Research Guides: Interior Design: Images/Maps/Surveys

Surveys & Maps

City of Toronto - Digital Mapping
Toronto mapping available on Casa Loma Library computers.

City of Toronto. Zoning by-laws & maps
City of Toronto - Online Maps
The City of Toronto's online mapping system provides the ability to layer maps using several categories including administrative boundaries, property types, government services, transportation and city attractions.
Tree Atlas - Ontario
Colour pictures showing leaf, bark, flower and full photo of trees that grow throughout Ontario. You can narrow by geographic area.
Urban Toronto
Includes database and map of current and past building projects in the Toronto area. You can search by company, type of project or location.

Databases-Images/Drawings

Artstor on JSTOR
Artstor content is now available on JSTOR! Faculty and students can now search or browse Artstor collections on the JSTOR platform as well as access openly accessible image collections.
In order to get the most out of Artstor(e.g. save images), users will need to log in through GBC, then register for a personal account (upper right-hand side of the landing page).
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This education images database provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Subjects include: culinary arts, fashion, medicine, education, sociology, performing arts, architecture and design.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and image database covering visual arts and design from prehistory to the present (worldwide in scope but strongest in Western art).

The Archives of Ontario: Search
Dreaming the Skyline
Contains architectural drawings and photographs for a number of iconic hotels in Las Vegas. (reproduction for educational purposes only).
Canadian Architectural Archives
From the University of Calgary - collection of Architectural drawings, business records, photographs, and models related to modern Canadian Architecture.
Views of 20th Century Canada: The Canadian Architectural Photography Digitization Project (University of Calgary)
Over 13,000 digital images of Canadian architecture
RIBA: ribapix.com

Building Plans

In addition to searching library Catalogues and the Resources listed on the left try the following:

Use Google Books
Make and appointment at an archive

Here is a list of local archives:

Ontario Archives

City of Toronto Archives

The University of Toronto: Archives and Records Management Services