The LibApps feature in D2L allows you to embed direct links to databases from the George Brown College Library into your D2L course. Students can then easily access these databases from within their course on D2L.

A broad range of subject- and program-specific databases are available. If you have questions or concerns about accessing a database, please contact your liaison librarian.

 

Step 1: Create a Database link in D2L

1. Add or open a module within your D2L course (in the example below, Week 1 is the module).
2. Click the Existing Activities button.
3. Choose External Learning Tools from the drop-down menu.

 

4. When the Add Activity menu appears, scroll down and click the Create New LTI Link button.

5. In the Title field, type a name for your link (e.g., “Architecture Databases”). This is what students will see and click on to access the database(s).

 

IMPORTANT:

6. Into the LTI URL field, paste this link: https://georgebrown.libapps.com/libapps/lti1p3/launch/brightspace/12313

 

7. After pasting the URL in the LTI URL field, click the Tool field and wait for it to autofill with the text LibApps.
8. Click Create and Insert.

 

You have now created a link within your module. The next step is to attach a database to that link. 

 

Step 2: Connect a database (or list of databases) to the link you just created

 You can connect to a single database, a list of subject-specific databases, or a list that includes all available databases. 

 

Adding a single database to your course

1. Click on the database link you created in D2L (e.g. “Architecture Databases”).

3. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Specific A-Z Database.
4. Open the Database drop-down menu and select the database you wish to link to your D2L course. Databases are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

 

Adding a list of databases to your D2L course

Adding a list of subject-specific databases, with librarian information

This feature allows you to add a list of databases relevant to a specific program or field of study to your D2L course. This list will also include profile information for the liaison librarian responsible for this subject area, and a list of relevant research guides.

1. Open the relevant module in D2L and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu, scroll down, and select Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialist.
4. Open the Subject drop-down menu and select the database list you wish to link to your D2L course. Subjects are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

 

Adding a list of subject-specific databases, without librarian information

1. Open the relevant module in D2L and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select Databases for Specific Subject (list only).
4. Open the Subject drop-down menu and select the database list you wish to link to your D2L course. Subjects are listed in alphabetical order; you may need to scroll down on the menu to find your guide.
5. Click Embed Content.

 

Adding a list of all library databases

1. Open the relevant module in D2L and click on your research guide link.
2. Open the LibGuides Site drop-down menu and select Research Guides – researchguides.georgebrown.ca.
3. Open the Content Type drop-down menu and select All A-Z Databases.
4. Click Embed Content.

1. Open the relevant module in D2L and click on the drop-down arrow beside your database link.
2. Click the relevant option. You may hide, move, or edit the information available. To add dates, restrictions or a description, click Edit Properties in Place. Note: to link to a different database, choose Delete Topic and begin the process again.
3. To add new content, click on your research guide and follow the steps described in Step 2 above.

1. Beginning on your D2L course page, open the module in which your database link is embedded.

   
2. Click on the title of the link (e.g., 'Architecture databases').

Previewing your database as it will appear to students

1. Beginning on your D2L course page, open the module in which your guide/list is located.In the top navigation bar, click your name, then choose View as Learner from the drop-down menu.
2. Click on the title of the link (e.g., 'Architecture databases').