Hospitality Strategic Management: concepts and cases by Cathy A. EnzUpdated to include the current models, theories, and hospitality practices, Hospitality Strategic Management: Concept and Cases, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to strategic management in the international hospitality industry. Author Cathy A. Enz uses the case study approach to cover current topics such as innovation, entrepreneurship, leadership, ethics, and franchising. Eight full case studies with exhibits and documents address the areas of lodging, food service, tourism e-commerce, gaming, cruise lines, and airlines, making this book ideal for executive level training courses or hospitality industry executives interested in developing their strategic management skills.
Call Number: TX911.3 .M27 E69 2010
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Tourism by Charles R. Goeldner; J. R. Brent RitchieThe updated and expanded #1 introduction to tourism principles and practices retains its classic approach in this new tenth edition Virtually every country has taken steps to increase its number of visitors in recent years, and with each new edition, Tourism has remained the must-have resource dedicated to providing an exciting, comprehensive introduction to the world's most rapidly growing industry. This Tenth Edition explores new trends in travel and tourism, while continuing the book's long-standing tradition of taking a global look into the economic, political, and social forces that drive and shape tourism. Written by two internationally respected experts, Tourism, Tenth Edition includes: Extensive treatment of the changing world of travel distribution A new look at the future of travel New coverage of crisis management Updated lists of Internet sites for further research Numerous pedagogical aids throughout, including review questions, case problems, and Internet exercises Completely revised and redesigned with a beautiful, full-color insert, Tourism examines how different components of the industry work together to create a successful travel experience. In six parts, it covers: an overview of the industry; how tourism is organized; travel behavior; tourism supply, demand, policy, planning, and development; research and marketing; and future prospects. Tourism: Principles, Practices, Philosophies, Tenth Edition is an invaluable book for students studying travel and tourism.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005-10-05
HOST 1033: Service Excellence
Customer Service: a Practical Approach by Elaine HarrisThe market-leader, Customer Service: A Practical Approach, Sixth Edition,goes beyond providing reasons why customer service is important to defining proven methods for creating customer service excellence. Using a hands-on approach, it covers a wide range of knowledge and skills and offers an extensive collection of activities to enliven and invigorate any lecture. This edition features a revised chapter on technology, new Ethics in Action exercises and coverage of the latest trends in the customer service field. Focusing on problem solving, communication strategies and technology, this classic text pinpoints the skills needed to improve and sustain customer satisfaction and business relationships.
Selling Destinations: Geography for the Travel Professional by Marc ManciniThis special 5th Canadian edition of the bestselling Selling Destinations: Geography for the Travel Professional offers a fresh approach to destination geography. It argues that geography provides the foundation for the entire travel, tourism and hospitality industries and that travel professionals need to know not just the facts about places, but also how to sell them to the traveling public.Selling Destinations features:? In-depth exploration of the nations, regions and cities that Canadian travelers favor most.? Sales and marketing factors, such as visitor profiles, their preferences, motivations and misgivings, as well as other sales and marketing considerations.? Hundreds of photos, maps, charts and graphics that help organize the content for the reader and make geography come alive.? Detailed information on climate, attractions, transportation, sample itineraries and cultural patterns.? Mini case studies, map exercises and creative activities that pull together each chapter's content to create an interactive and entertaining learning experience.? A style that is relaxed, informal and enjoyable, not unlike a leisure vacation itself.
Call Number: G155 . A1 M263 2013
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
HOST 1156: Culinary Tourism
Foodies and Food Tourism by Donald Getz; Richard Robinson; Tommy Andersson; Sanja VujicicFood is an attraction that has matured into a highly sought-after niche market with distinct trip motivation, travel preferences and patterns. Foodies and Food Tourism supplies comprehensive new evidence and theory based overview of the phenomenon of food tourism and how it is being, or should be developed and marketed and understood. Food tourism has huge impacts in the hospitality, destination management and tourism development sectors and across all these sectors the book presents the latest research on market developments: *Understanding the food tourist and their perspective. *Taking a demand- side approach to planning developing and marketing. *Taking a global view based on widespread research data that combines theory and practice. *Using case studies, profiles and direct practitioner insights to illustrate every aspect of the field. The book is designed as key text for students in Hospitality, Tourism and Events and Food and Beverage Management with summaries, questions and key points highlighted throughout the text, and also as a major reference and professional guide for practitioners across the industry. About the authors:Donald Getz, Professor, The University of Queensland, School of Tourism, Richard Robinson', Lecturer, School of Tourism, The University of Queensland, Tommy Andersson, Professor, School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg Sanja Vujicic, Principal of Experience Consulting, Gothenburg, Sweden
Call Number: eBook ; also available in print (TX631 .F66 2014)
HOST 1146: Leading, Following and Speaking with Confidence
The Leadership Experience by Richard L. DaftMaster the critical leadership skills and solid understanding of theory needed to become an effective business leader in today�s turbulent times with THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE, 7E. Acclaimed author Richard Daft helps you explore the latest thinking in leadership theory and contemporary practices at work within organizations throughout the world. You�ll examine emerging topics, including enhancement of emotional intelligence, leadership vision and courage, and leadership of virtual teams, and you�ll connect those topics to recent world events such as ethical scandals, leader successes and mistakes, and political turmoil. Packed with memorable examples and unique insights into actual leadership decisions, this full-color text includes crisp, clear visuals to reinforce the book�s engaging presentation. This edition�s proven applications, specifically designed for today�s leadership theory and applications course, and a solid foundation grounded in established scholarly research make the topic of leadership come alive. In addition, THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE is available with MindTap, an integrated text and online learning solution that enhances understanding of course content and offers opportunities to extend learning.
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Setting the Table by Danny MeyerThe bestselling business book from award-winning restauranteur Danny Meyer, of Union Square Cafe, Gramercy Tavern, and Shake Shack Seventy-five percent of all new restaurant ventures fail, and of those that do stick around, only a few become icons. Danny Meyer started Union Square Cafe when he was 27, with a good idea and hopeful investors. He is now the co-owner of a restaurant empire. How did he do it? How did he beat the odds in one of the toughest trades around?
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Four Seasons: the story of a business philosophy by Isadore SharpHow did a child of immigrants, starting with no background in the hotel business, create the world's most admired and successful hotel chain? And how has Four Seasons grown dramatically, over nearly a half century, without losing its focus on exceptional quality and unparalleled service? Isadore Sharp answers these questions in his engaging memoir, which doubles as a powerful guide for leaders in any field. He recalls the surprising history of his company, starting with its roots in his father's small construction business, which Sharp joined after getting a degree in architecture. Shifting into hotels wasn't easy, and he learned by trial and error. His breakthrough was a vision for a new kind of hotel, featuring superior design, top-quality amenities, and, above all, a deep commitment to service. Sharp realized that customers would gladly pay extra for a 'home away from home' experience. But that would be possible only if everyone - from managers and supervisors to bellmen, servers,
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
The New Gold Standard: 5 Leadership Principles for Creating a Legendary Customer Experience Courtesy of the Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company by Joseph A. MichelliDiscover the secrets of world-class leadership! When it comes to refined service and exquisite hospitality, one name stands high above the rest: The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. With ceaseless attention to every luxurious detail, the company has set the bar for creating memorable customer experiences in world-class settings. Now, for the first time, the leadership secrets behind the company's extraordinary success are revealed. The New Gold Standard takes you on an exclusive tour behind the scenes of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. Granted unprecedented access to the company's executives, staff, and its award-winning Leadership Center training facilities, bestselling author Joseph Michelli explored every level of leadership within the organization. He emerged with the key principles leaders at any company can use to provide a customer experience unlike any other, such as: Understanding the ever-evolving needs of customers Empowering employees by treating them with the utmost respect Anticipating customers' unexpressed needs and concerns Developing and conducting an unsurpassed training regimen Sharing engaging stories from the company's employees--from the corporate office and hotels around the globe--Michelli describes the innovative methods the company uses to create peerless guest experiences and explains how it constantly hones and improves them. The New Gold Standard weaves practical how-to advice, proven leadership tools, and the wisdom of experts to help you create and embed superior customer-service principles, processes, and practices in your own organization.
Call Number: eBook & Print (HD57.7 .M525 2008)
Publication Date: 2008-07-04
Millennials Who Manage: How to Overcome Workplace Perceptions and Become a Great Leader by Chip Espinoza; Joel SchwarzbartMillennials will be our next great generation of leaders. Today, however, as they move into management, they face difficult practical challenges. Millennials Who Manage is a complete, research-based guide to overcoming those challenges, delivering outstanding performance, and getting recognized for it. Reflecting their extensive enterprise consulting and research experience, the authors show how to transition more smoothly into management. You will gain insight into earning the respect of peers and "elders" that you are now leading, as well as your manager. You will discover you can achieve success your way, without compromising who you are or becoming someone you are not. You'll learn management skills that arguably come naturally to Millennials. Prepare to explore what really motivates Boomers and Xers whose formative experiences were different from yours and how to guide them beyond today's unhelpful stereotypes about Millennials. You'll also master the specific management and leadership competencies you need most right now--whether you're moving into frontline management or the CEO's office! Generational workplace differences: facts and fictions Separating myth from reality in multi-generational workplaces Overcoming reverse ageism and "stereotype threat" Getting past the unfair generalizations that hold you back Developing your personal leadership perspective... ...and successfully putting it into practice Mastering the 7 toughest challenges that come with transitioning to management Understand new relational dynamics, unlock motivation, take responsibility for the work of others, establish accountability, get heard, and be taken seriously
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-10-08
HOST 1049: Sustainable Tourism
Tourism: change, impacts and opportunities by Geoffrey Wall; Alister MathiesonTourism: Change, Impacts and Opportunities provides a comprehensive and balanced discussion of the impacts of tourism. The authors address the nature of tourism and tourists and the economic, physical and social impact that can result from their activity. New approaches to impact assessment are also considered. A wide range of examples from developed and developing countries illustrate the points raised in the text. This timely and perceptive book is essential reading for anyone involved in tourism planning or development and is also suitable for students of geography, planning, economics and sociology.
Heritage Tourism by Dallen Timothy; Stephen BoydHeritage Tourism provides a balanced view of both theoretical issues and applied subjects that managers must deal with on a daily basis. These concepts are illustrated throughout the text via examples and boxed case studies. With the rapid growth of special interest travel during the past two decades, the demand for heritage tourism experiences has soared, and its economic and socio-cultural importance cannot be overstated. This book addresses this booming type of tourism and will prove to be a valuable resource for educators, students, and practitioners in the field of heritage tourism.
Call Number: G156.5 .H47 T56 2003
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Cultural Heritage and Tourism: an introduction by Dallen J. TimothyCultural heritage is one of the most important tourism resources in the world. This book provides a comprehensive theoretical overview and applied knowledge of the issues, practices, current debates, concepts and management concerns associated with cultural heritage-based tourism. The second edition has been updated to include timely and emerging topics such as geopolitics, conflict, solidarity tourism, overtourism and climate change. It also expands on important areas such as environmental change, technology, social media, heritage economics, Indigenous knowledge and co-created experiences. This edition includes up-to-date data, statistics, references, case material, figures and pedagogical tools. It remains an important and accessible text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of cultural and heritage tourism, cultural resource management, and museum management.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020-12-03
HOST 1036: Special Events Planning
Meetings, Expositions, Events, and Conventions by George G. FenichFor use in events and convention management courses Experience the World of Meetings, Expositions, Events, and Conventions Meetings, Expositions, Events, and Conventions: An Introduction to the Industry acquaints readers with the burgeoning field of event planning. Constructed with the Delphi method based on the opinions of experts and educators, the text is divided into the most up-to-date and relevant topics of the MEEC world. A comprehensive overview of all aspects of the MEEC industry, the Fourth Edition is the ideal text with which to introduce newcomers to this broad field. The text features case studies and examples that help readers relate the material to a future career in Event Planning, as well as major trends in this fast-growing field.
Call Number: TX911.2 .F455 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
ACCT 2017: Managerial Accounting
Hospitality Management Accounting by Martin G. JagelsThe success of every business in the hospitality industry depends on maximizing revenues and minimizing costs. This Ninth Edition continues its time-tested presentation of fundamental concepts and analytical techniques that are essential to taking control of real-world accounting systems, evaluating current and past operations, and effectively managing finances toward increased profits. It offers hands-on coverage of computer applications and practical decision-making skills to successfully prepare readers for the increasingly complex and competitive hospitality industry.
Call Number: Available in print (HF5686.H75 J34 2007) and eBook
HOST 2085: International Tourism Cultures and Behaviour
International Tourism: Cultures & Behaviour by Yvette Reisinger; Frederic DimancheIn recent years there has been a considerable interest in the cultural aspects of tourism such as the impacts of culture on tourism planning, development, management and marketing. However, the focus has been on material forms of culture such as arts, music, or crafts. The impacts of national culture on tourist behavior and travel decision-making have not been paid much attention. Only in the last two years have cross-cultural issues begun to generate significant interest among academics. An examination of cultural characteristics and differences is extremely important to the tourism industry because today's tourism environment is becoming increasingly international. Information on the nature of the cultural differences between international tourists and locals is not readily available in tourism literature. The concept of culture is very complex and includes such abstract concepts as satisfaction, attitude and loyalty. International Tourism brings these concepts to the undergraduate student in tourism, as well as students in the related fields of marketing, management, international business, and cross-cultural communication. Designed as a textbook, it is organized and presented in an integrated and relevant way for the benefit of a worldwide audience.