Skip to Main Content

Canadian Building Digest

CBD-214

Building automation: an overview of central control and monitoring systems [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This Digest presents the results of a survey of available Central control and monitoring systems (CCMS), and outlines their main design features and areas of application. Total cost and the number of points monitored are used to develop a simple guideline for selecting a suitable system for a given large building or group of buildings.
Subject: buildings; automation; heating equipment; ventilating equipment; air conditioning equipment; central warning indicators
: Building automation: an overview of central control and monitoring systems
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-214, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-215

Waste and by-products as concrete aggregates [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This Digest discusses the potential use of some wastes and by-products as concrete aggregates. The various materials examined include slags, wastes from power plants, reclaimed concrete, mining and quarrying wastes, colliery spoil, waste glass and other products. Some of the properties of concrete made from these materials are summarized.
Subject: waste aggregate concrete; wastes; Concrete
: Waste and by-products as concrete aggregates
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-215, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-216

Spread of fire between buildings [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: This digest summarizes some of the basic considerations in preventing the spread of fire between buildings. Subjects include fire walls, fire spread between spatially separated buildings, and methods of calculating separations to limit spread of radiation.
Subject: fire spread; prevention; fire walls; fire resistance
: Spread of fire between buildings
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-216, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-217

Domestic chimneys and gas vents [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This digest describes three types of domestic chimneys, outlines the basic principles of chimney operation and the functions that a chimney must provide, and describes some common chimney problems with possible solutions. This subject is of current interest because the recent trend to convert furnaces from fuel oil to natural gas or to add wood- burning heaters has increased the potential for chimney problems.
Subject: chimneys; chimney draft; corrosion; fire safety; creosote; soot
: Domestic chimneys and gas vents
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-217, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-218

Effects of insulation on fire safety [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: With the increase in the use of thermal insulation, the effects of these materials on fire safety is becoming more important. This digest is a summary of Chapter 5 of the National Fire Protection Association Fire Protection Handbook. It describes the effects of insulation on the dissipation of heat from heat producing objects or ignited finishes, foamed plastic and attic insulation, smoke and toxic gases and structural failure.
Subject: thermal insulation; fire safety
: Effects of insulation on fire safety
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-218, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-219

Use of plastics as piping materials [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Plastic pipe now has many uses such as: drain-waste-vent, irrigation and the oil, gas and mining industries in applications. This digest describes plastic pipe in terms of resistance to corrosion and erosion, smoothness of the inner walls, thermal, electrical and mechanical properties, density, flammability and coding. Microbiological, rodent and weather resistance are also discussed.
Subject: polymeric materials; pipes; characteristics; durability; use (utilization); Plastic pipe; Plastics
: Use of plastics as piping materials
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-219, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-220

Thermoplastic pipe [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: The most common thermoplastics used in piping systems are poly (vinyl chloride)(PVC), polyethylene(PE), acrylonitrile- butadiene-styrene(ABS) and polybutylene(PB). This digest lists the typical properties of each of these types of plastic and discusses the general characteristics and uses of each type of piping.
Subject: Plastics; Plastic pipe; thermoplastic resin; pipes; pvc; polyethylene; polybutylene; A.B.S.; polypropylene
: Thermoplastic pipe
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-220, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: