Research Guides: Fashion Databases: Home

Fashion Databases

Artstor on JSTOR
Artstor content is now available on JSTOR! Faculty and students can now search or browse Artstor collections on the JSTOR platform as well as access openly accessible image collections.
In order to get the most out of Artstor(e.g. save images), users will need to log in through GBC, then register for a personal account (upper right-hand side of the landing page).
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
A hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans and textbooks.

Eco-textile News

Business of Fashion
Analysis, Case Studies and Online Courses concerning the global Fashion Industry.

*Access Note: Register with your GBC email address using the link above to gain access.
Fashion and Race Database
The Fashion and Race Database is an online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge misrepresentation within the fashion system.

* Access note: Users must initialize a personalized account to access content. Register with your GBC email.
Sourcing Journal Online
Access to a wealth of global news, expert commentary and up to the minute analysis of sourcing issues in the apparel industry. This is a leading trade publication relied upon by leaders in the textile, soft goods, and apparel industries.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Information and resources on worldwide fashion industry news, trade shows and events. Also includes trend analyses and fashion reports.
WindowsWear Pro This link opens in a new window
This unique fashion database analyzes 43528 windows from 605 brands in 14 cities around the world. It tracks design inspirations, and colour, style and mannequin trends globally.

**For OFF-CAMPUS access, please create a user account using your George Brown College email address here
WWD (Women's Wear Daily) (ON & OFF CAMPUS: a user account needs to be created for off-campus use) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to WWD, the leading fashion industry trade journal. Includes: daily updates, weekly issues and an archive of articles and images from the past twelve months.

**For OFF-CAMPUS access, please create a user account using your George Brown College email address here.
WWD Women's Wear Daily Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Women's Wear Daily Archive allows users to explore influences on the fashion and beauty industry. It contains the full run of past print issues and supplements and will be updated biannually with more recent issues. Users can explore every page of every issue since 1910, scanned cover to cover, including all advertisements and images, in high resolution and full color, presented in page-image format with searchable text.

Fashion related content

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld produces and publishes over 400 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code. IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates. Major market segments are identified and also those key external forces affecting supply and demand within the industry. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
Kanopy Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides educational institutions access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
Passport GMID (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
This international database provides access to market reports that analyze consumer and service industries across 80 countries. Also includes company profiles. Industries covered include Apparel, Consumer Finance, Consumer Foodservice and Travel & Tourism.
SAGE Business Cases
SAGE Business Cases is a digital collection of business and interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, social enterprise, and more. SAGE Business Cases provides unlimited access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries.

* Instructors can contact their Liaison Librarian to request access to Teaching Notes
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data and analysis of business, industry, product brands, market share, media, and social scientific topics, obtained from both private and public sector sources, and covering all regions of the world.

Directories

Scott’s Ontario Directories This link opens in a new window
Search company information on 75,000 Ontario companies, by product type, industry classification number, company name, geographic and demographic characteristics.
Usage Tip: To save, print or e-mail documents, select Output Manager, Profile Print.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing demographic information including census data (population, age, language, income, housing, education, race & ethnicity and more), current estimates and 5 year projections, household spending data on hundreds of goods and services, and over 1.3 million Canadian business profiles from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

# of Concurrent Users: 10
Faculty, staff and students are not required to log-in with a user name and password, however, their work will not be saved using this method which is located at the bottom of the Sign In section - "Sign in as a guest"