How to Create Sustainable Hospitality (eBook) by
Guests directly account for over 50% of resource use in hotels and as much as 90% in self-catering accommodation. They are quite simply the most significant factor contributing to hospitality's ongoing carbon emissions. Given the targets to reduce carbon emissions by 66% by the year 2030, it is imperative that practical solutions for the accommodation sector are created and applied fast. 'How to Create Sustainable Hospitality: a handbook for guest participation' is the first text to demonstrate how to actively persuade guests to participate in achieving sustainable hospitality.Practitioners and commentators have tended to criticise guests, believing they won't "sacrifice" while on holiday. However, social trends show there is increasing consumer expectations for more sustainable services, e.g. reduction of food waste, elimination of single serve plastic, as well as firm evidence that consumption is not linked to guest happiness. The opportunity is therefore to design experiences which deliver better hospitality by inviting guests to apply saving behaviours that do not mean they will have a less enjoyable experience. Based on 16 years personally delivering sustainable hospitality experiences face to face with guests and conducting the first hard research on guest engagement at a variety of sites in Australia and Europe (from 1000-bedroom hotels and B&Bs to self-contained holiday homes and timeshare lodges), the author presents a tried and tested five step methodology on how to directly, effectively and successfully involve guests to conserve resources. This presents a new paradigm for tourism. 'How to Create Sustainable Hospitality: a handbook for guest participation' presents a clearly written, jargon-free, practical solution and: * Is the first book to focus on guests as an active and critical component in sustainable consumption and production at their holiday or business accommodation;* Introduces a five-step methodology on how to directly and effectively involve guests in saving energy and water, reducing food waste and cutting carbon. It delivers a practical solution that has been successfully applied to achieve a fast ROI with scientifically measured savings; * Uses social practice theory to describe why people do not save resources and how we can better design hospitality experiences * Uses persuasive theory to explain how to communicate with guests and by so doing increase stay satisfaction, 'delight' and brand reputation;* Includes hundreds of case examples and scientific research to illustrate how the theories works in practice; * Explains "how" to change - not just the need for change.Part of the Responsible Tourism Series edited by Harold Goodwin, Director of Responsible Tourism, Institute of Place Management at Manchester Metropolitan University and John Swarbrooke, Associate Dean-International, Plymouth Global, Plymouth University, UK
Contemporary Tourism (eBook) by
The study of tourism and indeed the tourism industry is changing constantly. Now in its fifth edition, Contemporary Tourism: an international approach presents a new and refreshing approach to the study of tourism, looking at the far reaching effects that the COVID pandemic has had on the industry and how it has been forced to change, or not subsequently. Considering issues such as advances in AI and its impacts, the environmental crisis and air travel, the sharing economy and Airbnb, and the tourist experience in a Covid world. In particular, it highlights the ongoing threats and opportunities faced by the tourism industry today, and discusses the related management strategies, illustrating the potential implications for the patterns and flow of tourism in the future. Divided into five sections, each chapter has a thorough learning structure including chapter objectives, examples, discussion points, self-review questions, checklists and case studies. URL links in the form of QR codes are heavily present throughout the text so that users of both hard and electronic formats can have direct links to up to date, authoritative and annotated sources of information. Cases are both thematic and destination-based and always international. New to this edition:* New material on latest issues such as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, international responses to the environmental crisis, the impact of AI/robotics on tourism human resource and the rise of the staycation; * Brand new and updated case studies and readings throughout;* Substantial support for both students and teachers, both within the text itself and via web-based student and instructor resources.ABOUT THE AUTHORS Chris Cooper is Professor in the School of Events, Tourism and Hospitality at Leeds Beckett University in the UK. Professor C Michael Hall is Professor of Marketing at the University of Canterbury in New Zealand; Docent, University of Oulu, Finland and Visiting Professor at Linnaeus University, Kalmar, Sweden.
Customer Service in Tourism and Hospitality (eBook) by
A fully revised and updated new edition of this bestselling and a unique text that explains not only the theory behind the importance of customer service but also acts as a guidebook for those wishing to put this theory into practice. In essence it is the 'whys' and 'hows'of customer service. Fully updated with current statistics, trends, and examples, it is full of references to all the latest research from both academic and practitioner literature. Chapters cover important topics such as the financial and behavioural consequences of customer service, consumer trends influencing service, developing and maintaining a service culture, managing service encounters, the importance of market research, building and maintaining customer relationships, providing customer service through the servicescape, the impact of technology on customer service, the importance of service recovery, and promoting customer service internally and externally.New material covers issues such as:* the impact of the sharing economy and how hotels are getting 'social' to compete;* the latest in technology and its impact on customer service including Virtual Reality and use of robots to enhance the traveller experience;* new demographic and cultural shifts; * New market trends - including how resorts are catering to the demands of the international traveller from emerging markets and the luxury family market;* Using big data to personalize experiences and encourage loyalty.The text has a full suite of pedagogic features to aid learning and understanding, including:* An 'At Your Service' Spotlight at the beginning of each chapter focuses on the achievements of successful individuals related to the art of customer service.* Each chapter contains a 'Service Snapshot' - short, real-life cases to illustrate a particular concept or theoretical principle presented in the chapter.* Detailed international 'Case Studies', which cover a variety of sectors, organizations and regions designed to foster critical thinking, the cases illustrate actual business scenarios that stress several concepts found in the chapter. They analyze customer service in the U.S., South America, South Africa, Europe, Russia, Australia, China, Canada, Korea and Dubai.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management (eBook) by
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
ANSI/ACCT 03-2019 Challenge Course and Canopy/Zip Line Tours Standards (eBook)Browse Hospitality and Tourism journals and news
