Hospitality Sales and Promotion (eBook) by
'Hospitality Sales and Promotion' is the essential guide for every manager in the hospitality industry wanting to achieve maximum profits from their sales promotions. Practical and down-to-earth, this guide discovers: * who is your customer? market segments and groups * how can you reach them effectively? the secrets of successful public relations * new and traditional technologies; from direct mail to using the Internet to maximum advantage. Derek Taylor has a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry and has worked with and advised numerous international corporate hospitality companies. Concrete and relevant case studies and examples from his experience are used to illustrate throughout the guide, from companies such as: Whitbread, Hilton International, Pizza Express and Stakis.
Hospitality Branding (eBook) by
In recent years the brand has moved squarely into the spotlight as the key to success in the hospitality industry. Business strategy once began with marketing and incorporated branding as one of its elements; today the brand drives marketing within the larger hospitality enterprise. Not only has it become the chief means of attracting customers, it has, more broadly, become the chief organizing principle for most hospitality organizations. The never-ending quest for market share follows trend after trend, from offering ever more elaborate and sophisticated amenities to the use of social media as a marketing tool--all driven by the preeminence of the brand. Chekitan S. Dev's award-winning research has appeared in leading journals including Cornell Hospitality Quarterly, Journal of Marketing, and Harvard Business Review. He is the recipient of several major hospitality research and teaching awards. A former corporate executive with Oberoi Hotels & Resorts, he has served corporate, government, education, advisory, and private equity clients in more than forty countries as consultant, seminar leader, keynote speaker and expert witness. Hospitality Branding brings together the most important insights from the author's many years of research and experience, all in a single, affordably priced volume (available in both print and eBook formats). Skillfully blending the knowledge of recent history, the wisdom of cutting-edge research, and promise of future trends, this book offers hospitality organizations the advice they need to survive and thrive in today's competitive global business environment.
Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism (Print Book) by
For courses in Hospitality Marketing, Tourism Marketing, Restaurant Marketing, or Hotel Marketing. Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, 7/e is the definitive source for hospitality marketing. Taking an integrative approach, this highly visual, four-color book discusses hospitality marketing from a team perspective, examining each hospitality department and its role in the marketing mechanism. These best-selling authors are known as leading marketing educators and their book, a global phenomenon, is the leading resource on hospitality and tourism marketing. The Seventh Edition of this popular book includes new and updated coverage of social media, destination tourism and other current industry trends, authentic industry cases, and hands-on application activities.
The Practical Guide to Understanding and Raising Hotel Profitability by
The Practical Guide to Understanding and Raising Hotel Profitability offers a comprehensive, easy-to-follow breakdown of how to understand profit and loss accounts for hotels. It offers practical advice on how to maximise the profits of this customer-facing business and improve performance results. Chapters cover every aspect of the profit and loss account including marketing, accommodation, food and beverage sales, quality, budgeting, event sales, and all the corresponding costs involved. It explains all the relevant KPIs and industry quirks within the profit and loss document as well as industry benchmarks to equip the reader with the skills to attend high level meetings, complete finance-based assignments and ultimately run their own business. Valuable tips from leading professionals within the industry are included throughout, giving advice on how to improve hotels' financial results and positively influence net profit through everyday actions. Packed full of practical case studies and written in an easy-to-read-style, this book is essential reading for hospitality students and current hospitality and hotel managers.
Pocket Guide for Hospitality Managers by
A concise, practical guide that provides the skills and knowledge for current and future managers across the hospitality industry.The book provide a concise resource for all emerging hospitality managers, and for academics preparing students forcareers within the hospitality industry.With a 'how to do' agenda, the authors offer a practical guide to the skills and knowledge needed by those who will be managing bars, restaurants and hotels in the fast moving hospitality retailing contexts.Written in a non-academic style, this book will be a valuable resource for students and early career managers working in the hospitality sector.
Marketing for Tourism and Hospitality by
The marketing landscape has changed dramatically in recent years, especially for tourism and hospitality practitioners. Marketing for these industries is now a multi-dimensional, collaborative venture driven by technological change and the growing demand for authentic co-created experiences. Marketing for Tourism and Hospitality provides students with a contemporary, accessible and useful resource as they prepare to encounter the complexities and challenges of tourism and hospitality marketing globally. A clear articulation of the changing landscape, a comprehensive introduction to the three underpinning themes of collaboration, technology and experiences, and a plentiful supply of international case material provide students with an enjoyable and digestible resource that is both academically rigorous and practice-oriented, helping them prepare for day-to-day problems in the dynamic world of marketing. This contemporary, challenging and highly applied text is an indispensable resource for all students of tourism and hospitality degree programmes.
Digital Marketing Strategies for Tourism, Hospitality, and Airline Industries by
The growth of internet access and the entry of smartphones into everyday life has provided a revolutionary way for consumers to interact with businesses throughout the tourist industry. As a result, numerous companies are utilizing techniques and concepts designed to communicate directly with potential clientele all over the world. Digital Marketing Strategies for Tourism, Hospitality, and Airline Industries provides innovative insights into how digital marketing can influence the consumer relationship at every stage of the tourism process and features emerging tools and techniques to establish better connections with consumers. The content within this publication examines topics such as branding strategies, social media, and influencer marketing for maximum content exposure. This information is designed for marketing managers, executives, event planners, tour developers, hotel managers, airline managers, program directors, advertisers, restaurateurs, students, business professionals, and researchers.
The Routledge Handbook of Halal Hospitality and Islamic Tourism by
The Routledge Handbook of Halal Hospitality and Islamic Tourism provides a greater understanding of the current debates associated with Islamic tourism and halal hospitality in the context of businesses, communities, destinations, and the wider socio-political context. It therefore sheds substantial light on one of the most significant travel and consumer markets in the world today and the important role of religion in contemporary hospitality and tourism. The book examines halal hospitality and lodging, Islamic markets, product developments, heritage, certification, and emerging and future trends and issues. It integrates case studies from a range of countries and destinations and in doing so emphasises the significant differences that exist with respect to regulating and commodifying halal, as well as stressing that the Islamic market is not monolithic. Written by highly regarded international academics, it offers a range of perspectives and enables a comprehensive discussion of this integral part of Islam and contemporary society. This handbook will be of significant interest to upper level students, researchers, and academics in the various disciplines of Tourism, Hospitality, Food Studies, Marketing, Religious Studies, Geography, Sociology, and Islamic Studies.
Marketing in action : open kitchen concept spreads to hotels by 
2008, 30min
The MacDonald chain of luxury hotels serves business and leisure customers across the UK. Their people are integral to their success. This film goes inside one of its hotels to discover what they do.
2015, 31min
Begin exploring the tactics involving in reaching marketing goals with a look at how to design products and services to provide the best possible customer experience. Along the way, you’ll learn six rules for effectively managing customer experiences (including getting bad experiences out of the way and empowering employees).
2015, 26min
Starbucks is the essential success story of the American capitalist dream. From humble beginnings in 1971 as a Seattle coffee store, it’s become a multinational with over 21,000 outlets in 63 countries. Its brand is universally known. How did they do it? Starbucks’ success owes a lot to the vision of its guiding light, CEO Howard Schultz, who preaches an almost evangelical brand of caring capitalism, at the same time focusing relentlessly on the customer experience. Acquisition, brand-stretching, social media, and new channel development have all played a part.
2010, 27min
The four P's of the marketing mix - product, promotion, price and place - are still seen as the basis of marketing - but how relevant are they today? Using case studies of companies large and small this film explains and explores each of the Ps.
