Finding & Using Articles

• Because articles tend to focus on a single topic, they are a great place to find highly specific information.
• Articles are often the first place where new research is discussed, and in some disciplines, may be the primary means of conveying information.
• Articles cover many types of publications including: journals, magazines, newspapers, trade journals and newsletters.

• To find articles, you will need to search within a database. Databases are electronic tools that gather and organize different kinds of information together.
• You can use the main library search to search within multiple databases, or search within a single database for your area of study.
• Identify a library database that searches for articles in your subject area by exploring our research guides by subject. Use the first drop down menu to choose your subject area. Use the second drop down menu (Database types) to select Article databases.
• Browse through all Library databases containing articles.
• Scroll through the list of databases to find the one that best meets your research needs. Read the database description to see what subjects and types of resources they contain.
• To search databases off campus, you will be asked to log in. Sign in by adding @georgebrown.ca to the end of your GBC ID number (ex. 12345678@georgebrown.ca), and enter your STUview password.
• Search the selected article database using words you might expect to find in the title or subject of the article.
• Limit your searches to FULL TEXT for online access to complete articles.
• Use the filter menu to refine your search results by type to limit to articles in Magazines, Trade Journals, Academic Journals, etc.

A periodical is any publication that is issued in regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, etc.).

This includes newspapers, magazines, trade publications and scholarly or academic journals. Use the side menu to learn more about each type of publication and to find links to databases containing each type of article.

It is important to be able to correctly identify the articles you are using and to know how to use them in the appropriate contexts.

If you are writing a serious essay, you probably want to consider using academic journal articles.

If you're investigating current events, you could consider using newspaper or magazine articles.

Also keep in mind the assignment you are working on and what you've been asked to do. Have you been specifically asked to use a certain type of article? (i.e. one that is peer-reviewed?). Always use the type of sources requested by your instructor or identified in your assignment.