Green Design and Construction - Start your Research - Green Design and Construction: Environment, Regulation, Incentives, Case Studies

Search for articles and books on Sustainable Design and Construction

We have an excellent book and journal collection on sustainable design and building practices. You can search for articles, books and online videos below. Some popular search terms are:

sustainable architecture
sustainable buildings
green buildings
LEED certification
green building materials

Databases with articles on green design and construction

BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
Features media and information resources including: full-text access to Environmental Building News, BuildingGreen.com, the GreenSpec directory of products, the LEEDuser web tool and case studies in the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB).
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals and magazine articles focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This article database provides full text coverage to over 380 academic journals, magazines and trade publications related to the fields of art, design, architecture, art history, typography, fashion, animation and more. It also includes over 220 e-books and a collection of over 63,000 images.
This database is an upgrade from our previous subscription to Art & Archtecture Complete and provides all of the same content, plus additional content.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text, peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of life sciences, physical sciences, social and behavioural sciences.
Wilson Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and audio files from over 590 periodicals in science and technology. Subjects include: building, manufacturing, computer and electrical technologies.
Ontario Building Code 2012 This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the Ontario Building Code.

The Government of Ontario will provide a free digital [PDF format] copy of the Ontario Building Code Compendium for non-commercial use. Follow the instructions at Request a digital copy of the 2012 Building Code Compendium to request a copy.

Note: Came into effect January 2014. Most of Ontario's revised Building Code takes effect Jan. 1, 2014. For more detail on the transition period, see section "Section 4.1. Transition Rule" at the end of the Code.
*If you are experiencing problems logging in, clear the cache on your browser*