Note: Titles highlighted in red have an e-version.
The Routledge Handbook of Gastronomic Tourism by
The Routledge Handbook of Gastronomic Tourism explores the rapid transformations that have affected the interrelated areas of gastronomy, tourism and society, shaping new forms of destination branding, visitor satisfaction, and induced purchase decisions. This edited text critically examines current debates, critical reflections of contemporary ideas, controversies and queries relating to the fast-growing niche market of gastronomic tourism. This comprehensive book is structured into six parts. Part I offers an introductory understanding of gastronomic tourism; Part II deals with the issues relating to gastronomic tourist behavior; Part III raises important issues of sustainability in gastronomic tourism; Part IV reveals how digital developments have influenced the changing expressions of gastronomic tourism; Part V highlights the contemporary forms of gastronomic tourism; and Part VI elaborates other emerging paradigms of gastronomic tourism. Combining the knowledge and expertise of over a hundred scholars from thirty-one countries around the world, the book aims to foster synergetic interaction between academia and industry. Its wealth of case studies and examples make it an essential resource for students, researchers and industry practitioners of hospitality, tourism, gastronomy, management, marketing, consumer behavior, business and cultural studies.
Foodies and Food Tourism by
Food is an attraction that has matured into a highly sought-after niche market with distinct trip motivation, travel preferences and patterns. Foodies and Food Tourism supplies comprehensive new evidence and theory based overview of the phenomenon of food tourism and how it is being, or should be developed and marketed and understood. Food tourism has huge impacts in the hospitality, destination management and tourism development sectors and across all these sectors the book presents the latest research on market developments: *Understanding the food tourist and their perspective. *Taking a demand- side approach to planning developing and marketing. *Taking a global view based on widespread research data that combines theory and practice. *Using case studies, profiles and direct practitioner insights to illustrate every aspect of the field. The book is designed as key text for students in Hospitality, Tourism and Events and Food and Beverage Management with summaries, questions and key points highlighted throughout the text, and also as a major reference and professional guide for practitioners across the industry. About the authors:Donald Getz, Professor, The University of Queensland, School of Tourism, Richard Robinson', Lecturer, School of Tourism, The University of Queensland, Tommy Andersson, Professor, School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg Sanja Vujicic, Principal of Experience Consulting, Gothenburg, Sweden
Food Tourism Around the World by
Food and wine are vital components of the tourism experience, and are increasingly being seen as prime travel motivators in their own right. Food Tourism Around The World: Development, Management and Markets offers a unique insight into this phenomenon, looking at the interrelationship between food, the tourism product and the tourist experience. Using international case studies and examples from Europe, North America, Australasia and Singapore, Food Tourism Around The World: Development, Management and Markets discusses the development, range and repurcussions of the food tourism phenomenon. The multi-national contributor team analyses such issues as: * the food tourism product * food tourism and consumer behaviour * cookery schools - educational vacations * food as an attraction in destination marketing Ideal for both students and practioners, the book represents the most comprehensive and wide-ranging treatment yet of this recent development in tourism.
Wine, Food, and Tourism Marketing by
Get the advantage you need to compete in the worldwide food and wine tourism marketplace! Wine, Food, and Tourism Marketing is an overview of contemporary practices and trends in food and wine tourism marketing. International in scope, the book draws on studies from Canada, England, France, New Zealand, South Africa, and Scotland for analyses of contemporary practices and trends that help you develop, implement, and maintain strategic competitive advantages. The book looks at case studies of business operations, seasonality, destination image, and the development of business networks. Equally valuable as a professional resource for practitioners and as a textbook for upper-level and graduate students in tourism, hospitality, and wine and food studies, Wine, Food, and Tourism Marketing examines the importance of food and wine tourism to rural regional development. The book presents destination management planning and marketing initiatives for specific markets that can be easily adapted and applied to a wider range of wine tourism settings. Tourism marketing researchers and academics address vital issues such as the importance of collective marketing strategies, viticulture, design factors for online tourism information, and the use of food images in promotional material and positioning strategies. The book includes: a 2001 research study on French public sector management of wine tourism an examination of the cider industry in Somerset, England a look at the implications of non resident tourist markets on British Columbia's emerging wine tourism industry an analysis of the types of food images used in French regional tourism brochures a national study of seasonality issues on wine tourism in New Zealand a look at post-apartheid tourism trends on South Africa's Western Cape a survey of eight wineries on the Niagara Falls wine route with implications for marketing strategies a study of the use of local and regional food for destination marketing of South Africa a look at how food-related tourism in the United Kingdom is being promoted using the World Wide Web Wine, Food, and Tourism Marketing is an essential read for practitioners and educators involved in tourism and hospitality, marketing, food and wine studies, and rural regional development.
Food and Wine Tourism: integrating food, travel and territory by
In this cultural, thematic, integrated and sustainable form of tourism, the spirit of a place can be sampled on a plate and experienced directly through tours and visits to producers. If food and wine tourism is well planned, managed and controlled, it can become a real economic resource. This text explores how food-producing regions present themselves to tourists experiencing the culture, history and ambience of a location through the food and wine it produces. The book takes a practical approach, discussing how to establish a food-related tourism destination, how to evolve from purely a food producer to a tourism operator. It also covers management practices such as producing marketing material, and considerations of sustainability and quality assessment. This book is adapted with an international focus from Croce, E. and Perri, G. (2008) Il turismo enogastronomico. Progettare, gestire, vivere l'integrazione tra cibo, viaggio, territorio, FrancoAngeli s.r.l., Milano, Italy
Food and Wine Festivals and Events Around the World by
Food and Wine Festivals and Events Around the World is a pioneering text that recognises the importance of this rapidly growing aspect of the tourism industry. Food and wine festivals and events play a significant role in rural and urban development and regeneration and the impacts of these events can be far ranging at a social, political, economic and environmental level. This innovative book recognises the development of food and wine festivals as a part of regional and national tourism strategies and uses international case studies to illustrate practice and contextualise theory. Bringing together an international contributor team of experts, this is the first book to study this profitable and expanding area of the tourism industry and provides a unique resource for those studying in the fields of tourism, event management and culinary arts.
Tourism and Gastronomy by
In recent years, a growing emphasis has been placed on tourism experiences and attractions related to food. In many cases eating out while on holiday includes the 'consumption' of a local heritage, comparable to what is experienced when visiting historical sites and museums. Despite this increasing attention, however, systematic research on the subject has been nearly absent. Tourism and Gastronomy addresses this by drawing together a group of international experts in order to develop a better understanding of the role, development and future of gastronomy and culinary heritage in tourism. Students and researchers in the areas of tourism, heritage, hospitality, hotel management and catering will find this book an extremely valuable source of information.
Culinary Tourism by
""From Kosher Oreos to the gentrification of Mexican cusine, from the charismatic cook of Basque communities in Spain and the United States to the mainstreaming of southwestern foodways, Culinary Tourism maps a lively cultural and intellectual terrain.""--from the foreword by Barbara Kirshenblatt-GimblettCulinary Tourism is the first book to consider food as both a destination and a means for tourism. The book's contributors examine the many intersections of food, culture and tourism in public and commercial contexts, in private and domestic settings, and around the world. The contributors argue that the sensory experience of eating provides people with a unique means of communication. Editor Lucy Long contends that although the interest in experiencing ""otherness"" is strong within American society, total immersion into the unfamiliar is not always welcome. Thus spicy flavors of Latin Aermcia and the exotic ingredients of Asia have been mainstreamed for everyday consumption. Culinary Tourism explains how and why interest in foreign food is expanding tastes and leading to commercial profit in America, but the book also show how tourism combines personal experiences with cultural and social attitudes toward food and the circumstances for adventurous eating.
Sustainable Culinary Systems: local foods, innovation, and tourism and hospitality by
There is increasing public and academic interest in local and sustainable foods and food tourism. These interests have been reflected in such diverse elements as the growth of farmers markets, green restaurants, food miles, crabon and sustainability labelling, concerns over food supply and security, Slow Food, Fair Trade, and a desire to buy and 'eat locally'. Food related hospitality and tourism is integral to this process because of the way in which it simultaneously acts to globalise and localise food consumption and create new foodways and commodity chains. This book therefore aims to provide an integrated understanding of the contemporary interest in food and food tourism through the use of an international collection of illustrative case study chapters as well as the provision of a novel integrative framework for the book, a sustainable culinary system. This is the first volume to examine the concept of sustainable culinary systems, particularly with specific reference to tourism and hospitality. Divided into two parts, firstly the notion of the local is explored, reflecting the increased interest in the championing of local food production and consumption. Secondly treatment of sustainability in food and food tourism and hospitality in settings that reach beyond the local in a business and socio-economic sense is reviewed. The book therefore, reflects much of the contemporary public interest in the conscious or ethical consumption and production food, as well as revealing the inherent tensions between local and broader goals in both defining and achieving sustainable culinary systems and the environmental, social and economic implications of food production and consumption. This book provides the reader with an integrated approach to understanding the subject of how culinary systems may be made more sustainable and will be valuable reading to all those interested in sustainable food and food tourism.
Food promotion, consumption, and controversy by
Food nourishes the body, but our relationship with food extends far beyond our need for survival. Food choices not only express our personal tastes but also communicate a range of beliefs, values, affiliations and aspirations--sometimes to the exclusion of others. In the media sphere, the enormous amount of food-related advice provided by government agencies, advocacy groups, diet books, and so on compete with efforts on the part of the food industry to sell their product and to respond to a consumer-driven desire for convenience. As a result, the topic of food has grown fraught, engendering sometimes acrimonious debates about what we should eat, and why. By examining topics such as the values embedded in food marketing, the locavore movement, food tourism, dinner parties, food bank donations, the moral panic surrounding obesity, food crises, and fears about food safety, the contributors to this volume paint a rich, and sometimes unsettling portrait of how food is represented, regulated, and consumed in Canada. With chapters from leading scholars such as Ken Albala, Harvey Levenstein, Stephen Kline, and Valerie Tarasuk, the volume also includes contributions from "food insiders"--bestselling cookbook author and food editor Elizabeth Baird and veteran restaurant reviewer John Gilchrist. The result is a timely and thought-provoking look at food as a system of communication through which Canadians articulate cultural identity, personal values, and social distinction.
Ontario's four-year culinary tourism strategy and action plan 2011-2015 by 
The World of Niagara Wine by 
Farmers' Markets of the Heartland by
In this splendidly illustrated book, food writer and self-described farm groupie Janine MacLachlan embarks on a tour of seasonal markets and farmstands throughout the Midwest, sampling local flavors from Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. She conducts delicious research as she meets farmers, tastes their food, and explores how their businesses thrive in the face of an industrial food supply. She tells the stories of a pair of farmers growing specialty crops on a few acres of northern Michigan for just a few months out of the year, an Ohio cattle farm that has raised heritage beef since 1820, and a Minnesota farmer who tirelessly champions the Jimmy Nardello sweet Italian frying pepper. Along the way, she savors vibrant red carrots, slurpy peaches, vast quantities of specialty cheeses, and some of the tastiest pie to cross anyone's lips. Informed by debates about eating local, seasonal crops, organic farming, sanitation, and biodiversity, Farmers' Markets of the Heartland tantalizes with special recipes from farm-friendly chefs and dozens of luscious color photographs that will inspire you to harvest the homegrown flavors in your own neighborhood.
Business communication : building critical skills by 
The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Food and Gastronomy by
The issues surrounding the provision, preparation and development of food products is fundamental to every human being on the planet. Given the scarcity of agricultural land, environmental pollution, climate change and the exponential growth of the world's population where starvation and obesity are both widespread it is little wonder that exploring the frontiers of food is now a major focus for researchers and practitioners. This timely Handbook provides a systematic guide to the current state of knowledge on sustainable food. It begins by analyzing the historical development surrounding food production and consumption, then moves on to discuss the current food crisis and challenges as well as the impacts linked to modern agriculture and food security. Finally, it concludes with a section that examines emerging sustainable food trends and movements in addition to an analysis of current food science innovations. Developed from specifically commissioned original contributions the Handbook's inherent multidisciplinary approach paves the way for deeper understanding of all aspects linked to the evolution of food in society, including insights into local food, food and tourism, organic food, indigenous and traditional food, sustainable restaurant practices, consumption patterns and sourcing. This book is essential reading for students, researches and academics interested in the possibilities of sustainable forms of gastronomy and gastronomy's contribution to sustainable development. The title includes a foreword written by Roberto Flore, Head Chef at the Nordic Food Lab, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Food Tourism: A Practical Marketing Guide by
The fastest growth in tourism is the culinary sector. Covering farmers markets, taste tours, agri-entertainment, glamping, restaurants, farm shops and more, food tourism has become both an important part of holidaying and a purpose in itself. With growth occurring in most developed countries and tourists searching out culinary tourism throughout the world, this book provides an overall direction to the development of food tourism and a section on the future of this trend.
Includes 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines, articles, recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
Industry journals in the field of hospitality and tourism, including information on: cultural aspects of travel, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Please note that the above databases have already been integrated with the homepage search engine, so you do NOT need to search them separately. Listing them out is simply to bring your awareness to these hospitality specific resources.
