Research Guides: BBA Trades Management: Human Resources, Negotiation & Management

Human Resources Databases

Conference Board of Canada: Human Resource Management Reports This link opens in a new window
HR Reports with in-depth analysis and insights on trends and challenges impacting Canadian organizations.

TO ACCESS Human Resource reports, create an account using your GBC email address. Once activated, go to: Publications > By Topic > Human Resources; then in the filter menu select “Your Subscription” to refine to the reports that have been paid for on your behalf by GBC Library.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) - Academic Support Program This link opens in a new window
Provides environmental and occupational health and safety standards, legislation, articles and reports including: MSDS, CHEMINFO, OHS and the Canadian Electrical Code (Part 1).
Access Note: Users can access CCOHS standards by clicking on the standards listed on the homepage. Users will be taken to a second page, where they will see this note a the top of the screen.
You must have an annual subscription to view the resources that are available through this service. Login Not yet a subscriber? Contact CCOHS Client Services.
Users must click on the login link in this paragraph to access the standards.

Specialized resources

Small Business Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Providing the most up-to-date information on topics related to starting a company, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Online videos on topics such as: Architecture, Business, Construction, Environment, Fine Arts, Hospitality and Tourism, etc. All titles available with closed captioning.

Usage Tip: Closed captioning is available using Windows Media Player and Flash Player. For Windows Media, click on the "CC" icon below the video window to activate captions. For Flash Video, click the “chat bubble” icon embedded in the right side of the Flash player to toggle the captions on or off. You may configure your default caption sett

BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
Features media and information resources including: full-text access to Environmental Building News, BuildingGreen.com, the GreenSpec directory of products, the LEEDuser web tool and case studies in the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB).

Human Resources, Negotiation & Management Open Textbooks

Cover Art Fundamentals of Business by Ontario Business Faculty and eCampusOntario Program Managers

Publication Date: 2018

Open Textbook

An introductory textbook in business that covers a variety of topics: The Foundation of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Structuring Organizations, Operations Management, Motivating Employees, Management Human Resources, Union/Management Issues, Marketing: Providing Value, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.

Introduction to Logic and Critical Thinking by Matthew J. Van Cleave

Publication Date: 2016

Open Textbook

This is an introductory textbook in logic and critical thinking. The goal of the textbook is to provide the reader with a set of tools and skills that will enable them to identify and evaluate arguments. The book is intended for an introductory course that covers both formal and informal logic. As such, it is not a formal logic textbook, but is closer to what one would find marketed as a “critical thinking textbook.”

Introduction to Professional Communications by Melissa Ashman

Publication Date: 2018

Open Textbook

No matter what your field is, having professional communication skills are essential to success in today's workplace. This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.

Line B: Employability Skills by Camosun College

Publication Date: 2021

Open Textbook

No matter what your job is, you will need to communicate with other people. Your communication skills determine how successfully you receive and transmit information. Communication is arguably the most important of all life skills and plays a significant role in all aspects of work and home life. Communication is verbal, written, and non-verbal, and every gesture, voice inflection, or facial movement speaks volumes and conveys information to others. An effective communicator is also an active listener. Employers actively seek out individuals who are good communicators.

Mastering Strategic Management by Janice Edwards

Publication Date: 2014

Open Textbook

Mastering Strategic Management is designed to enhance student engagement in three innovative ways.

The first is through visual adaptations of the key content in the book. It is well documented that many of today’s students are visual learners. To meet students’ wants and needs (and thereby create a much better teaching experience for professors), Mastering Strategic Management contains multiple graphic concept pages in ever section of every chapter of the book. Think of graphic concept pages as almost like info-graphics for key concepts in each section. This feature sets Mastering Strategic Management apart from any strategic management book on the market today.
The second way the authors capture student interest through their textbook is by using a real-world company as the running example in each chapter. For example, Chapter 1 in Mastering Strategic Management utilizes Blackberry to harness the conceptual coverage of the chapter in a running, corporate, application to which students will relate.
The third inventive way Mastering Strategic Management holds the attention of strategic management students is through the “strategy at the movies” feature in each chapter that links course concepts with a popular motion picture.

This 1st Canadian Edition is an adaptation of Mastering Strategic Managment. Adaptations include Canadian specific content, images, and references, removal of copyright images, and inclusion of PowerPoints, which can be downloaded from the book's appendix.

Principles of Leadership & Management by Laura Radtke

Publication Date: 2022

Open Textbook

A guide to the concepts and skills necessary for the people-centric leadership and management necessary amidst the volatility of today’s globally connected organizations.

Technical Project Management in Living and Geometric Order (3rd ed.) by Jeffrey Russell

Publication Date: 2018

Open Textbook

This book is organized around the fifteen lessons of a Technical Project Management course, with an emphasis on the connections between the various stages and practices of technical project management. After all, in practice, a project manager must continually draw on a wide base of knowledge, connecting, for instance, effective negotiating techniques with best practices for scheduling and resource allocation. No phase of a project unfolds in complete isolation from other phases of the project. Everything is connected. Our goal in this book is to create doors and windows in the normally self-contained silos of activities involved in technical project management, drawing connections between planning and risk management, between risk management and ethics, between ethics and supply chain management, just to name a few of the many connections you will read about in this book.

Websites

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.

Starting a Business (Government of Canada)
This website outlines the steps to consider before operating a business in Canada.

Hiring and Managing Employees (Government of Canada)
Learn more about payroll, wages and other resources for recruiting, training and managing employees.

Employment Standards Act (Province of Ontario)
This guide describes the rules about minimum wage, hours of work limits, termination of employment, public holidays, pregnancy and parental leave, severance pay, vacation and more.