Taste As Experience
eBook
Taste as Experience puts the pleasure of food at the center of human experience. It shows how the sense of taste informs our preferences for and relationship to nature, pushes us toward ethical practices of consumption, and impresses upon us the importance of aesthetics.
Sensory Evaluation Practices (eBook) by
The enjoyment of products is closely related to the senses, and in the case of food - mainly taste, aroma and texture. Sensory evaluation is a dynamic field concentrating on the utilization of humans for the measurement of sensory perceptions and/or their effect on food and taste acceptance. Since 1985 when the first edition of this book was published, there have been many changes in he field of sensory evaluation. Sensory Evaluation Practices, Third Edition provides a critical evaluation of all current developments in the field, recognizing the impact that the discipline has had within academic circles, in business, and the relationships between research developments and their applications. This new edition takes into consideration the impact of data processing systems, as well as the internet and its implications for the future of sensory evaluation. *Appeals to sensory experts both in academia and business *Discovered new optimization is based on integration of sensory descriptive and consumer research data *New sensory information with imagery
Sensory Evaluation of Food: principles and practices (eBook) by
This volume covers all the basic techniques of sensory testing, from simple discrimination tests to home use placements for consumers. It provides fundamental theories, psychological and statistical, that form the basis and rationale for sensory test design. Statistics used in sensory evaluation are also demonstrated both as stand-alone material presented in appendices and as integrated applications in the context of appropriate sensory methods. Chapters are constructed so that beginning students who want only the practical aspects of conducting sensory test will see clear instruction on how test should be conducted. Advanced students and practitioners will enjoy the more detailed sections on rationale and related issues.
Alcoholic Beverages sensory evaluation and consumer research(eBook) by
Sensory evaluation methods are extensively used in the wine, beer and distilled spirits industries for product development and quality control, while consumer research methods also offer useful insights as the product is being developed. This book introduces sensory evaluation and consumer research methods and provides a detailed analysis of their applications to a variety of different alcoholic beverages. Chapters in part one look at the principles of sensory evaluation and how these can be applied to alcoholic beverages, covering topics such as shelf life evaluation and gas chromatography - olfactometry. Part two concentrates on fermented beverages such as beer and wine, while distilled products including brandies, whiskies and many others are discussed in part three. Finally, part four examines how consumer research methods can be employed in product development in the alcoholic beverage industry. With its distinguished editor and international team of contributors, Alcoholic beverages is an invaluable reference for those in the brewing, winemaking and distilling industries responsible for product development and quality control, as well as for consultants in sensory and consumer science and academic researchers in the field.
More Resources on ...
Focus on Food Photography for Bloggers (eBook) by
Sharing your kitchen concoctions on your personal food blog has never been as popular as it is right now, but if you've ever had trouble getting your tasty temptations to look like pretty plates on camera, you know how difficult it can be to take amazing pictures of food. Matt Armendariz, of Mattbites food blog fame, shares his experiences and best practices for creating wonderful food photos in Focus On Food Photography for Bloggers. Written specifically for you the blogger, Matt discusses the ins and outs of equipment, lighting, composition, propping, sparking your inspiration, and getting creative, all with what you have on hand at home! Learn how to avoid common pitfalls with foods that are notoriously camera shy, how to successfully snap your dinner at a restaurant as well as on your kitchen table, and how to style your food with what you have in your cupboards. He also includes advice on post-processing, posting, and protecting your prized images. As well as on his blog, Matt's photography has been featured in The Skinny Bitch Cookbook, on Martha Stewart, Paula Deen's Best Dishes, and Gordon Ramsay's Hell's Kitchen, along with numerous food magazines and newspapers. Let this seasoned blogger give your food photography the boost it needs to really make your readers salivate!
Food photograph (eBook) by
eBook
Anyone who has been inspired to take a picture of a great-looking meal knows that creating a successful food photograph is not easy. Tips and tricks that will save you time and help make getting "the shot" that much easier.
The Complete Guide to Food Photography (eBook) by
The must-have guidebook for creating great food photographs! The Complete Guide to Food Photography is a visually stunning, eminently useful, and comprehensive resource for creating fantastic food photographs. In this book, professional food photographer Lauren Short teaches you her entire image-making process, as she covers lighting, composition, styling, storytelling, editing, and processing great food photographs. In the first part of the book, Lauren covers the core concepts, where you'll learn: * How to work with both natural and artificial light (as well as modifiers) * The tools, guides, and rules of composition for food photography * Techniques, tips, and tricks for styling your food so it looks its best * How to build a story with the use of backgrounds, props, and other supporting elements * Processing, retouching, and compositing techniques to finish your image Additionally, Lauren explains the why behind her creative decisions. By understanding her decision-making process and walking through her problem-solving techniques, you'll become better equipped to make informed creative decisions so you can excel at food photography, no matter what scenarios you encounter. In the second part of the book, Lauren walks you through multiple case studies of complete, start-to-finish shoots so that you can see every aspect of her image-making process and understand how it all comes together. Each case study also includes a link to a full video for each shoot so that you can easily follow along. Filled with beautiful imagery as well as behind-the-scenes photos and helpful diagrams, The Complete Guide to Food Photography is a must-have for any food photographer looking to create images that stand out from the crowd.
