Start with the GBC Library's journal and book collection. The library has newspapers, magazines, and journals with information on Canadian and international buildings. We also have an extensive book collection which may feature books on your architect/firm or your building.
Tip: These are especially helpful for finding information (including drawings) on contemporary buildings.
EXAMPLE: Herning Museum of Contemporary Art (HEART) - Steven Holl
Photo: Herning Museum of Contemporary Art (HEART) (2013) By Iwan Baan - http://www.klatmagazine.com/art/jesper-just-heart-necessary-133/8071 - CC BY-SA 3.0 - Wikimedia Commons
Try searching on all aspects of the building, including:
Search the El Croquis Journal collection for a contemporary building or an architect/practice. Each issue is dedicated to an architect or practice. The journal provides biographical information on the architect or practice, interviews with the architect(s), and profiles of major projects. You can browse the collection or search for a specific building within the collection in the main database (see sample search below).
EXAMPLE: Muskoka Boathouse - Shim Sutcliffe
Images: Muskoka Boathouse by Shim Sutcliffe. Retrieved from LUNA https://images.lib.ncsu.edu/luna/servlet/view/search;JSESSIONID=dc369097-3b55-4c5d-8920-e584cb0e3fd8?search=SUBMIT&cat=0&q=muskoka+boathouse&dateRangeStart=&dateRangeEnd=&QuickSearchA=QuickSearchA
For Canadian buildings, after you have searched in our main database (see above), be sure to also search our databases that have a Canadian focus using Canadian Sources + to search the databases listed below.
Tip: Books and videos can be especially helpful for older buildings where journal coverage in our collection may not be available.
EXAMPLE: Seagram Building - Mies van der Rohe / Philip Johnson
Seagram's Building in New York City was built in 1958. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
quest-eb-com.gbcprx01.georgebrown.ca/search/300_3374853/1/300_3374853/cite. Accessed 14 Sep 2022.
Use the library's main search box but keep your search more general. Try:
Internet ArchiveAll George Brown College students are eligible to apply for a Toronto Public Library Card. This allows you to use the TPL databases and to check out books. The main Reference Library at Yonge and Bloor has an excellent architecture collection. They have a number of print journals that pre-date our print collection and a large architecture book collection. They also offer access to a number of online journals through Flipster, Press Reader and Overdrive. The JSTOR database may have journal articles for older buildings.
20th-Century World Architecture by
20th Century World Architectureportrays, for the first time, an overview of the finest built architecture from around the world completed between 1900 and 1999. The unprecedented global scope of this collection of over 750 key buildings juxtaposes architectural icons with regional masterpieces. Specially designed and commissioned graphics at the start of the atlas explore the changing economic and political contexts of architectural production throughout this fascinating century, and highlight the flow of architectural ideas and architects around the globe. The selection of projects brilliantly illustrates the built outcomes of these formal and cultural influences in every corner of the world, with some surprising revelations. Divided into six world regions and 29 sub-regions, over 80 countries are represented. The collection is the result of a rigorous selection process and the input of more than 150 specialists from around the world, ensuring that each region has benefited from expert advice. Every building is located on maps that are defined by contemporary political geography, with detailed information accompanying each project, which is fully illustrated and described by a short text. In addition, a mass of useful information is provided in extensive indexes.
The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture by
Explore the best architecture of the 21st century in this collection of 1037 exemplary buildings sited all over the world in the Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture. Divided into six world regions, the Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architectureprovides an important overview of global and local trends in architecture. This truly unparalleled resource presents easily accessible world data exploring the geographical contexts for 21st century architectural production in a global framework. Each of the six world regions is introduced by an analysis of urban and architectural issues. This statistical information has been researched and elaborated by a team from the London School of Economics. This collection of key buildings has been chosen through a rigorous selection process involving a panel of expert advisors with specialist input from each world region. The list includes the work of an emerging generation of architectural stars featured alongside buildings by internationally acclaimed architects. Each building is fully illustrated with drawings and photographs, and described by a short essay. Further information includes key facts such as construction cost, client name, area of the building and geographical coordinates. Cross-referencing between projects enables the user to find other buildings by the same architect included in the book. In addition, a mass of useful information is provided including details of architects' practices and extensive indexes.
Atlas of World Architecture by
We are living in a time of constantly changing global perspectives. This compendium presents a global perspective for contemporary architecture. It is both a reference work and source of inspiration, with 500 carefully chosen projects from Europe, Asia, Australia and the Americas from the past five years which are portrayed with texts, drawings and photos. The Atlas of World Architecture gives a detailed overview of todays architecture between international trends, regional traditions, functional demands and individual styles. Particular emphasis is placed on presenting highquality masterpieces so far unknown alongside cuttingedge highlights of contemporary building culture. From the selection of projects of a wide range of typologies a global vision emerges.
100 of the World's Best Houses by
'For 344 pages of elegant, surprising or beautiful houses from Mount Fuji to Middlesex, look no further than 100 of the World's Best Houses - a title to send architects and interior designers into a state of high excitement.' The Telegraph An internati
Another 100 of the World's Best Houses by
Designed by some the world's leading architects, the homes featured in this visually spectacular title are works of art, as beautiful as they are innovative. Built in some of the most inspiring and challenging locations in the world, these houses boast an astonishing variety of styles reflecting architecture of the past, present and future. A companion title to the best selling 100 of the World's Best Houses, this book is sure to impress general readers and design connoisseurs alike.
10 X 10 (Architecture) by
A kaleidoscopic view of the work of 100 contemporary architects.
10x10_3 by
10 x 10_3 = the 100 best architects you've never heard of. That's about to change. The work shown in this volume is ambitious, inventive, and ground breaking. These are the architects to watch out for, this is the architecture shaping our cities and towns and changing the way we think about the built environment. Like its successful predecessors 10x10 (published in 2000) and 10x10_2 (published in 2005), 10x10_3 is a comprehensive overview of contemporary world architecture. This generously illustrated volume presents 100 of the world's most exceptional emerging architects, selected by 10 internationally prominent critics, architects, and curators.
The World Atlas of Architecture by 
1000x European Architecture by
This is the most comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date compendium of contemporary European architecture available in one single volume. Projects from all parts of the continent have been selected to create a representative overview of the latest European architecture. The great variety of European architecture is guaranteed because there is only one project presented per architect with high-quality pictures and plans. Particular emphasis has been placed on making sure that many small creative and surprising buildings are presented alongside more familiar projects.