FASH 1091 History of Costume

An online resource of more than 2.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Images are from major museums, institutes and some private collections.

1. From the Home page choose Images
2. Enter Fashion Term- Keep this simple: dresses; corset; ...
3. Then choose Advanced Search
4. Narrow by date
5. Narrow by Fashion, Costume and Jewelry

The Fashion and Race Database is an online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge misrepresentation within the fashion system.

* Access note: Users must initialize a personalized account to access content. Register with your GBC email.

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Information and resources on worldwide fashion industry news, trade shows and events. Also includes trend analyses and fashion reports. Update: As of October 1, 2025 there will be a six month embargo on WGSN content (reports, images) and downloading will be removed for reports but available for images. Fashion buying and CAD tools will be available. Access is restricted to registered George Brown College students and faculty only.

Access to 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference sources. Now includes QuickLaw with access to Canadian Court cases, tribunals and arbitration decisions. Update: The subscription to this database expires on December 31, 2025.

The Women's Wear Daily Archive allows users to explore influences on the fashion and beauty industry. It contains the full run of past print issues and supplements and will be updated biannually with more recent issues. Users can explore every page of every issue since 1910, scanned cover to cover, including all advertisements and images, in high resolution and full color, presented in page-image format with searchable text.

This education images database provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Subjects include: culinary arts, fashion, medicine, education, sociology, performing arts, architecture and design.

Encyclopedia and image database covering visual arts and design from prehistory to the present (worldwide in scope but strongest in Western art).
* Search the subject entries for Dress