Design Thesis

"Most of the advertisements used in the Ad*Access Project were published after 1923. Therefore, the majority of advertisements are not in the public domain. All the ads may be viewed and printed out by anyone for research, teaching, private study, or general interest" (from website).

"The high resolution imagery of artworks featured on the art project site are owned by the museums, and these images may be subject to copyright laws around the world. The Street View imagery is owned by Google. All of the imagery on this site is provided for the sole purpose of enabling you to use and enjoy the benefit of the art project site, in the manner permitted by Google’s Terms of Service. The normal Google Terms of Service apply to your use of the entire site" (from website).

"The nature of historical archival collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. Whenever possible, the Library provides information about copyright owners and other restrictions in the catalog records or other texts that accompany collections. The Library provides such information as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron."

"With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. They are available for download at the NGA Images website (images.nga.gov). See Policy Details below for specific instructions and notes for users" (from website).

"Images provided by NYPL may still be under copyright and protected by the intellectual property laws of the United States and the Berne Convention.

You are solely responsible for clearing the copyright with the rights holder. Requests for reproductions of copyrighted images will not be processed until you have obtained written clearance of such rights from the rights holder or you have completed to NYPL’s satisfaction a “best efforts” search to locate the rights holder.

You agree to provide each reproduction of an image with a credit line that will be supplied to you in the written Permissions statement that you will receive" (from website).

"Images may not be reproduced or transmitted unless for personal use. For commercial use or republication, contact the listed organization or collection by using the Visit Collection Site link in the description pop-up windows" (from website).

All material supplied via VADS is protected by copyright and other intellectual property rights, and duplication or sale of all or part of any of the Data Collections is not permitted, except that material may be duplicated by you for your research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form. You must obtain permission for any other use. Electronic or print copies may not be offered, whether for sale or otherwise to anyone who is not an authorised user.

"The Web Gallery of Art is copyrighted as a database. Images and documents downloaded from this database can only be used for educational and personal purposes. Distribution of the images in any form is prohibited without the authorization of their legal owner" (from website).

"Information on this Web site has been posted with the intent that it be readily available for personal or public non-commercial use and may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.

Users are required to:

Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Unless otherwise specified, this authorization is also applicable to all published information regardless of its format" (from website).

"The contents of this web site are protected under Canadian and International copyright law. By proceeding to
The Canadian Art Database, you are acknowledging that you have read and accepted the CCCA´s copyright terms" (from website).

"Official permission is required before reproducing any image from the National Gallery of Canada collection. To make a request, please fill out our online order form." See https://www.gallery.ca/research/image-reproduction

"No part of this online exhibit may be reproduced, stored or transmitted, in part or in whole, or used in any form or by any means whatsoever, except for non-commercial study or research purposes, with appropriate acknowledgment or citation of the copyright owner and the online exhibit."

"Unless otherwise noted, all materials that are part of this website, including images, illustrations, designs, icons, photographs, video clips, written material and others are copyrights, trademarks, trademark and/or other intellectual properties owned, controlled or licensed by Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN) or its member museums. This site is managed by CHIN, a special operating agency of the Department of Canadian Heritage" (from website).

"The digital items and collections on the OurOntario.ca site are made available by the contributing organizations that own the digital items and collections. For information about the copyright status of a particular item, or for permission to reproduce or publish the item, contact the contributing organization directly" (from website).

For copyright information please visit: http://www.mccord-museum.qc.ca/en/copyright.html

Please see the policies and procedures page: http://www.toronto.ca/archives/policy.htm

Uses the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en_CA