Skip to Main Content

Canadian Building Digest

CBD-85

Some basic characteristics of wood [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: The way in which a tree grows and the nature of the resulting wood substance give rise to directional properties for strength and shrinkage which have important implications in the processing and use of wood.
Subject: wood (materials); trees (plants); strength of materials
: Some basic characteristics of wood
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-85, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-86

Some implications of the properties of wood [PDF Full Text]

Search for:; Search for:
Abstract: The directional strength and moisture response properties, moisture changes in service, processed forms of wood, and durability are discussed in relation to the ways in which wood can best be used in building.
Subject: wood (materials); strength of materials; beams; shear stresses; dimensional stability; moisture content; durability
: Some implications of the properties of wood
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-86, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-87

Building on fill [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Precautions to be taken and recommended practice are discussed in a general way. The article emphasizes that building on filled sites, where the filling operation has been carefully controlled, can be and has been successful.
Subject: fills (materials); foundations; waste disposal; site analysis; Basements and foundations
: Building on fill
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-87, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-88

Use of wood in construction [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Information is provided on reference manuals of use in current Canadian wood design practice. Other topics include: the classification of lumber, grade marking, design stresses, glue laminated construction, and lumber for residential construction.
Subject: wood (material); lumber
: Use of wood in construction
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-88, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-89

Ice on roofs [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This paper is concerned chiefly with ice on the eaves of sloping roofs. It describes conditions necessary for formation of ice dams, how roof leakage occurs, and design precautions or remedial measures necessary to limit ice formation and leakage.
Subject: roofing; ice; pitched roofs; flat roofs; heating cables; ice dams; Snow and Ice loads; couvertures
: Ice on roofs
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-89, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-90

Coatings for interior walls [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Types of coatings applicable to the interior of buildings are described and their properties which influence selection for particular jobs discussed. Recommendations for the various surfaces of residential and commercial buildings are made.
Subject: partitions; interior paints; brightness; Buildings
: Coatings for interior walls
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-90, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-91

Exterior coating for wood [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: The properties of wood that affect coatings applied to it are discussed. Exterior types of wood coatings and their properties are described and recommendations made for new and recoat work.
Subject: exterior paints; phenolic varnish; wood treatment
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-91, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-92

Room acoustics : design for listening [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Basic design principles are given for rooms, ranging from classrooms to concert halls, whose chief function is effective communication from a source (a speaker or performer) to a group of listeners.
Subject: room acoustics; auditoria; speech intelligibility; sound absorption; sound reflection; loudspeakers; Classroom acoustics; Speech security
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-92, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-93

Precast concrete walls : problems with conventional design [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Some problems that have developed in walls which incorporate precast panels in the conventional manner are described. The underlying causes are explained and shown to be linked to a basically faulty concept of wall design.
Subject: precast concrete panels; water; surface condensation; sandwich panels; rain penetration; humidity transfer; glasses (materials); breakage; Concrete
: Precast concrete walls : problems with conventional design
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-93, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-94

Precast concrete walls : a new basis for design [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Three basic requirements of a wall are identified if problems (CBD 93) are to be avoided. A new approach to the use of precast concrete is developed which meets these three requirements.
Subject: precast concrete panels; air tightness; thermal insulation; Concrete
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-94, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-95

Roofing membrane design [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: This paper discusses principles of design for bituminous roofing membranes in relation to materials and application. It deals with the factors affecting the choice of bitumens and felts for the roof covering only, and compares several methods of felt application.
Subject: Roofing; roofs; water barriers; bituminous roofings; building felts; Roofs; Moisture performance; Couvertures
: Roofing membrane design
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-95, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: 

CBD-96

Use of sealants [PDF Full Text]

Search for:
Abstract: Through discussion of the effects of dimension and shape of the sealant bead cross section, joint design principles and the factors influencing sealant durability, simple basic rules for the use of sealants are developed.
Subject: elastomeric sealants; waterproof joints; Buildings
: Use of sealants
Canadian Building Digest; no. CBD-96, ISSN: 0008-3097, Publication date: