checklists and examples that can be applied to the day-to-day operation of their business.
Accounting for the hospitality industry (Fourth Custom edition for George Brown College) by Business Research Methods by 
Management by Menu by
Management by Menu, Fourth Edition presents the menuas the central influence on all foodservice functions. This uniqueapproach clearly outlines both the ?big picture? behinda well-run foodservice operation, and the practical details ofcosting, planning, analyzing, purchasing and production, beveragemanagement, promotion, and service. Both students and workingmanagers will come away from this book able to clearly develop amenu and effectively use it as a management tool. Thoroughly updated with the latest changes affecting theindustry, this Fourth Edition has also been revisedto give readers a more hands-on learning experience. Sample menus,mini-case studies, self-test review questions, and other newfeatures lead to greater interactivity and engagement with thematerial. Coverage of new, helpful technologies is now integratedthroughout the book.
Available in print (TX943 .K68 2008) and e-version
Off-Premise Catering Management by
For nearly two decades, Off-Premise Catering Management has been the trusted resource professional and aspiring caterers turn to for guidance on setting up and managing a successful off-premise catering business. This comprehensive reference covers every aspect of the caterer's job, from menu planning, pricing, food and beverage service, equipment, and packing, delivery, and set-up logistics, to legal considerations, financial management, human resources, marketing, sanitation and safety, and more. This new Third Edition has been completely revised and updated to include the latest industry trends and real-life examples.
Exploring Wine by
Written by the experts who train today's leading chefs and sommeliers, this invaluable guide thoroughly demystifies wine, from the basics of wine production to the nuances of wine lists, wine marketing, and wine service. Revised to reflect the many recent changes in the worldwide wine industry, the Second Edition of this critically acclaimed guide features an expanded American wines section, coverage of the latest developments in Italian wine and the new face of German and South American wine trades, and more.
Remarkable Service by
A professional, highly trained staff offers a competitive advantagefor all foodservice operations, from practical service skills(i.e., setting the table, serving the food, and presenting thecheck) to less tangible service skills (i.e., creating a welcomingspace, exhibiting a helpful attitude, and anticipating customerneeds). This revised edition has been thoroughlyre-organized and updated with all-new photographs and includesnew "Scripts for Service Scenarios" throughout to help serverspractice real-world scenarios.
Macroeconomics : Canada in the global environment by 
Hospitality Management Accounting by
The success of every business in the hospitality industry depends on maximizing revenues and minimizing costs. This Ninth Edition continues its time-tested presentation of fundamental concepts and analytical techniques that are essential to taking control of real-world accounting systems, evaluating current and past operations, and effectively managing finances toward increased profits. It offers hands-on coverage of computer applications and practical decision-making skills to successfully prepare readers for the increasingly complex and competitive hospitality industry.
Available in print (HF5686.H75 J34 2007) and e-version
Hospitality financial management by 
Human resources management in Canada by 
Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism by
Discover the bridge between theory and applied research in the hospitality industry The success of marketing programs is dependent on the knowledge of the trends in the marketplace. Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism is a comprehensive guide that clearly explains analyzing markets, utilizing qualitative and quantitative research methodologies, applying findings to market, development, and marketing strategies for the hospitality industry. The text contains detailed outlines and case studies of several types of research, including feasibility studies, market assessment studies, and site selection studies. Numerous graphic examples and presentation techniques are provided to bridge between theory and applied research with ease. Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism clearly details, all in a single volume, the application of research methodology to the real world, as well as showing how to effectively communicate findings and recommendations. This resource provides dozens of case examples and close attention to clearly explaining all facets of market analysis. Part one discusses research and methodologies, including primary and secondary data and integrative research. Part two explores market analysis and assessment, including marketing assessment for development planning and assessing focal points and intuitive techniques. The third part helps the reader apply their learned research into strategies. The final section explains market analysis planning and communications, including preparing a research-based business review and the effective presentation of research findings. The text provides appendixes of essential data, and a helpful glossary of terms. Topics in Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism include: qualitative market analysis techniques and applications quantitative market research and analysis techniques and applications approaches to organized site selection studies, market studies, and project feasibility studies identification of the processes and sources for key market data for projects, markets, and sites presentation and communication techniques and strategies for market analysis and research findings the relationship of market analysis and research to marketing and development strategy selection and more! Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism is a perfect resource for upper-level undergraduate students and graduate students in hospitality colleges and schools; hotel and restaurant development and market research personnel in hospitality corporations; and market research firms serving the hospitality industry.
Available in print (TX911.3.M3 N93 2007) and e-version
Managerial Communication by
Managerial Communication, Organizational Communication, Business Communication--written and oral at 2-year, 4-year, and Graduate Level Programs.This text examines important ideas about managerial communication--not just for business, but for anyone who must manage. It cuts through the maze of traditional academic structure and addresses basic communication skills that we all need as managers.
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals by
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, 8th Edition is the definitive resource that helps readers use nutritional principles to evaluate and modify menus and recipes and to respond to customers' critical questions and dietary needs. The Eighth Edition includes a discussion of the 2010 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and Choose MyPlate graphic and key content. More photographs, charts, and recipes are used to effectively convey nutrition concepts and applications in a visual manner. From students in culinary arts, hospitality management, and nutrition and dietetics programs to practicing culinary and management professionals, this book will be an invaluable reference.
Essentials of Food Science by
The fourth edition of this classic text continues to use a multidisciplinary approach to expose the non-major food science student to the physical and chemical composition of foods. Additionally, food preparation and processing, food safety, food chemistry, and food technology applications are discussed in this single source of information. The book begins with an Introduction to Food Components, Quality and Water. Next, it addresses Carbohydrates in Food, Starches, Pectins and Gums. Grains: Cereals, Flour, Rice and Pasta, and Vegetables and Fruits follow. Proteins in Food, Meat, Poultry, Fish, and Dry Beans; Eggs and Egg Products, Milk and Milk Products as well as Fats and Oil Products, Food Emulsions and Foams are covered. Next, Sugar, Sweeteners, and Confections and a chapter on Baked Products Batters and Dough is presented. A new section entitled Aspects of Food Processing covers information on Food Preservation, Food Additives, and Food Packaging. Food Safety and Government Regulation of the Food Supply and Labeling are also discussed in this text. As appropriate, each chapter discusses the nutritive value and safety issues of the highlighted commodity. The USDA My Plate is utilized throughout the chapters. A Conclusion, Glossary and further References as well as Bibliography are included in each chapter. Appendices at the end of the book include a variety of current topics such as Biotechnology, Functional Foods, Nutraceuticals, Phytochemicals, Medical Foods, USDA Choosemyplate.gov, Food Label Health Claims, Research Chefs Association certification, Human Nutrigenomics and New Product Development.
eBook
Canadian hospitality law : liabilities and risk by 
Understanding Food Science and Technology by
UNDERSTANDING FOOD SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY is a comprehensive introductory level text that provides thorough up-to-date coverage of a broad range of topics in food science and technology. The text begins with an explanation of the interdisciplinary nature of food science (including biology, engineering, chemistry, and physics) and describes avenues of advanced study in the field. The text explores key food commodities and food composition with an emphasis on the functional properties of each commodity. Three chapters on food chemistry cover the chemical and physical properties of foods through the use of many easy to understand figures, tables, and illustrated concepts. Next the text includes an overview of food law that provides historical perspective as well as the latest information on nutrition labeling and food regulation. Thorough coverage of processing methods in included in all major food commodities as well as a background in microbiology and fermentation, food handling and safety, food contamination, HACCP principles and toxicology. The final chapters cover food engineering concepts and applications, biotechnology and the field of sensory evaluation and food product development with coverage of marketing principles.
Food Packaging by
Food Packaging: Principles and Practice, Third Edition presents a comprehensive and accessible discussion of food packaging principles and their applications. Integrating concepts from chemistry, microbiology, and engineering, it continues in the tradition of its bestselling predecessors and has been completely revised to include new, updated, and
eBook
New Food Product Development by
About the Second Edition: "... a clear and thorough understanding of how the industry as a whole competes, succeeds, and in some instances fails to bring new products to the marketplace.... delivers helpful information in a concise, organized style, bringing together diverse elements of the food industry that are all important for a new product introduction into the marketplace.... [a] should-have reference book for anyone involved in developing new food products working in or with the food industry." --Journal of Product Innovation Management, Vol. 23, No. 3 See what's new in the Third Edition: Examination of modern marketing techniques such as neuromarketing technology, test market modeling software, and social network marketing Exploration of economic challenges and how to do more with less to combat rising food commodity prices and lower carbon footprint Cohesive overview of all aspects of new food product development technologies and advances In-depth review of techniques of new product development and simulated test markets Expanded discussion of the problems specific to product development for the food service industry With new material highlighting the latest trends and science in marketing and electronic communication and their combined effect on market research, New Food Product Development: From Concept to Marketplace, Third Edition, describes stages of development in detail, beginning with sources of ideas and moving through development, final screening, and introduction into the marketplace. Drawing on his extensive experience in new food product development, the author outlines ways a company can organize for new product development and optimize available resources. He focuses on the roles, functions, and interactions of the members of the food product development team, other company departments, and outside resources in the food product development process. A well-grounded, broad perspective in the fundamentals of the new food development process in industry, this new edition of a bestseller clearly delineates cost-effective best practices for bringing new products to market.
eBook
Understanding food : principles and preparation by 
The cook's book: techniques and tips from the world's master chefs by 
Ruhlman's twenty: 20 techniques 100 recipes a cook' s manifesto by 
The Ethical Meat Handbook by
"Leigh will teach you how to raise animals, butcher them, and cook and cure their meat. Even better, she explains what it means and why it matters." --Mark Essig, author of Lesser Beasts Nutrition, environmental impact, ethics, sustainability--it seems like there's no end to the food factors we must consider. At the center of the dietary storm is animal-based agriculture. Was your beef factory farmed or pasture-raised? Did your chicken free range, or was it raised in a battery cage? Have you, in short, met your meat? Most efforts to unravel the complexities of the production and consumption of animals tend to pit meat eaters and vegetarians against each other. In this second edition of The Ethical Meat Handbook, Meredith Leigh argues that by assuming responsibility for the food on our fork and the route by which it gets there, animals can be an optimal source of food, fiber, and environmental management. This new edition covers: Integrating animals into your garden or homestead Step-by-step color photos for beef, pork, lamb, and poultry butchery 100+ recipes for whole-animal cooking Culinary highlights: preparing difficult cuts, sauces, and extras Charcuterie, including history, general science, principles, and tooling up The economics and parameters for responsible meat production Eating diversely may be the most revolutionary action we can take to ensure the sustainability of our food system. The Ethical Meat Handbook, 2nd Edition challenges us to take a hard look at our dietary choices, increase self-reliance, and enjoy delicious food that benefits our health and our planet. "A powerful, positive book about a powerful, positive alternative, engaging us in shaping a new food and agriculture narrative." --Jean-Martin Fortier, author of The Market Gardener
Handbook of Fermented Meat and Poultry by
Fermented meat products have been consumed for centuries in many different parts of the world and constitute one of the most important groups of food. Bacterial cultures are used in their manufacture to preserve the meat and confer particular textures and sensory attributes. Examples of fermented meats include salami, chorizo, pepperoni and saucisson. This fully revised and expanded reference book on meat fermentation presents all the principle fermented meat products and the processing technologies currently used in their manufacture. The 54 chapters of this substantial book are grouped into the following sections: Meat fermentation worldwide: overview, production and principles Raw materials Microbiology and starter cultures for meat fermentation Sensory attributes Product categories: general considerations Semidry-fermented sausages Dry-fermented sausages Other fermented meats and poultry Ripened meat products Biological and chemical safety of fermented meat products Processing sanitation and quality assurance There are five new chapters in the second edition that address the following topics: Smoking and new smoke flavourings; Probiotics; Methodologies for the study of the microbial ecology in fermented sausages; Low sodium in meat products; and Asian sausages. Handbook of Fermented Meat and Poultry, Second Edition provides readers with a full overview of meat fermentation, the role of microorganisms naturally present and/or added as starter cultures, safety aspects and an account of the main chemical, biochemical, physical and microbiological changes that occur in processing and how they affect final quality. Finally, readers will find the main types of worldwide fermented meat products, typically produced in different areas, with the description of their main characteristics.
Meat : a kitchen education by
Like well-honed knives, his books are indispensable tools for any kitchen enthusiast, from the novice home cook, to the aspiring chef, to the seasoned professional. Meat- A Kitchen Education is Peterson's guide for carnivores, with more than 175 recipes and 550 photographs that offer a full range of meat and poultry cuts and preparation techniques, presented with Peterson's unassuming yet authoritative style.
The New Charcuterie Cookbook by
You haven't become a true food-crafter until you've mastered the art of charcuterie, and who better to show you the ropes than nose-to-tail icon, Jamie Bissonnette? The New Charcuterie Cookbook features sausages, confits, salumi, pates and many other dishes for the home cook. With a wide variety of recipes, such as Banana Leaf-Wrapped Porchetta, Lebanese Lamb Sausages, Mexican Chorizo, Traditional Saucisson Sec and Simply Perfect Duck Prosciutto, you'll have a whole chopping block full of fun and different flavors to try that are distinctively Jamie's. Packed with creative and delicious recipes, step-by-step photography and Jamie's insider knowledge and signature charm, this book is the only thing you'll need to make the best charcuterie at home.
Primal Cuts : cooking with America's best butchers by
Butchery was nearly a dead art, until a recent renaissance turned progressive meat cutters into culinary cult idols. Inspired by a locally driven, nose-to-tail approach to butchery, this new wave of meat mavens is redefining the way we buy and cook our beef, pork, fowl, and game.
Pure Charcuterie : the craft & poetry of curing meat at home by
"Combines the worlds of ethical meat production with innovative ingredients and techniques . . . a must-own for amateur and professional butchers alike."--Chef Clark Barlowe, Heirloom Restaurant, Charlotte, NC Cured meat products arose from the need for preservation, in a time when cooking and refrigeration were not always available. Today, charcuterie is an embodiment of art in the kitchen, combining precision, balance, patience, and creativity; an economy of ingredients, as poetry is an economy of words. The confluence of these elements, along with the purest of ingredients, can enable anyone to craft cured meats in their home. Pure Charcuterie is a practical and artistic look at the techniques for curing meat at home both as a creative hands-on craft and as a fantastic and sustainable way to preserve highly valuable food. This accessible, beautiful, visual guide walks the reader through the process of making charcuterie, including: Sourcing ingredients Clear explanations of charcuterie technique Creative recipes balancing tradition and invention Smoking meats and building your own smoker The analogies drawn between art and food, along with creative and accessible photographic discussions of charcuterie technique, make this book an essential primer on the basics of charcuterie: the mystery, the science, the art, and the technique. Ideal for home cooks working in small spaces, Pure Charcuterie is a must-have for experienced and new cooks alike--and any home artisan. "I don't know of anyone that can make a description of making mortadella sound poetic, funny, emotionally engaging and most importantly, to the point."--Rey Tagle, home charcuterie master "Takes the reader on a meaty, and yet artistic journey into the wonderful world of curing meats."--Hank Will, editorial director, Mother Earth News
The fundamental techniques of classic pastry arts by 
Tanoshii : Joy of Making Japanese-style Cakes & Desserts by
Create a little bit of heaven on earth with this delightful collection of recipes for Japanese-inspired French pastries by renowned pastry chef, Yamashita Masataka. With fully illustrated step-by-step instructions and baking tips. Chef Yamashita shows how ordinary baking equipment and simple ingredients can be used to whip up an array of French-style confections that are not only pretty to look at, but also wonderful to eat. Inspired by his stay in Singapore, chef Yamashita has adapted many of his creations to include local flavours and ingredients, making this collection of recipes truly unique.
How Baking Works: exploring the fundamentals of baking science by
The guide to understanding and applying food science in the bakeshop-now in a revised and updated 3rd Edition How Baking Works, 3rd Edition thoroughly covers the entire baking process, emphasizing the "whys" at work behind basic techniques. The book takes the user through the major ingredient groups, explaining how sweeteners, fats, milk, leavening agents, and other ingredients affect the appearance, flavor, and texture of the end product. The coverage also includes scaling and measurements, heat transfer, and sensory properties in baking. Includes hands-on exercises and experiments at the end of each chapter to illustrate the sensory properties of ingredients and their impact on baked goods Covers variety grains, enzymes, starch structure and gelatinization, and gluten structure, and includes an all-new chapter on baking for health and wellness Features end-of-chapter questions that review content and require readers to apply and synthesize what they've learned With explanatory photographs to illustrate the science of baking, How Baking Works, 3rd Edition offers a dynamic, hands-on learning experience for both practicing and future bakers and pastry chefs.
Food and Beverage Management: For the Hospitality, Tourism and Event Industries by
This fifth edition of the best-selling textbook Food and Beverage Management for the hospitality, tourism & event industries has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within education and the hospitality, tourism and leisure industries. In particular the consideration of the foods service cycle and includes greater account being taken of the management of foodservice operations within a broader business framework. It recognises that operations are not an end in themselves and food and beverage management is as much about the management of the business as it is about specific aspects of the food and beverage product. With a clear, user friendly, structure based on the Food Service Cycle, this fifth edition of Food and Beverage Management has been designed to meet the needs of those undertaking a range of educational programmes, from diploma to undergraduate levels, as well as supporting in-company training programmes.
Start your own restaurant and more : pizzeria, coffeehouse, deli, bakery, catering business by 
Foodservice management : principles and practices by 
The world of culinary management : leadership and development of human resources by 
Food service management : how to succeed in the high-risk restaurant business-- by someone who did by 
Foodservice organizations : a managerial and systems approach by 
Catering : a guide to managing a successful business operation by 
Food and Beverage Management in the Luxury Hotel Industry by
This book is an introduction to the management of food and beverage operations within a luxury hotel environment. It provides detailed coverage of operational areas within the food and beverage department, based on multiple real industry examples, allowing the reader to grasp the intricacies of the day-to-day running of outlets. Food and Beverage Management in the Luxury Hotel Industry is a reference for any hospitality management student wishing to gain sufficient knowledge in the subject, to conduct a quantitative and qualitative analysis of the department, through revenue and cost management, and quality audits. It also looks at the various trends shaping the industry today, particularly focusing on sustainability issues and ethical concerns.
Careers in Hospitality and Tourism by
Written for high school and undergraduate students, this series will help students explore their futures, and set goals in these exciting and growing fields. This title examines 20 occupations in hospitality and tourism which encompasses the management, marketing and operations of restaurants, lodging, attractions, recreation events and other travel related services. Careers covered in the text include Chef, Cosmetologist, Fitness Trainer, Florist, Gardener, Hotel Manager, Interior Designer, Pilot, Sailor, Travel Agent, and many more. Chapters provide an inside-look at the career options within a particular profession, including: Overview: Sphere of Work A Day in the Life Work Environment: Physical, Human, Technological Education & Training: Schooling, Licensing, Adult Job Seekers Earnings & Advancement Areas with the Highest Employment Levels Employment Outlook Associations & Business Contacts to Jumpstart Networking Plus... Famous Firsts, Occupation Specialties, Skills & Abilities, Fun Facts Conversations with Real Professions, including "What I Wish I Had Known"
Culinary careers : how to get your dream job in food with advice from top culinary professionals by 
So you are a chef : managing your culinary career by Start your own restaurant and more : pizzeria, coffeehouse, deli, bakery, catering business by 
Welcome to culinary school : a culinary student survival guide by 
The sommelier prep course : an introduction to the wines, beers, and spirits of the world by 
Principles and Practices of Bar and Beverage Management by
The bar and drinks business is hugely competitive. The key to success or failure between the many beverages and services offered in any bar is the employees who make, sell and serve them. Customer expectation and demand is constantly increasing and so it's crucial for all staff to have comprehensive product knowledge and superior specialized service skills.The Principles and Practices of Bar and Beverage Management - The Drinks Handbook is a comprehensive training guide and authoritative resource essential for all students, bartenders, sommeliers, mixologists, waiters and food and beverage practitioners the world over. Packed with facts, explanatory illustrations and case studies it provides an in-depth knowledge of the products, plus the technical skills, practices and latest developments in the bar and beverage area.Its 13 chapters are divided into two sections as follows:* Theory: a complete guide to beers, wines, spirit, liqueurs, teas and coffee and soft drinks - where they're from, how they're made, how to serve and how to achieve maximum profits.* Reference: a compilation of facts including 'beers of the world' and an indispensible listing of over 90 cocktail recipes. Its companion textbook, Principles and Practices of Bar and Beverage Management concentrates on the complexities of managing modern bars. Together the two books create a must-have toolkit for all students and industry professionals in the fields of food and beverage management. Online resources in the form of PowerPoint slides will accompany this handbook.
The wine, beer, & spirits handbook: a guide to styles and service by 
The Beverage Manager's Guide to Wines, Beers and Spirits by 
What to drink with what you eat : the definitive guide to pairing food with wine, beer, spirits, coffee, tea-- even water-- based on expert advice from America's best sommeliers by 
The Microbrewery Handbook by
An unprecedented guide to successfully start or grow a microbrewery or craft brewery in a much more competitive world. Opening a microbrewery starts with, of course, making great beer. But that is just the beginning. Today's sophisticated patrons are offered an ever-increasing array of options. It's so much more than beer nowadays. Yes, great beer is essential, but to attract and hold on to a loyal customer base, you must create a sense of place. Do your research. Understand financing and cash flow. Know how to measure your success. A successful, well-run microbrewery knows how to hire the right employees--employees that will spread word of your business to friends, family, even total strangers, both on and off the clock. Marketing, branding, customer experience; they all matter. There are so many factors that directly and indirectly contribute to success, it may at times be overwhelming. The Microbrewery Handbook offers an extraordinary look at all of the facets of success in the industry. No matter if you are thinking about starting a new venture or are already operating your own microbrewery, this valuable book offers real-world advice and proven strategies to help you thrive in the competitive micro and craft brewing industry. Focused on practical guidance, author D.C. Reeves distills his experience founding Perfect Plain Brewing Company in Pensacola, Florida into an engaging, up-to-date resource for microbrewers everywhere. Clearly showing readers what works in the industry and, just as importantly, what doesn't work, The Microbrewery Handbook: Helps you create unique, memorable experiences for your customers, your employees, and your city Includes coverage of the financial aspects of building and growing your business, such as banking, investment, and debt Shows you how to transform your business into a community anchor Offers suggestions on building an entire culture around your brand that promotes positivity and attracts the right kind of attention Shares personal stories and advice from a successful microbrew entrepreneur Includes interviews and insight with industry experts as well as owners of some of the nation's elite craft breweries including Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head, Jeffrey Stuffings of Jester King, and Doug Resier of Burial Brewing The Microbrewery Handbook: Craft, Brew, and Build Your Own Microbrewery Success is an indispensable, first-of-its-kind book for anyone in the micro and craft brewing industry.
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals by 
Nutritional sciences : from fundamentals to food by Browse the George Brown Library Catalogue for books on:
