Medical Terminology

This updated edition offers over 11,000 entries, each providing clear, up-to-date coverage of specialist nursing terms including diseases, symptoms, anatomy, instruments, common drugs and biological terms.

The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice.

In addition to specifically nursing terms, there are many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, psychiatry, nutrition, and pharmacology (including new drugs recently introduced into medical practice).Over 10,100 clear and concise entries, all written by medical and nursing specialists, cover the theory and practice of nursing.

Includes detailed entries that help students and professionals communicate effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases..

Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health, 7th Edition is your portable, quick-access reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 35,700 authoritative definitions (including approximately 300 all-new definitions) of diseases, procedures, equipment, drugs, and more, along with pronunciations, etymologies, and a Spanish/English appendix. If you want the most reliable health science information literally right at your fingertips, then look no further than this bestselling pocket dictionary. Emphasis on nursing and health science terminology support health science students and practicing professionals. Small size makes dictionary easy to transport. Over 35,700 definitions provides students and health professionals with necessary information. Alphabetized screened thumb tabs save you time finding terms. British spellings help users recognize alternate spellings. Included etymologies build professional vocabulary and understanding of medical terminology. Newly revised definitions make this a cohesive and portal reference. 300 new definitions added for the latest terms in health care, drugs and medical and nursing terminology.

Now in its 25th edition, the popular and established dictionary has been extensively revised and includes new entries to address the changing world of nursing and healthcare services.