Skip to Main Content

Canadian Building Digest

CBD-25

Window air leakage [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: It is the purpose of this Digest to discuss the implications of window air leakage, its characteristics and criteria. Much that is said may be applied to air leakage around closed doors.
Subject: air leakages; windows; weatherstrips; air tightness; ventilation; Windows
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-25, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-26

Ground freezing and frost heaving [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This Digest contains a brief description of the physical processes involved in ground freezing and frost heaving and some suggestions on ways to prevent or diminish frost damage to various structures.
Subject: frost heaving; frost penetration; foundation walls; footings; driveways; Basements and foundations
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-26, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-27

Sources of information on building [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-27, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-28

Wind on buildings [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: Some of the features of wind near the surface of the earth are briefly described in this Digest. Particular attention is given to gustiness and to the rates of increase of both mean wind speeds and peak gust speeds with increases in height. A method of computing design wind speeds from wind observations available in Canada is outlined.
Subject: wind loads; high rise buildings; Air flow/Wind pressure
: Wind on buildingsCanadian Building Digest; no. CBD-28, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-29

Engineering site investigations [PDF]

Search for:
Abstract: This Digest suggests the type of information that should be obtained by a proper investigation.
Subject: site analysis; foundations; soil investigation; geology; soil tests; plate bearing tests; Basements and foundations
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-29, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-30

Water and building materials [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: The harmful effects of water on building materials can hardly be over-emphasized. This Digest is intended to draw attention to these destructive mechanisms and to give a brief account of some of the phenomena involved.
Subject: Roofing; building materials; moisture content; expansion contraction; corrosion; mold (decay); wood ( materials); blistering; roofs; efflorescence; freezing; Hygrothermal properties
: Water and building materials
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-30, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-31

Fire in buildings [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: The main purpose of this Digest is to discuss principles and features of effective fire protection. Although fire, and in particular fire in buildings, is an extremely complex subject, the designer can, with some knowledge of the basic principles involved, give rational consideration to the fire protection features of buildings.
Subject: combustion; fire spread; combustibility; flammability; fire compartments; Fire: Fire in buildings
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-31, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-32

Safety from fires and explosions in hospital operating rooms [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: The hazards of fire and explosion in operating rooms may too easily be treated as minor details. Architects, engineers and hospital administrators should be aware of the special nature of the equipment and facilities that can be provided. Full advantage of these facilities can be realized only if the operating room staff institute certain procedures and take certain precautions to avoid the sources of ignition of anaesthetic gases.
Subject: operating theaters; fire safety; explosions; industrial accidents; conductive floorings
: Safety from fires and explosions in hospital operating rooms
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-32, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-33

Fire and the compartmentation of buildings [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: No building is free from the threat of fire. A designer, however, can ensure that only limited damage will result if fire breaks out by reducing the over-all fire risk. There are various means at his disposal, but the single design feature that will contribute most to this reduction of risk is his use of fire-resistant construction to separate a building into fire-resistant compartments.
Subject: fire compartments; fire escapes; sprinkler systems; fire doors; Sprinklers; Performance of
: Fire and the compartmentation of buildings
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-33, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-34

Wind pressures on buildings [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Subject: air barriers; wind loads; wind velocity; Air and vapour barriers; Air flow/Wind pressure; pare-air
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-34, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-35

Control of condensation in curling rinks [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: This Digest attempts to outline the principles involved in approaching the problem of dripping in curling rinks, and to discuss some of the methods that might lead to a solution. The analysis suggests that some means of introducing heat into the building is probably the most generally applicable and effective condensation control, particularly in the colder areas in Canada. In conjunction with heating, a roof deck having some thermal insulation value should be used for reasons of heat economy and to provide maximum ceiling surface temperatures. Ceiling finishes having water- absorbing characteristics offer considerable advantages over finishes incapable of taking up moisture. Wood roof decking is an ideal ceiling finish as it not only provides thermal insulation but is also capable of absorbing water.
Subject: curling rinks; winter sports resorts; surface condensation; dehumidification; ventilation; thermal insulation; drips
: Control of condensation in curling rinks
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-35, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-36

Temperature gradients through building envelopes [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: The purpose of this Digest is to show how the thermal gradient can be determined and to indicate why this knowledge is important and how it may be used by building designers.
Subject: temperature gradients; external envelopes; calculations; Building envelope
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-36, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: